We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
102
18
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
18
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews b bs beautiful antiques crane foundation great hosts whirlpool tub black earth frank lloyd wright wonderful weekend very nice stay great place to stay upstairs library taliesin victorian amenities comfort madison innkeepers
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed in Lenora's garden view room and it was spectacular! It was nice to have the big room and the spacious bathroom. The Whirlpool was nice. Karissa and Dave were excellent hosts and the breakfasts were superb! I would highly recommend for a stay. They have done an outstanding job of refurbishng the home and you almost feel like you've traveled back in time. The modern are great too,free Wi-Fi and TVs in the room if you just want some R&R.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank carmenl246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time at our B&B. Hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

It's hard to imagine a better place to stay anywhere around here. The Walking Iron has the amenities you want in a luxurious stay away from your own home.

The history of the old home is well displayed and beautiful. The grounds are wonderfully maintained and a joy to walk around And, of course, there's the food!

The biggest problem with Walking Iron is --- leaving it!

Room tip: The Doctor's Study has both a 2-head shower, and a huge tub -- both are excellent.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Stayed in the Doctor's Study which was fantastic. Great decor and loved the double shower and whirlpool. The location was great as we walked to everything in the city-Microcar Museum, church, restaurant, and the historic downtown.
Breakfast was excellent and held us til dinner at The Old Feed Mill.

Room tip: The Inn has 5 rooms and since we were the first ones there, we viewed all of the other rooms. You can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbeales106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Thank you for the feedback. So glad you had a great weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Everything was perfect. An old home transformed into a B&B can sometimes feel claustrophobic. Not Walking Iron. Even the bathroom was huge. The location was perfect. We spent time at the American Players Theater, Spring Green, wine tasting at Wollersheim and Rock & Wool in Poynette and tasted spirits at Driftless Glen in Baraboo.
Walking Iron was clean and the continental breakfast was great. Clarissa was very friendly and helpful. If I had the time, I'm sure that I could think of many more accolades to give.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karen597ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you had a wonderful time and by the sounds of it, you hit all the "hot-spots" in our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

The food is great, the hosts very nice and the rooms are very clean. The style of the house and the decor are great. The front door could use a closer so it does not slam every time a guest come in or goes out. Some guest are not as courteous or mindful and let the door slam every time they enter.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Punky70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. Sorry about the front door. That's on the "honey-do" list!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews