We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remains lovely and luxurious”
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Remains lovely and luxurious”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We visited the Greenbrier in late March. The hotel is spectacular, luxurious. Staff was ample, courteous, informative. Rooms (in Windsor wing) beautiful, large. Grounds are glorious. Multiple shops for many kinds of shopping.

Room Tip: try and get the Windsor wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyvoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,627
    505
    233
    104
    54
See reviews for
596
1,124
33
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trafford, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

What a wonderful stay, takes you back to a time of grace and elegance. The bunker tour was a must do. Will be making another trip soon.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziszy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The glory days are back at the Greenbrier. The facility is shipshape with all the grace and gentility of an historic mansion. The staff epitomize the phrase "southern hospitality" and the food is, as it always has been, sublime. Share the bread pudding with someone. This is not an inexpensive retreat, but more than any place we've stayed, The Greenbrier is worth it. And we've stayed all over the world. They should promote their spa more as it's top notch, with gracious and unhurried staff--and guests. Courtesy, not pretention, is the norm here.

Room Tip: If yo like the Dorothy Draper look, try the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shandong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The Greenbrier is a very nice hotel situated in an exceptionally beautiful golf course setting in a quiet part of West Virginia. The hotel dates way back and is decorated in a style (Dorothy Draper) that some will love and others will find way over the top. It is loaded with shops, restaurants, a bowling alley, theater, casino, and a five star spa. Golfers will surely love the exceptional courses and the beautiful scenery.

We had a superior room that we booked on Snique Away. The room was huge although the bathroom was a little small. The decor is very retro and unlike almost anything you will find in other hotels. Hotel restaurants are on the pricey side but very good. If you want to avoid the hotel prices, drive 15 minutes west to Lewisburg where you will find some exceptional restaurants at more affordable prices. Many hotel restaurants are closed during the winter season so choices can be very limited. Note that the casino and the dining room require a jacket at night for men.

There are many unique and fun activities offered by the hotel but they can be pricey. We opted for a tour of "the bunker", an underground previously top secret fallout shelter that was built to house the U.S. Congress in the event of a nuclear war. Very interesting, but sort of expensive at $30 a person for a 90 minute tour. There are many interesting shops both in the hotel and on the surrounding grounds. I can also highly recommend the spa and its sulfur spring baths.

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel grounds and buildings are exceptional. I highly recommend the resort,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larry126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed here with 1 1/2 yr old son and my husband in October 2011. The entire ground is absolutely stunning and the renovated interior, incuding our spacious room, also looked great. The breakfast buffet, which we enjoyed everday, was delicious and service attentive and accomodating to a young child. I enjoyed few outfoor activities including tennis and skid shooting, and my son enjoyed the indoor pool. My husband played golf on two different courses and couldn't stop talking about how wonderful they were. We hired a babysitting service and enjoyed the casino one night as well. The resort definitely offered something for everyone. All in all, it was an as relaxing and enjoyable trip as it could've been with a 1 yr old boy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
11.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
10.9 km away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
437 reviews
10.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
193 reviews
30.1 km away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
11.2 km away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Region: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing