We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
212
28
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
212
28
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests door county oatmeal the main road breakfast was delicious each morning new owners eating breakfast charming hotel scones excellent hosts make reservations wonderful place bed and breakfast the room was extremely clean many years thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

This was our first time staying at Village Green since the new owners took over.
While the hospitality & charm of the previous owners would be a hard act to follow, the new owners seem to be on track to accomplishing the same.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jurpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Mike and Jamie and their entire staff were wonderful. The room was comfortable and quiet. Each morning started out great with the fantastic breakfast that was provided. Definitely could tell it was farm to table quality. Mike and Jamie gave us great tips about the area which was appreciated since it was our first trip to Door County. Just made the trip that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hrubes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Disappointed after staying there many times over the last 6 years with several of our friends. Owners never apologized or took responsibility for issues we had stating twice "you act like we're doing this on purpose." Here's what happened. 1. Arrived Thursday night and reported very wet towels and standing water on shelf in bathroom. We left for the evening. When we returned the towels were replaced and dry. 2. Friday morning: Woke to use toilet and had water dripping on my head while the shower was running in the room above us. We immediately went to the front desk to report the issue and they stated they thought the previous night's issue was condensation and had replaced the towels. We reported it was dripping again. Owners said they would fix and immediately came to look at it. They offered to allow us to move to another hotel but only offered to refund Saturday night, when we would be staying for two nights & offered no assistance to find a new hotel OR move to a room next door for Friday night only but would have to move back to original room for Saturday night. We politely said that we would prefer not to move and stay if they could fix the issue. Mike (owner) said he would fix it. 3. Friday afternoon. Returned from biking to clean up and found a coffee can sitting on the top shelf under the dripping ceiling. Heard the shower above us and the leak returned worse than before. We realized a member of our party was in the room above us. Returned to the front desk and were told by Mike before we could say anything "he found the issue, it was with the toilet and he had it fixed." My wife informed him, for the third time, it wasn't fixed and the drip was worse. He told my wife we were acting like this was done on purpose rather than apologizing and trying to calm us in our frustration for the leaking ceiling. Mike was quick to check the issue out. At that point the option to move rooms for one night was again offered. We again asked why would have to move rooms multiple times and said we wanted the leak fixed. Mike said he would see what he could do. 4. Friday afternoon (a hour later): Our group was gathering outside the office for dinner and were informed they called multiple plumbers and could get no one until Monday. The owners asked, what do we wanted them to do, in front of our total party. We again stated, move us to another room and not make us move multiple times. We were again told the room was open Friday night but another customer had that room for 4 nights starting Saturday. After much pressure from our party and a suggestion they move us, fix the problem and put the new party into the room once the problem was fixed, they called the folks assigned to that room Saturday night and discovered that party only needed one bed (the room we were in had a king bed and the open room had 2 double beds). They finally agreed to move us to a room with a functioning bathroom and not move us multiple times. 5. Saturday morning: met our friend who was in the room above our leaky room for a walk and were informed she had a note on her door when she returned the prior evening stating they found the problem and a plumber would be there in the morning to fix the issue. Her shower was completely dismantled and she was unable to shower for that morning. Mike approached her at breakfast to explain he was fixing it- never apologized to her for the inconvenience. She was cordial and stated she hoped he could fix it so she could shower and then asked if he also had shut off the hot water? She ran the water for a long time that morning in the sink and never got hot water. Mike told her she was the first up that day and something to the effect of she shouldn't get up that early. Really? 6. We returned Saturday afternoon and all parties finally had working bathrooms.
CONCLUSION. Our issue really wasn't the leaks as things like this can happen which is why we gave multiple opportunities to fix it. While they stated in a response to another review we were rude, which we vehemently disagree and take issue with, we felt they had ZERO customer service, sympathy, or empathy for our situation. They did not offer to find another hotel opportunity. They made us feel like we were putting them out for asking to switch rooms only once. They never once apologized for the situation or offered any compensation for the bathroom facilities that were unusable. I want to emphasize that our entire party was amazed at the lack of acknowledgement and acceptance of responsibility and specifically were listening for an apology that never came. The owners are very friendly but sadly we found the minute there was an issue, they became defensive, very short, and escalated the problem simply because of how we were treated and patronized. While we still love Door County, but we will no longer recommend Village Green Lodge as we have so many times before.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jeffhL8640II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Not the same. Rude owners when the ceiling leaked, could not guarantee or even help move the party that were inconvenienced by the leak, coffee not ready and were told to check back in an hour, no hot water, waited until a Saturday to have a plumber come in and ignored the persons who had to put up with the leak. We have recommended several friends to stay here. No more. I cannot believe the lack of responsibility. We will be advising our friends lodging elsewhere in Ephraim. We are not prudish people. We are seasonals in Door County. The lack of customer care is deployable. This is NOT the Village Green Sue and her husband ran.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGLMcCarthy, Owner at Village Green Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Karen S,


Its so nice to hear from you again. As I recall when we met, you were argumentative, snotty and refused a cup of coffee I offered. I certainly appreciate your comments since we’ll never be able to continually improve our offerings without quality critical feedback from our guests. You, however were not a paying guest. Nonetheless I will highlight the steps taken to rectify the situation that evolved once we discovered there was an issue.


Indeed we had a leak which was inconvenient for everyone. When discovered, options were provided yet refused by your friends and a plumber was called, unfortunately the solution was misdiagnosed. So the drip from above was temporarily collected in a can. Since we were entirely booked we called another guest and they graciously switched rooms for one night to accommodate your friends insistence on not working with us through this issue. I drove to Green Bay that night to get parts to resolve the issue. The next morning the only plumber I could get on a busy weekend provided the correct insight and the problem was resolved. All of these steps were communicated and met with an openly hostile and aggressive attitude.


Freshly brewed coffee is always ready at 7:00 A.M. and is available all morning! Hot water is always available. If you by chance are the first person awake and try to get hot water from your sink it will require some patience.


Your comments don't reflect the entire story. Our responsibility is to make all our guests feel comfortable and welcomed and from other Trip Advisor reviews the internet world knows how seriously we strive to accomplish that goal. Yet when non paying guests choose to provide ugly commentary, are rude and choose to stick their nose in matters that aren’t their business without knowing all the facts it’s annoying, sophomoric and trite.


If you truly cared about referring your friends to the Village Green Lodge you would have approached us directly with your concerns. Makes me wonder if you would have been so thoughtless to the previous owners. And to be clear the heritage of Village Green Lodge continues but your one star won’t stop us from providing wonderful people with great customer care in a relaxed adult friendly atmosphere in the heart of Ephraim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

My husband and I have stayed in a few B&B's before, so our expectations were pretty high considering our own experiences and the reviews on Trip advisor. I have to say we were pretty disappointed with the room, grounds, breakfast, and price.

The positives of this lodge are the owners and the location relative to the city sights. The owners were very nice. There were very few guests under the age of 50 (we are in our 20's, we felt a little out of place) and many times we over heard the owners helping make reservations and suggestions to the guests. We were greeted every day and it was nice how they tried to chat with everyone. The location to the sights was very nice. We were able to walk most everywhere in Ephraim.

The disappointments out-shined the positives. In our opinion, the price of the room was very high for what we got. Our room was a "King Lodge with Water View." Yes, we could see the water... a tiny spot over full grown trees, another hotel, and more trees. Not worth it. The room had very little decoration, older furniture, and was not equipped with simple amenities. There were bare walls, no "do not disturb" signs if you didn't want maid service everyday, only 2 towels, and no alarm clocks. These are simple things that could have made the room nicer and less disappointing. The maid service that came in everyday, even if you didn't care for it, wasn't great either. They didn't clean the sinks, supply new cups, and one day didn't fully make the bed. We don't usually like maid service especially if it was like this...we can pull the covers up ourselves. The grounds are a mix of pretty flowers, over grown weeds in the back and poorly lit parking lots. Not that we wanted large lights, but little walk way lights would help. The other disappointment here was breakfast. Unless you like eggs everyday, it's not great. I don't eat eggs at all so I had very little for options. My husband does eat eggs, but was still unimpressed with the only one option. We had to stop somewhere or have a snack every morning shortly after breakfast.

Overall, it was clean, the owners are nice, but definitely a disappointment.

Room Tip: No elevator, Views are parking lot, or trees
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AMV0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews