We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
8
8
7
8
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
8
7
8
19
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel is AWFUL! As soon as we pulled up, we knew we wanted our money back. It just gets worse as you walk in. It smells like a bar full of smoke, it looks like you walk into the era of hippie 1960s decor, the beds are lumpy, the carpets are disgusting. As soon as they took our card, they charged it an extra $70 for kids staying without telling us until just after they did it. We slept in our clothes and left as soon as possible the next day. The manager kept evading us until we finally caught up with him after requesting to talk with him, at least, 20 times. He apparently lives their because he has a car with his name on it with the hotel name on it also and it had been parked there the entire time we were there. Its disgusting, not family oriented and the manager will curse at you and hang up on you if you have anything to say. He even told us that he changes the policies as he sees needed so that he can make money. He actually told us that! STAY FAR AWAY!!!! This felt like a virtual nightmare!

Attached are pictures of the pool that I wouldn't let a stray animal swim in. It was gross! Pictures of the room to come...

Holiday Inn Express at Parkersburg is awesome and well worth the money!!

Room Tip: Nothing here! A tent on the side of the interstate is safer and a lot more clean.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Jenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My husband and I had been traveling for several hours and located this hotel in one of the hotel finder booklets from a welcome center on the Interstate. The desk clerk (manager??) told my husband that they could not honor the rate in the booklet and that ALL the motels & hotels in the area were totally booked for some event that was being held in the area. He was given a rate some $25.00 above the rate advertised in the booklet.

The exterior of this hotel looks 'decent' and the lobby was not too terrible. HOWEVER, the exterior door leading up to the 2nd floor was not very clean and had been damaged. The stairway (NO elevators available) was FILTHY beyond belief. We carefully checked the entire room for bedbugs PRIOR to bringing in our luggage. The condition of the telephone, door knobs, bathroom fixtures, toilet and shower fixtures necessitated us to wipe all of these down with alcohol wipes to insure.. Still we did not feel we should remove our luggage from the car to the room; therefore, we unpacked (from the trunk of our car) only the few items we would require the next morning and secured them on coat hangers to prevent them from laying on one of the chairs.

The hotel was FILTHY in comparison to others in the same rate category. The Board of Health should have already closed their doors ! The only positive in this experience was that the desk clerk was courteous.

We will NEVER AGAIN drive so long that we feel unsafe on the road and as a result accept such lodging as this. Sleeping upright in the car would be preferable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Alice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I have stayed at the Magnuson several times while traveling from Kentucky. Very friendly staff and clean rooms. The owner is extremely welcoming and goes out of his way to provide anything you need. It is a quiet and relaxing place to spend a couple of days. Continental breakfast is free. Or if you prefer a full scale hot breakfast, there is a restaurant next door with reasonably priced breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Also close to Marietta, Ohio and it's many attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank electriclazyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay A, Manager at Sunshine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to relate your recent experiences with your stay at our hotel property. I'm glad to hear that the staff was friendly and helpful. Thanks for the wonderful comments--we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed one night for a business trip. Room was clean, up to date and staff was friendly. Would highly recommend!

Chris

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris3328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay A, Manager at Sunshine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your recent stay in our hotel. We're glad that you found your stay so satisfying, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to our area. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The place is nasty and the owner/manager was a nasty liar. We found bugs in our bed, as did another couple who was staying across the hall. Can't confirm they were "bedbugs" but they were bugs. We were told we couldn't get a refund without manager approval and he was off duty, later to find out that the man we were talking to was the manager and owner.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank jazzgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews