We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
98
45
20
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
45
20
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast gas fireplace hiking trails my husband and i door county yogurt deep tissue massage courtyard room spotty wifi acres of land large room downtown fish creek full size fridge kitchen area someone's home quiet atmosphere crackling fire
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

This Inn continues to please. We arrived to the usual friendly staff, quiet atmosphere, sitting room w real crackling fire place and coffee and tea available self serve. Complimentary wifi was good as was continental breakfast. Some good beer choices are available for purchase at the inn small bar and TV area, and many wineries surrounding the area provide for ample choices.
The rooms are large w kitchen area and large table . The room has full size gas fireplace with a mantle. There are two closets, one dresser, one chair and TV. Separate bath is ample size and clean. You can opt for full service daily or linen exchange, no service. I
There is a patio seating area outside. There are a few small stores on the property. There is a spa, and laundry facility. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank bonita422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Very nice grounds. The front desk area is very attractive and welcoming, and the staff was great. Our room had two queen beds, a nice wooden table with benches, and a gas fireplace. Also provided was a coffee pot, microwave, good sized (apartment) fridge, a cabinet with real dishes, and a drawer with real flatware. Oh, and a toaster too. Room had two huge double closets and a single closet (Who travels with that much clothing?). Room was very clean and quite large and roomy. The liquid hand soap was wonderful with lavender essential oils (Door County is known for growing lavender). The property boasts nice walking trails that we took advantage of and full service massage therapy available, but reserve the massages ahead of time. We ate breakfast out as the continental breakfast provided was just breads for toasting, fruit, cold cereals, etc.. Coffee was average. Outdoor pool was closed for the season but there were outdoor grills provided and a large play area for kids to romp. We were on the first floor and could hear footsteps above itWe felt that we received a great value.

Room Tip: Second floor if possible, could hear people walking above us late night and early morning.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Immaculately clean, very spacious rooms 50% larger than comparable rooms elsewhere. We used two different rooms over our stay; each had a fireplace and dinette area and would be considered a "suite" at several national chains. Bathroom towels were very soft; much nicer than at most hotels, and the toiletry items were apparently locally sourced.

It's an old-style inn with just 33 rooms, so don't expect a keycard for the lock -- instead, you'll get a key tied to a small hand-lettered wooden block with a leather thong. With the keys stored in cubbyholes behind the desk, it was reminiscent of a 1960's European hotel that would have you turn in the key as you left the hotel each day -- but cozy.

Located on 200 acres of land with hiking trails; 3 minutes by car from picturesque downtown Fish Creek. A pub-style lounge suitable for gathering or game playing in the evenings. Wooden trim everywhere. Every room has an outside window box with live flowers -- when was the last you saw a window box in a hotel room? I was delighted.

A spacious lawn with a winding sidewalk and scattered benches among the landscaped trees. The parking lot was separated from the nearest rooms by a well-maintained green belt of trees and bushes, making the view from the room much more pleasant.

Desk clerks were very friendly and helpful, with sample menus from area establishments and were happy to make recommendations. The continental breakfast was just so so... but the breakfast at the White Gull Inn in nearby Fish Creek was outstanding.

Room Tip: No elevator, so there is one flight of steps up to the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

This is a well maintained facility with many good walking trails on the property. It is close to town, which has a delightful Main Street.
The continental breakfast is similar to the offerings in a motel, just less variety. As a personal preference, the dining area was dark but pleasant.
The room was very clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the toiletries very good. It has a refrigerator, microwave and utensils but no stove.
When we checked in, we were given the option of daily housekeeping, towel change or no service. I wondered why the front desk discouraged full service, which we requested. The next day a nice basket of towels was left by our door without housekeeping service.
Hoping this helps...

Stayed: September 2018
Thank MartinR835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for a week during Labor Day. The room was very spacious and super clean. Liked having a full size fridge and eating area in the room since we were here for a week. Loved that the soaps, shampoo, and conditioner were all organic. Used our fireplace on a few cool evenings and it was helpful to be able to set the timer so it went off after we fell asleep. Breakfast is just enough to start your day...cold cereal, instant oatmeal, juices, yogurt, fruit, toast/English muffins, and my favorite the lemon pound cake. There is space to eat breakfast inside near the fireplace as well as a quaint outdoor eating area. The seasonal/outdoor pool was heated and extremely clean and well maintained, we used it almost everyday for a couple hours. We tried to venture out on the bike trails on site but even with the map from the front desk we were unable to find our way from the resort into downtown Fish Creek. It was a beautiful ride none the less. We did suggest to the owner to use some sort of markings on the trails to make them a little more user friendly, and she was very receptive and appreciative to our recommendations. There is an on site spa that we did use. My husband had a good deep tissue massage but my Swedish massage was just so-so. My massage therapist was an older woman and I don’t think she had the physical strength to do an adequate massage (though she was a super sweet woman). Overall we loved our time at this charming inn. It was close enough to the main attractions, but far enough off the beaten path to give you a quiet and relaxing experience!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CharmaneK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews