We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We came into Charleston to visit a friend and arrived sooner than expected, but were allowed to check in, anyway. The receptionist was very mannerly. She let us know which rooms were newly renovated, and kindly put us in a room away from the highway. She even complimented my hair! Our room was very clean. We forgot our toothpaste, and were given some for free, compliments of the hotel. The hotel is very close to the mall and several restaurants. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissChelseaMarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    169
    79
    31
    13
See reviews for
155
142
39
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

I travel to Charleston several times a year and always stay here if I can get in! From the front desk clerks to the gentleman who drives the van (ROY!!), everyone is so friendly and helpful. The beds are rooms are clean/comfortable. The only down side is a few of the rooms at the front corner are right off the I-64 ramp, so there is some road noise. I just keep the AC fan on if I get one. Also, they have a courtesy van that will take you to restaurants/mall downtown. You will not go wrong if you stay here.. they treat ya like family.

Room Tip: Don't get room on Right front corner of building close to I-64 off ramp... noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2kytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Walkable, charming area of town even though it's right off the highway. Recently renovated, eco-conscious, great beds, nice rooms for getting work done or having fun with the family. Hot and cold breakfast where you can make your own waffles. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cnre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont, WV
Level Contributor
204 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I was greeted by name as soon as I reached the desk to check in! We were given a room on the 5th floor--clean, quiet and quite comfortable. This Hampton Inn is a good place to stay while in Charleston--not far from the interstate with easy off and easy on, too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebra71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Me and my wife was in town for a concert and chose this hotel because it was within walking distance. We have no complaints but the rooms are a bit costly.

Room Tip: If your in town for a concert, You can park in the hotel parking lot and walk to the venue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ark113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
7.9 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
0.3 km away
Courtyard Charleston
Courtyard Charleston
#9 of 23 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Address: 1 Virginia Street West, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing