We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable and cozy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazomanie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mazomanie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 November 2015

My husband and I spent a night here in the Clara's Veranda room. This room was so pretty, and we had an amazing night's sleep. We'd love to revisit. The bath was large enough for two, which was a lovely way to unwind. We also used the sauna in the basement and thought that was wonderful. The house itself is very charming (we spent a good amount of time just looking around at everything), and the owner is very nice. I definitely recommend this for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to right a review! We are so glad you had wonderful, romantic getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2015

We stayed here for one night during the week. Room was nicely appointed and clean. Bathroom was luxurious. The owners have taken great pride in restoring this hidden gem. Breakfast was delicious. We had dinner at The Old Feed Mill and would highly recommend it as well.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicago123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Thank you for the feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015

This is our 3rd visit to Walking Iron. It is our favorite Bed and Breakfast. It is in a sleepy town, but there are things to do close by. The hosts are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is awesome, and we always seem to have a wonderful conversation with other guests.
This year we visited House on the Rock, about 20 minutes away. Other places near by include Talisen which is also in Spring Green, and Madison, which is in the opposite direction, about 25 minutes or so away.
For nearby restaurants, we like the Old Mill, just a short walk from the BandB; and the Dorf House about a 15 minute drive away which has a fantastic Friday night Fish Fry..
This is a beautifully restored home, which the owners will be happy to share the history of with you.
Rooms on the upper floor are accessed by a winding staircase; if you have mobility issues, you may wish to reserve a room on the main floor. Sauna available for guests on the lower level.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LAHLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Thank you for writing a review! We are so glad that you have chosen us to stay with when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed in Lenora's garden view room and it was spectacular! It was nice to have the big room and the spacious bathroom. The Whirlpool was nice. Karissa and Dave were excellent hosts and the breakfasts were superb! I would highly recommend for a stay. They have done an outstanding job of refurbishng the home and you almost feel like you've traveled back in time. The modern are great too,free Wi-Fi and TVs in the room if you just want some R&R.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Carmen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time at our B&B. Hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

It's hard to imagine a better place to stay anywhere around here. The Walking Iron has the amenities you want in a luxurious stay away from your own home.

The history of the old home is well displayed and beautiful. The grounds are wonderfully maintained and a joy to walk around And, of course, there's the food!

The biggest problem with Walking Iron is --- leaving it!

Room Tip: The Doctor's Study has both a 2-head shower, and a huge tub -- both are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 S State St, Mazomanie, WI 53560-9698
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Mazomanie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mazomanie
Price Range: €97 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast is an historic 1865 brick Victorian Italianate home located in Mazomanie, WI- Voted by Forbes' Budget Travel Magazine as one of America's top 10 coolest small towns! Nestled among the scenic bluffs and rolling farmland of beautiful southwestern Wisconsin, and just 25 minutes from the state capital city of Madison, Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located to many area attractions. Spring Green, American Player's Theater, Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin, the House on the Rock, and the Wisconsin River, are just a few of the unique places to visit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing