We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
45
10
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
10
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Had dinner at the Ambrae House deck bar. Nice mix of locals and tourists. Great food, excellent and very friendly service and we heard some nice music. On a previous visit with friends visiting from England, we had dinner there two nights in a row because our friends liked the steaks so much.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank dlddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

Coming from DC to spend a lovely weekend away, we knew we were in the right place upon reception.

Looking for peace, relaxation and a moment off the beaten path, we found Ambrae and loved it.

The proprietor went out of his way to ensure we had all we needed, including a bottle of wine. From there breakfast was both tasty and filling and the local flavor perfect.

Headed back there when the body aches for those healing waters, I know exactly where to be to feel refreshed all over again.

Enjoy the food, ambience and simplicity of this fabulous little place.

Cheers

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EmilleB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

This was our third visit to Ambrae House B&B in Berkeley Springs. Each time we have stayed in a different room and we loved them all. We stayed in the Champagne room this visit which is on the third floor of the Inn. I think I like it the best because it is larger. Our Innkeepers, Lisa and Gary are so welcoming and we feel like family when we stay. The Inn is on the main street of Berkeley Springs and it is walking distance to the many shops and restaurants. But remember the Ambrae House is a restaurant with great service and good food and drinks. This is a must stay when visiting the town!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

With the Bath House having closed, my boyfriend and I thought we'd never find another small hotel that would be just as perfect. Well Ambrae house is the place! The room we stayed in was BEAUTIFUL. A wonderful two person soaking tub, some of the nicest linens I've ever had the pleasure of sleeping beneath and a super comfortable bed. The Inn is the top floor of one of the best restaurants in town so that doesn't hurt either. The owners of the Inn are extremely welcoming and even offered us a late check out so we could shower and change after our bike ride (they weren't expecting guests for that room for another day).

There is a common area with books and games as well as snacks and water for all guests. If you venture out, you are in the heart of Berkeley Springs so everything is literally a block or two away. Perfect Inn and the perfect location. We bought a package that serves breakfast. The breakfast was made to order! We will definite be back. Love this little inn!

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank elivela67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

I carefully read the reviews of others, and I can agree that the rooms are lovely. They are well appointed with beautiful furnishings. All rooms have their own TVs which is great since the common sitting room is quite small and does have access to a TV. There is a small fridge in the sitting room, which does come in handy for storing perishables. The bathrooms are large, well lit, and quite nice. However, a few drawbacks.

When you go, you must remember that this is first and foremost a restaurant and bar with rooms upstairs. While the owner did find us, it is not like other B&Bs that we have stayed in where the owner is hands on. They were never there for breakfast or checkout. This location is really more of a small inn than a B&B.

They do not refresh your room if you are staying for more than one night. While I have been in other establishments that also follow this routine, it would be great to know ahead of time.

All rooms have windows that fact RT 522, the main street and quite busy street even at night. Trucks continue to travel throughout the night. Turning on the air conditioning fan helps block out the noise.

Breakfast is okay, and our standard may be a bit high. We are always looking for breakfast items that we ourselves do not make. The options are the same, and while good, nothing spectacular.

I agree with the one reviewer who stated that they would recommend the location but it truly was an average stay.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ontheroad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews