We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Village Green Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Ephraim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Enjoyed stay over Labor Day weekend 2017. Location such that could walk to restaurants in the area. Close to the water. Jamie and Mike are excellent hosts. They offered ideas for restaurants, wineries, things to do, etc. Breakfasts were very good. Loved bed and breakfast atmosphere as able to meet others from many states at breakfast. Quiet at night for sleeping. Bed comfortable.
Would definitely stay there again.
Jeanne from Palatine, IL.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannepm358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017

This was our second visit to Ephraim and the Village Green Lodge. Mike and Jamie McCarthy are ideal B&B hosts. Their basic service is great - attractive grounds, nice rooms, excellent breakfasts, full of information about what to do and see in Door County. This visit they surpassed their hospitality with their consideration and thoughtfulness in taking care of a personal situation for us. We can't say enough about Mike and Jamie. Always smiling and personable. They become friends. Thanks Mike and Jamie for another enjoyable stay in Ephraim.

Room Tip: King suite is delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

This was our first time staying at Village Green since the new owners took over.
While the hospitality & charm of the previous owners would be a hard act to follow, the new owners seem to be on track to accomplishing the same.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jurpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Mike and Jamie and their entire staff were wonderful. The room was comfortable and quiet. Each morning started out great with the fantastic breakfast that was provided. Definitely could tell it was farm to table quality. Mike and Jamie gave us great tips about the area which was appreciated since it was our first trip to Door County. Just made the trip that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hrubes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Disappointed after staying there many times over the last 6 years with several of our friends. Owners never apologized or took responsibility for issues we had stating twice "you act like we're doing this on purpose." Here's what happened. 1. Arrived Thursday night and reported very wet towels and standing water on shelf in bathroom. We left for the evening. When we returned the towels were replaced and dry. 2. Friday morning: Woke to use toilet and had water dripping on my head while the shower was running in the room above us. We immediately went to the front desk to report the issue and they stated they thought the previous night's issue was condensation and had replaced the towels. We reported it was dripping again. Owners said they would fix and immediately came to look at it. They offered to allow us to move to another hotel but only offered to refund Saturday night, when we would be staying for two nights & offered no assistance to find a new hotel OR move to a room next door for Friday night only but would have to move back to original room for Saturday night. We politely said that we would prefer not to move and stay if they could fix the issue. Mike (owner) said he would fix it. 3. Friday afternoon. Returned from biking to clean up and found a coffee can sitting on the top shelf under the dripping ceiling. Heard the shower above us and the leak returned worse than before. We realized a member of our party was in the room above us. Returned to the front desk and were told by Mike before we could say anything "he found the issue, it was with the toilet and he had it fixed." My wife informed him, for the third time, it wasn't fixed and the drip was worse. He told my wife we were acting like this was done on purpose rather than apologizing and trying to calm us in our frustration for the leaking ceiling. Mike was quick to check the issue out. At that point the option to move rooms for one night was again offered. We again asked why would have to move rooms multiple times and said we wanted the leak fixed. Mike said he would see what he could do. 4. Friday afternoon (a hour later): Our group was gathering outside the office for dinner and were informed they called multiple plumbers and could get no one until Monday. The owners asked, what do we wanted them to do, in front of our total party. We again stated, move us to another room and not make us move multiple times. We were again told the room was open Friday night but another customer had that room for 4 nights starting Saturday. After much pressure from our party and a suggestion they move us, fix the problem and put the new party into the room once the problem was fixed, they called the folks assigned to that room Saturday night and discovered that party only needed one bed (the room we were in had a king bed and the open room had 2 double beds). They finally agreed to move us to a room with a functioning bathroom and not move us multiple times. 5. Saturday morning: met our friend who was in the room above our leaky room for a walk and were informed she had a note on her door when she returned the prior evening stating they found the problem and a plumber would be there in the morning to fix the issue. Her shower was completely dismantled and she was unable to shower for that morning. Mike approached her at breakfast to explain he was fixing it- never apologized to her for the inconvenience. She was cordial and stated she hoped he could fix it so she could shower and then asked if he also had shut off the hot water? She ran the water for a long time that morning in the sink and never got hot water. Mike told her she was the first up that day and something to the effect of she shouldn't get up that early. Really? 6. We returned Saturday afternoon and all parties finally had working bathrooms.
CONCLUSION. Our issue really wasn't the leaks as things like this can happen which is why we gave multiple opportunities to fix it. While they stated in a response to another review we were rude, which we vehemently disagree and take issue with, we felt they had ZERO customer service, sympathy, or empathy for our situation. They did not offer to find another hotel opportunity. They made us feel like we were putting them out for asking to switch rooms only once. They never once apologized for the situation or offered any compensation for the bathroom facilities that were unusable. I want to emphasize that our entire party was amazed at the lack of acknowledgement and acceptance of responsibility and specifically were listening for an apology that never came. The owners are very friendly but sadly we found the minute there was an issue, they became defensive, very short, and escalated the problem simply because of how we were treated and patronized. While we still love Door County, but we will no longer recommend Village Green Lodge as we have so many times before.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jeffhL8640II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.2 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
840 reviews
4.8 km away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
416 reviews
6.1 km away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
14 km away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
0.7 km away
The Eagle Harbor Inn
The Eagle Harbor Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Green Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Green Lodge

Address: 10013 Poplar Street, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ephraim
Price Range: €65 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Green Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The peaceful grounds, comfortable rooms, adult-friendly atmosphere and great location in the heart of Ephraim, provide a great venue to unwind and relax while you explore all of Door County. Come experience the charming quaintness of a bed and breakfast lodge 1/2 a block from Eagle Harbor. The tradition of the Village Green Lodge hospitality starts with our Cafe Breakfast. Our guests enjoy couples retreats, ladies weekends, mother-daughter get-a-ways, family and friend reunions or use the lodge as base camp for biking, hiking and kayaking expeditions. Our room options include 1 king or 2 doubles, whirlpool/fireplace suites and a large 2-bedroom/2 bath suite with full kitchen and living room with fireplace…perfect for two couples. Owners, Mike and Jamie McCarthy can suggest fun Door County options to fit your time and interests! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing