We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful Shepherd's Pie”

Dublin Square Irish Pub & Eatery
Ranked #9 of 212 Restaurants in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Traditional Irish pub & eatery located on 3rd and Main in downtown La Crosse, WI. Great place to watch sports, watch live music, hang out with friends, eat delicious food, and participate in good conversation. We're all a wee bit Irish at Dublin Square. Stop in and see for yourself! Recently voted Best Burger in La Crosse. Took Runner-up in Best Bloody Mary, Best International/Regional Cuisine, and Best Outdoor Dining.
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Great Irish restaurant pub we have eaten here quite often every meal is delicious. If someone in your party is not into Irish fare they have a wide range of other dishes. The hamburgers are wonderful. The outside dinning is very enjoyable on a mild La Crosse evening

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Owner at Dublin Square Irish Pub & Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2016

Thank you Ellen G for taking the time to write your review. We share all feedback with our staff and we appreciate all the compliments. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed a meal at Dublins - great selection of Irish food and beverages. I have been to Ireland and this was very authentic.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank ckaren56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Owner at Dublin Square Irish Pub & Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2016

Thank you very much ckaren56 for taking the time to write a review for us. We try to bring the best of Ireland to La Crosse and put it on display at Dublin Square. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Ate with our son at this restaurant. It is quaint and does have additional seating outside which is fine in the summer months. Food and service was ok. We will probably go back but not my favorite.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank JStolz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Owner at Dublin Square Irish Pub & Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2016

Thank you JStolz1 for taking the time to give us your feedback. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

This restaurant has no place on the 10 best list. Awful service and food. Both Shepard pie and corned beef entrees were mostly potatoes and very little meat. Go here to drink but not eat. And expect to wait on yourself unless You sit at the bar.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank esands248696mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Owner at Dublin Square Irish Pub & Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with a review and feedback from your recent visit. We take all reviews seriously and share reviews with our staff. We are very sorry that you had an unfortunate experience at Dublin Square. We would like to better understand your visit and hope you would answer some of our questions. Did you express your displeasure with your evening to your server or with a manager? Whenever a customer is unhappy with their food we always try our best to accommodate their personal preferences and wants. If the portions were not suitable or to your desired preference, we could have fixed the situation immediately by remaking your meal, or a different meal if requested. Did you see the host when you came into the restaurant? We have a very large restaurant with a lot of corners, 3 different dining rooms, and an outdoor patio. Customers who seat themselves can sometimes can unfortunately go missed, and that is why we have a sign on all outdoor tables, the host stand, and the front door that directs customers to the host stand to be seated. If the service during your visit was "awful", did you express this to a manager? We strive to give every customer the most efficient and friendly experience possible. If our performance was less than satisfying and we were made aware of it, we would have done anything possible to make your experience a better one before you walked out the door. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Came here with the man to try something different. Both of us don't drink so we were not in the mood for a drink, even though the waiter didn't get that...we told her more than once we didn't drink but she kept offering us drinks. We both ordered some typical irish food. I got the shepherds pie. Honestly I have had better.. I don't think there was enough "gravy" to it and it was a bit dry for my liking. my date loved his food...
but for the price thought it was overpriced. Sadly not sure we will be back

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dotcomkari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Owner at Dublin Square Irish Pub & Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2016

Thank you dotcomkari for taking the time to give us your feedback. We share all of our reviews with our staff members. We are sorry that you were offended by your server's sales technique. We do try to encourage our servers to sell drinks that their customer will enjoy. Your server must not have completely understood that you don't drink and we apologize. Did you explain to your server that you would have liked more gravy for your Sheperd's Pie? In our kitchen we have extra gravy that can be portioned out into sides if so desired. Our ingredients are shipped in fresh and priced competitively with businesses in the downtown area of La Crosse Wisconsin. We are happy to hear that your date enjoyed his food. We hope that you would give us another try soon. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dublin Square Irish Pub & Eatery also viewed

 
La Crosse, WI
 

Been to Dublin Square Irish Pub & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing