We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regaining its previous quality”
Review of Dobra Zupas

Dobra Zupas
Ranked #5 of 118 Restaurants in Beckley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bistro with full service bar and Beckley's First Brew Pub
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We have been fans of DZ since they opened. However, after it had been open for a year or so, there was a change in staff and decline in the quality of the food, which led us to dine there less frequently. We decided to visit again last night for a birthday celebration, and we were pleased that the quality of the restaurant seems to be approaching its previous excellent level.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Z, Owner at Dobra Zupas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for trying us again. We appreciate your feedback and hope you'll visit often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I are Canadian and are big on craft beer. We were travelling to Florida for a few weeks and stopped in Beckley for an overnight. So we heard about this pub through Trio Advisor. First time we visited it was closed. Then on our way home, we stopped in on. Saturday night. It was busy. We ate on the bar which was cozy. Daniel the bartender was attentive and knowledgeable in their beer selection. Our food was delicious; chicken wings; salad and onion rings. Hope to make this a regular when we travel through this area.

Thank M5228KObarbarag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Z, Owner at Dobra Zupas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to your next trip through the area. Our menu is always changing especially the craft beer selection. THANK YOU!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

Found by searching Advisor and was so happy we took the chance. Creamy black bean vegetable soup is SPOT ON! Hubby had a gyro pizza and the meat is made there with tza sauce. It was very fresh and light. I had their take on shrimp and grits made with polenta instead of grits. The combination was very tasty. The bread pudding is homemade as well. Oh yummy yummy yummy!

Thank happyplace31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Z, Owner at Dobra Zupas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Happy to hear you had a pleasant visit and enjoyed a few of our specials. Check back next time you are in town, our desserts and specials change frequently. THANK YOU!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

This place flies under the radar more than it should. It's probably one of the top 3 or 4 restaurants in Beckley. They have a very unique and trendy menu, along with offering various specials that are equally mouth watering.

Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Z, Owner at Dobra Zupas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you! Hope you’ll stop in again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

My first experience at this place was great, but the subsequent visits were disappointing. I ordered the chicken Marsala each time, and it was never as good as the very first time that I went there. The Service was very slow, even though I was one of three people in the place. I think my food sat for a while before the waitress picked it up, as it was actually lukewarm the last time I was there. I will not be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LuceDuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Z, Owner at Dobra Zupas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

I apologize that you’ve had a bad experience at my restaurant. I appreciate the feedback and will discuss this with my staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dobra Zupas also viewed

 

Been to Dobra Zupas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing