We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were treated poorly from the minute we arrived”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River's Edge Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2017

The gal who checked us in was rude to us to begin with. My guess is that 3 couples traveling on Harley's were "scary" to her. We are all in our 50's, law abiding and all have respectable professional jobs. Nonetheless, we declared there were 7 people in our party rather than 6, paid the additional charge and went to our cabin. We invited a friend of ours that lives in Winthrop to come over and visit. We were on the back deck, 8pm eating dinner and listening to music when we were abruptly interrupted by yet another VERY RUDE person who shook a piece of paper in my face and charged us with "disorderly conduct" and said if we didn't shut the noise down in 5 minutes that they would evict us. She also said we had 8 people in the cabin and were only allowed 7. We told her one guest was visiting and lived in Winthrop. We immediately shut the music off and came into the cabin. I checked my bank account and realized even BEFORE she came down to our cabin she charged my credit card $250. She had mentioned that people were smoking on the deck. NOBODY was smoking on the deck. We have 2 smokers in our group. Two very respectable smokers - they not only went down below the deck to smoke, they went out towards the river so the smoke didn't waft up to the deck. I feel that we were targeted from the moment we arrived because we were "bikers". This place is clearly NOT biker friendly. I would never stay here again. The cabin itself was very nice, but the customer service (or lack thereof) was hideous. My husband and I left at 10pm to drive 3.5 hours home. I've left a voicemail for them to rectify this situation and still haven't heard anything from them. Please beware of their practices, they will overcharge your credit card for everything - not returning the key TO THE OFFICE, $50 for every 15 minutes you stay past check out time......clearly they make alot of money off of these charges. Horrible experience.

Room Tip: Cabins ON the river are a great location, but don't plan on "talking out loud" after 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in cabin 16 It has everything you need,We used the kitchen no need to go out ..The only thing It would have been better would more privacy sourounding the sides of deck .. A BBQ would have been nice ..The view of the River was fantastic and relaxing....The Hot tub really was a nice touch ..

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived in Winthrop w/out a reservation or any idea where to stay and just stumbled into this gem. Bedroom plus living room with small kitchen that has all the basics. Coffee, spices, napkins etc. Larger cabins are available for families.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank steveandjody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Great place to come and relax. Winthrop's river's resort is complete with Cabins looking right over the river, with hot tubs on the decks. The town is friendly, with Querky shops and great offbeat restaurants!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TheGrieseFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

The cabin had everything we needed and was in a great location for the North Cascades.
The back deck was located right over the riverbank, and the hot tub was great! We felt better knowing the chemicals were checked daily. Wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.9 km away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
1 km away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
481 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
412 reviews
1.9 km away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
165 reviews
5.1 km away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Resort

Address: 115 Riverside Ave, Winthrop, WA 98862-9806
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Winthrop
Price Range: €94 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River's Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to River's Edge Resort, a unique lodging experience, located Downtown in the Old Western town of Winthrop, Washington.Tucked in along the Chewuch River, our One, Two and Three-Bedroom Riverside Chalets feature private, deck hot tubs with river views, well-appointed kitchens, laundry, dining and spacious living rooms with 42" flat-screen televisions.On the same property, but not along the river we offer, One-Bedroom Cozy Cabins featuring private, outdoor hot tubs, kitchenettes, dining and comfortable living rooms with 37" flat-screen televisions.We have been Welcoming guests since 1996 and have made many, many wonderful friends. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, River's Edge Resort hopes to be your first lodging choice when visiting Winthrop, Washington.River's Edge Resort is a 2015 TripAdvisor, "Certificate of Excellence" award recipient ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your River's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing