We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
102
18
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
18
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews b bs crane foundation great hosts whirlpool tub black earth quiet area wonderful weekend very nice stay comfortable beds upstairs library victorian amenities retreat privacy baraboo chicago monroe
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2015

We stayed here for one night during the week. Room was nicely appointed and clean. Bathroom was luxurious. The owners have taken great pride in restoring this hidden gem. Breakfast was delicious. We had dinner at The Old Feed Mill and would highly recommend it as well.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicago123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Thank you for the feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015

This is our 3rd visit to Walking Iron. It is our favorite Bed and Breakfast. It is in a sleepy town, but there are things to do close by. The hosts are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is awesome, and we always seem to have a wonderful conversation with other guests.
This year we visited House on the Rock, about 20 minutes away. Other places near by include Talisen which is also in Spring Green, and Madison, which is in the opposite direction, about 25 minutes or so away.
For nearby restaurants, we like the Old Mill, just a short walk from the BandB; and the Dorf House about a 15 minute drive away which has a fantastic Friday night Fish Fry..
This is a beautifully restored home, which the owners will be happy to share the history of with you.
Rooms on the upper floor are accessed by a winding staircase; if you have mobility issues, you may wish to reserve a room on the main floor. Sauna available for guests on the lower level.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LAHLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Thank you for writing a review! We are so glad that you have chosen us to stay with when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed in Lenora's garden view room and it was spectacular! It was nice to have the big room and the spacious bathroom. The Whirlpool was nice. Karissa and Dave were excellent hosts and the breakfasts were superb! I would highly recommend for a stay. They have done an outstanding job of refurbishng the home and you almost feel like you've traveled back in time. The modern are great too,free Wi-Fi and TVs in the room if you just want some R&R.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Carmen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time at our B&B. Hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

It's hard to imagine a better place to stay anywhere around here. The Walking Iron has the amenities you want in a luxurious stay away from your own home.

The history of the old home is well displayed and beautiful. The grounds are wonderfully maintained and a joy to walk around And, of course, there's the food!

The biggest problem with Walking Iron is --- leaving it!

Room Tip: The Doctor's Study has both a 2-head shower, and a huge tub -- both are excellent.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Stayed in the Doctor's Study which was fantastic. Great decor and loved the double shower and whirlpool. The location was great as we walked to everything in the city-Microcar Museum, church, restaurant, and the historic downtown.
Breakfast was excellent and held us til dinner at The Old Feed Mill.

Room Tip: The Inn has 5 rooms and since we were the first ones there, we viewed all of the other rooms. You can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbeales106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Thank you for the feedback. So glad you had a great weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews