We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
154
87
18
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
154
87
18
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool continental breakfast peninsula state park great location door county hot tub oak suite hotel is centrally located two sinks donuts not hesitate to stay here again bottle opener bike storage yogurt downtown fish creek close proximity gibraltar grill
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2017

This was my family’s second vacation to Door County. Last time we stayed in Ephraim.

I booked this hotel for two main reasons: 1) location, and 2) swimming pools. My 10-year-old daughter loves to swim and this place was her “dream” hotel, with an indoor pool, indoor hot tub, outdoor pool, outdoor hot tub, and excellent restaurants within walking distance. We stayed for 4 nights in an “Oak” suite.

Here are my pros and cons:

Pros:
Indoor pool
Indoor whirlpool hot tub
Outdoor pool
Outdoor whirlpool hot tub
LOCATION - walking distance to excellent restaurants and shopping, next door to the entrance to Peninsula State Park
Sauna – I love saunas and sadly they have become extremely rare in hotels – this is a nice one too!
Customer service – everyone was friendly and helpful
Housekeeping was excellent
Wi-Fi was adequate
Nice channel lineup on the TV
Balcony
Gas fireplace
Refrigerator
Microwave
Two sinks
Silverware tray, paper towels, bottle opener, etc.
Comfy beds
Very clean and comfortable
Decent shower pressure
Great bath towels
Spacious room
Board games available for checkout
No surprise fees or charges
Plenty of parking
Easy registration process
Nice cancellation policy
Game/arcade room

Cons:
No desk in the room
I didn’t care for the pillows – too squishy for me
As another reviewer mentioned – the power was out from 9:45pm to 4:15am on one of the nights – but this was not their fault (there was a huge thunderstorm – this is why we always bring a flashlight on vacation!) and apparently the front desk was handling out glow sticks to guests
Continental breakfast is very basic
No pets allowed
Loud air conditioner
No blackout curtains/drapes on the windows
No in-room safe
No elevator

I decided to give the Homestead Suites five stars even though I listed some cons. The reason is, the cons I mentioned were very minor to our needs, and we really liked this place. We would definitely stay here again. It’s perfect for families with young kids.

Some have mentioned how pricey it is, and yes it is, but there was enough value in that price for us without question. Not only because of the pool situation, but having the ability to walk to so much is huge! You may have a hard time finding all of these pros with another property in Door County.

- Mr. Kooz

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank K_0_0_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homesteadsuitesFC, Front Office Manager at Homestead Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thanks for your detailed review! We appreciate your feedback and are so happy that you enjoy our great location and pools!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Overall a nice place. Staff friendly, and accommodating. Gary was a great host. Nice indoor and outdoor pools. Best thing about Homestead is you can walk to downtown Fish Creek and restaurants right across street.

Cons: Somewhat pricey for what you get. Paying for location. Continental breakfast is just that, no hot items that most hotels without restaurants now provide. Internet was slow. Bathroom small. No desk in room.

Unfortunately power went out from approx 9:45 pm to 4:15 am on last night. Had a noisy generator that powered hall lights aparently. No mention of it as I checked out as they hurried me out. Realize not their fault, but at $200 a night would have expected some discount or at least apology.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homesteadsuitesFC, Front Office Manager at Homestead Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you for submitting your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Homestead Suites is a great place to stay with the indoor/outdoor pools and great suites. They have a great breakfast and have lots of friendly staff. The thing I don't like is the rooms get very dry and very hot and the air conditioner did not help. Our family was really hot during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homesteadsuitesFC, Front Office Manager at Homestead Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Tyler, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. So happy that you enjoyed our facilities, breakfast and staff. We will look into your concerns about the room temperature. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We were first introduced to The Homestead Inn when we stayed here for our honeymoon in 1996. We fell in love with Door County and we've stayed at THI every time we've returned. Back in '96 the Inn was new and we stayed in a corner suite with fireplace in the main building. It was clean, bright, fresh and comfortable. 21 years later we found the Inn to be the same little jewel.

This time we stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage behind the main building. Our family has grown in 21 years and the additional space was necessary. The cottages were just as great as the suites. Front door parking, private entrance, fully stocked kitchen, fireplace, 2 en suite bathrooms and balconies and patios off the back of the cottage. Sofa sleeper in living room. The "master" had a jacuzzi bathtub. The cottages gave us just enough space to be comfortable when we wanted privacy or alone time and plenty of space to be together as a family without feeling crowded and cramped. It was clean, comfortable and cozy. The outdoor pool is easily accessible out your back door.

Housekeeping arrived promptly every morning and serviced us. The team was pleasant and nonintrusive.

And all the things that apply to the main building apply here, great location, close to all the shops, park and restaurants. We walked to the main building for the indoor pool. It was clean and well maintained after all these years. If we decide to return to Door County, it will be THI where we will stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank 590mardit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homesteadsuitesFC, Front Office Manager at Homestead Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you so much for your return guest patronage! We will pass along your great comments about the Evergreen Hill Condos as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

On the north edge of Fish Creek, but close to everything. Half updated, half outdated but clean, most of the time. I did have to request our toilet be cleaned. An amazing indoor pool and hot tub, as well as an out door pool and hot tub. Both close too early-outdoor at 9:00pm and indoor at 10:00.
We had trouble hearing the TV as the volume appeared to be preset to only go so high.
Sheets are only changed every 3 days in their effort to save operating costs, and use of shame and guilt signs to reduce towel usage was a thinly veiled effort to reduce operating costs.
Nice large refrigerator in room was very helpful, but very little drawer space.
Gary, a remarkable and always friendly front desk man was a shocking contrast to the rest of the staff, especially the women, who were arrogant, unfriendly and made biting remarks.
Our credit card was charged in full upon check in for an 8 night stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Lori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homesteadsuitesFC, Front Office Manager at Homestead Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you for trying us! Your concerns will be addressed by the management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews