We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place to stay”
Review of Old Clark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlinton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Clark Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Marlinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little place to stay”
Reviewed 9 February 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night on our way to Snowshoe for skiing. Our ski passes and lodging package started the next day and we wanted an economical place to stay that was nearby. Check-in went smoothly and we were given an upgraded room, which was a nice surprise. The room was on the small size but very comfortable and was exactly what we needed after driving all day. We had use of the common areas. We ordered pizza from the Snak Shak just down the road and relaxed with a drink in the living room w/ fireplace. In the morning, they served coffee/tea/juice and had oatmeal, some breads, cereal, and fruit. The next day it took us about a half hour to get to Snowshoe. There was another guest who was staying here who had a lift ticket on, so he found it convenient enough to ski at snowshoe during the day and stay at this B&B at night.
It is more of an economy B&B (smaller rooms, continental vs. hot breakfast) with all the comfort and charm of higher end B&B's. We will definitely stay again next year during our annual Snowshoe trip and highly recommend the Old Clark Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapkyc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    29
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
42
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Our room #7 on second floor was small/cozy; we did not bring in all our luggage. The size of the room was not a problem for us. This is a private home not a chain hotel so we did not expect large rooms. On first floor is a living room and dining room for use of guests. Dining room has a refrigerator for guest use. I really enjoyed my stay there. If I ever return to Marlinton again, and if the Old Clark Inn maintains its standard, I would stay there again. My main criteria for a lodging and/or restaurant are that it be smoke -free and clean. Happily, the Old Clark Inn met both criteria. Once in Marlinton, we were able to walk to the Court House and the Greenbrier Trail. The Old Clark Inn was a great place to unwind.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank driverless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Stayed here for two days while enjoying the West Virginia back roads on our motorcycles. This place is definitely motorcycle friendly, there was even covered parking for our bikes, and everything we needed to clean them up after a ride on wet roads. The rooms were quiet, very clean and comfortable. The low rates make it an almost unbelievable value. All the tripadvisor reviews I read were right on. This is THE place to stay in Marlinton for motorcyclists, bicyclists and anyone else looking for a clean, quiet, comfortable place to recoup after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotorcycleTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellefontaine, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We had just signed up for 1 night and ended up staying 5. We wanted someplace close to the Greenbriar Bike trail and this fit the bill. Best location and best value all along the 80 mile trail. Clean, neat, most everything anticipated and available for the traveler. Fridge, microwave, grill, comfortable bed, quiet. This would be our pick again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sqcpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2010

My wide and best friend were cycling the river trail and chose the Inn for our overnight. The Innkeepers Nelson and Andrea were friendly and hard working. We came off the trail tired, sore, and hoping that our room was going to be adequate. We had been warned that due to our late booking all that was left was a small room. It suited us just fine! Our friend had to take a bed in the Hostel area and it happened he had the place to himself and loved it. Breakfast was wonderful and ample. Lots of pastries, cereal, fresh fruit that was out of this world, and lots of very good coffee. They made sure our bikes were in a safe area and we could not have asked for anything else. After a hard day biking I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flashtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlinton
4.7 km away
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Marlinton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
22.5 km away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
21.9 km away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.2 km away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,810 reviews
21.5 km away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
33.3 km away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Clark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Clark Inn

Property: Old Clark Inn
Address: 702 3rd Ave, Marlinton, WV 24954-1142
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Marlinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marlinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover value & hospitality in a unique lodging experience! A popular small town inn with clean cozy rooms and plenty of common areas where you can relax and feel at home. Casual atmosphere, free breakfast and in-room WiFi, in town-walking distance to restaurants and shops. A genuine old-time American-owned "Mom & Pop" business. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing