We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a WONDERFUL last minute surprise!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Baraboo
Ingleside, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a WONDERFUL last minute surprise!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Well after traveling up to Wisconsin Dells for over 15 years, who would of known that we had missed out on a WONDERFUL hotel, The Clarion Hotel in Baraboo, Wisconsin! The front desk staff "Jason" was able to fit us in even after I called their Reservation Hotline and they told me they were all filled with no availability. I TRULY appreciate all that he did especially since this trip was a last minute surprise from my husband. Our room had double queen beds, a desk and chair/ottoman with room to spare. The quality/comfort of the bed rated up to the quality of a Premium Hilton Hotel. Now for their restaurant Glacier Rock......... FABULOUS and GREAT prices!!! The location of this establishment couldn't be better! You have a casino only 10 minutes away and a free zoo open all year long only 5 minutes away. We have now found our new favorite place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tselzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markhotelmanager, Manager at Clarion Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear T Seizer,

We are so glad that you finally found us .We hope to see again coming to Wisconsin Dells, Area. Next time you come please ask us about Coupons for Passport to Savings from the Wisconsin Dells, Wisocnsin. If you didn't notice while you were here Glacier Rock offers 25 cent wings every Wednesday Night. Hope to see you soon.


Sincerely,
Mark Horenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    68
    55
    19
    11
See reviews for
62
59
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great price ($71 a night) for a hotel that was clean, comfortable, and located in a convenient place (20 or so minutes from Devil's Head). The room had a great shower and rooms with 2 double size beds and flat screen tv.

The hotel also has a very good restaurant, probably the best in the surroundings. On top of that there is a indoor swimming pool, treadmills and others.

The only negative aspect was that the guy at the frontdesk wasn't really kind and welcoming.

I would definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Clarion Hotel in Baraboo WI Saturday February 18th. We went up with Friends to Gamble at Ho-Chuck Casino. The Clarion has a restaurant attached which looked very nice. We did not eat so I cannot comment about the food. They have a pool, exersice room, and conference center. There is a bar/restaurant next door called Chasers. We found the food good and bartender friendly.

The nice thing about the Clarion is the shuttle that runs back and forth from the Casino. The wait was not more than 5-10 minutes each time. The front desk staff was friendly and informative. The rooms were big and clean. Decor was somewhat dated but certainly not bad. I'd recommend this hotel for weekend of Gambling or just to get away with the kids.

Room Tip: Pool is on the 4th floor so if you intend to make use request an upper level floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikenlisa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markhotelmanager, Manager at Clarion Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Good Day Mikenlisa2,
We are so glad that you had a wonderful weeknd at the Casino. I am so glad that my front desk staff was very helpful to you. Come and visit us again and have fun at the Casino. Ask us about the Passport to Saving coupons we offer. See you soon .

Sincerely,

Mark Horenberger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed here in June 2011 at the beginning of the summer season. It was a little busy as could be expected. The room I had was a little on the small side then.
We stayed here 2-4-2012 and got a 2 room suite with a hot tub for the same price as the room we had in June. So much bigger and better. 2 TVs refrig, micro and coffee maker. Sofa in the bedroom and room was huge. The staff (Jason and Steffani were wonderful) was very helpful with the area attractions and room info. Kudos to the Clarion for having such great people to work for them. I usually (21Xs) stay at the Best Western in the Dells, and really like their hotel, but for the cost this was better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwong29371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

A friend and I and five kids booked two rooms for an evening to take the kids skiing the next day. For what we paid, I wasn't expecting very much. We asked for adjoining rooms and that was granted. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel actually. The rooms weren't large, but were clean and updated, with comfortable beds and pillows. There was only one employee there that night, but he was as calm and collected as couldd be, and helped us, (we needed more towels and lights at pool to go on). The pool was a fine size and the kids enjoyed it. The onsite restaurant was a plus also. The breakfast was typical, cereal and the waffle maker, only thing I would suggest is real coffee cups and larger than dixie cups for juice and milk. Cascade ski area was about a 15-20 minute ride away, so it was overall a great little trip. It was a good experience and would stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Call and talk to someone, they were helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Granolamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baraboo
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Baraboo Inn
0.1 km away
Campus Inn Motel
Campus Inn Motel
#6 of 9 in Baraboo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
13.2 km away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#15 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
16.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
9.5 km away
Motel 6 Lake Delton
Motel 6 Lake Delton
#4 of 9 in Baraboo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 626 W Pine St, Baraboo, WI 53913-1039 (Formerly Park Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Baraboo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Baraboo
Park Plaza Baraboo
Baraboo Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing