We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
The Black Bear
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Black Bear
The very spacious front deck. Great for entertaining or just to enjoy nature Imagine yourself with a morning cup of coffee or an evening glass of wine...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
The Black Bear
The very spacious front deck. Great for entertaining or just to enjoy nature
Imagine yourself with a morning cup of coffee or an evening glass of wine...
The living room gives you a feeling of space with it's cathedral ceiling
The kitchen is fully equiped, with every convenience of home
The dining room with authentic log furniture
The living room with comfortable furniture
The Master Bedroom on the main floor
The Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom on the main floor with shower and Jacuzzi tub
One of two upstairs bedrooms with twin beds
Bedroom on the lower level with it's own full bath
Full bath on the lower level
Family room
The family room
Picnic table outside with park style grill and fire pit
Winter in Pipestem
The Black Bear
Wild life in Pipestem State Park bordering the Retreat at Pipestem
Morning mist at the Retreat
Fall colors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Pipestem, West Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
socloseUS...
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We've stayed here before and will stay here again! :) Beautiful serene setting. Everything you need for a relaxing weekend indoors or outdoors.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trip70251...
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Private setting in the woods but near to everything you might need. Cabin was wonderful. We had grandmothers and teens and inbetween and everyone was happy. Even caught enough fish for dinner!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Graduation Week”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We recently stayed for my WVSOM graduation. I thought it would be a great place to stay, and was much more affordable than the rentals available in Lewisburg for the week. My family and I had an amazing time exploring Pipestem, and the Black Bear was absolutely perfect. I enjoyed reading on the porch and preparing food in the large kitchen. The decorating was perfect and unique. I relaxed in the whirlpool tub several times. It was a wonderful end to a sometimes stressful four years of school. We didn't mind the drive to Lewisburg. It was such a wonderful retreat, I really can't say enough good things about it. The owners were away for the week, but they had a manager who was very attentive in the limited contact we had with her. The house was clean and comfortable. My entire family had plenty of space to rest and relax. We hope to return someday. Thank you for a wonderful relaxing stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Atmosphere
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D
Cedar Springs, Michigan
2 reviews
“Wonderful Weekend”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My husband and I rented Black Bear to spend Easter weekend with our 3 children and their spouses. This cabin was beautiful, felt spacious, and had everything we needed for cooking meals in the cabin. We enjoyed hiking and horse back riding and watching deer on the golf course.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
It's so good to see such nice feed back. We built the Black Bear, based on feedback from our guests and we are very pleased that the results are so positive
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing