We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and Style in LaCrosse”
Review of The Charmant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Charmant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2017

This hotel is a wonderful example of big-city design brought to a smaller scale in the Midwest and executed perfectly.
If you've been to a Soho House or Ace Hotel, the Charmant replicates that feel in LaCrosse and brings the design quality of the entire town up a notch.
The service was great. The restaurant and bar are excellent. The rooms were pretty good and the overall design was outstanding.
I'd recommend it for anyone from Chicago or Minneapolis, looking for a different weekend out of the city.
The bike networks in LaCrosse and the quirky, bar-packed downtown were a lot of fun for us.
Try it - you might like it.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at The Charmant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Christian B,
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoy the design and the addition to the La Crosse area and are thrilled you were able to enjoy the bike trails and bars. Hope to see you again soon.
Sean GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 160 of 1,971 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

The Charmant, what a gem for La Crosse! Top notch! The staff, food, atmosphere and vibe are all superb! Well done! Even though we are from the area, we will be back very soon to stay overnight again as well as enjoy the restaurant and bar area.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pKK5436DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at The Charmant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

pKK5436DD,
Thank you for your recent review. I'm so glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and vibes! We hope to see you again soon.
Sean GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Beautifully restored building that was comfortable and clean. Be sure to scrutinize your bill to ensure accuracy. Had additional charges from the bar added after the initial bill that had to be corrected. Then the next day, they double billed our credit card for one meal. It was fixed in the end, but only caught after we carefully reviewed everything.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 449kristineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Our stay was so relaxing at your beautiful hotel. Between the ambiance, the scrumptious food and drink, the location across from the riverfront, the fantastic rooftop bar area and the professionalism and graciousness of the staff we could not asked for anything more.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robertkC9978YN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at The Charmant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

robertkC9978YN,
Thank you for your review and positive feedback regarding our associates. I will be sure to share with my teams. We hope to see you again soon.
Sean GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

The Charmant exceeded all our expectations of hospitality. From the amazing staff to the beautifully repurposed building to the decor of our room to the creative, delicious breakfast...all above and beyond!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at The Charmant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

KenW,
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the decor and our fabulous breakfast. It is certainly not a meal to miss. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sean GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.2 km away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#4 of 20 in La Crosse
1,114 reviews
0.3 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
0.6 km away
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
2.1 km away
Gundersen Hotel & Suites
Gundersen Hotel & Suites
#9 of 20 in La Crosse
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charmant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charmant Hotel

Address: 101 State St, La Crosse, WI 54601-3221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range: €124 - €216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charmant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Charmant Hotel, a 67-room upscale boutique hotel in historic downtown La Crosse, Wisconsin. Our hotel is a renovated candy factory, built in 1898. Architectural details of the original building have been preserved and reimagined, including maple wood flooring, wood beams, and exposed brick. Some say these materials still emanate the sweet smell of candy. Regarding our name, Charmant was a premium line of chocolates produced by the former Joseph B. Funke Candy Company. Charmant is also the French word for "charming," reflecting the hotel's friendliness, whimsy, and allure. Embracing locals and visitors alike, The Charmant Hotel is the heart of hospitality in La Crosse. Our rooms and suites feature premium amenities. Event spaces are available for business gatherings or private dinners. Our restaurant features a warm, inviting ambiance serving market driven, rustic French influenced cuisine using fresh ingredients sourced from local and regional farmers and purveyors. Offering daily breakfast, lunch, and dinner service, the dishes emerging from the open kitchen are fresh, simple, and down-to-earth. The 75-seat restaurant offers outdoor patio dining and a private dining room. Additional food and beverage venues at The Charmant Hotel include a cocktail bar and lounge, a "parlour" offering coffee and spirits, a rooftop terrace serving wood-fired pizza, and a sweet bar with pastries and handmade confections. Bon appetit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Charmant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing