We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Skyview Motel(Prairie du Sac)
US$89
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Round Barn Lodge(Spring Green)
US$109
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$124
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$108
US$102
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$115
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
101
18
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
18
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bsbeautiful antiquescrane foundationperiod piecesgreat hostswhirlpool tubblack earthfrank lloyd wrightquiet areawonderful weekendvery nice staycomfortable bedsgreat place to stayupstairs librarytaliesinvictorianamenities
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed in Lenora's garden view room and it was spectacular! It was nice to have the big room and the spacious bathroom. The Whirlpool was nice. Karissa and Dave were excellent hosts and the breakfasts were superb! I would highly recommend for a stay. They have done an outstanding job of refurbishng the home and you almost feel like you've traveled back in time. The modern are great too,free Wi-Fi and TVs in the room if you just want some R&R.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Carmen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time at our B&B. Hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

It's hard to imagine a better place to stay anywhere around here. The Walking Iron has the amenities you want in a luxurious stay away from your own home.

The history of the old home is well displayed and beautiful. The grounds are wonderfully maintained and a joy to walk around And, of course, there's the food!

The biggest problem with Walking Iron is --- leaving it!

Room Tip: The Doctor's Study has both a 2-head shower, and a huge tub -- both are excellent.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Stayed in the Doctor's Study which was fantastic. Great decor and loved the double shower and whirlpool. The location was great as we walked to everything in the city-Microcar Museum, church, restaurant, and the historic downtown.
Breakfast was excellent and held us til dinner at The Old Feed Mill.

Room Tip: The Inn has 5 rooms and since we were the first ones there, we viewed all of the other rooms. You can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbeales106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Thank you for the feedback. So glad you had a great weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Everything was perfect. An old home transformed into a B&B can sometimes feel claustrophobic. Not Walking Iron. Even the bathroom was huge. The location was perfect. We spent time at the American Players Theater, Spring Green, wine tasting at Wollersheim and Rock & Wool in Poynette and tasted spirits at Driftless Glen in Baraboo.
Walking Iron was clean and the continental breakfast was great. Clarissa was very friendly and helpful. If I had the time, I'm sure that I could think of many more accolades to give.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen597ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you had a wonderful time and by the sounds of it, you hit all the "hot-spots" in our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

The food is great, the hosts very nice and the rooms are very clean. The style of the house and the decor are great. The front door could use a closer so it does not slam every time a guest come in or goes out. Some guest are not as courteous or mindful and let the door slam every time they enter.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Punky70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. Sorry about the front door. That's on the "honey-do" list!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews