We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
5
19
8
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
19
8
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagessaunacabinrefrigeratorac
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I guess the cabins are good but look at a room always before you decide. My room was ok for 60$
I wouldnt pay more than 65. The owners are burnt out. But this place is ok overall. I stopped down at some of the other cheap motels at the other end of town and they were dives. I would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank jerry i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Biggest problem. NO HOT WATER for a shower! We were a party of 6 so had two rooms, one for a family of four, was basic with 2 double beds & bathroom, not even a coffee pot. The other two had a queen bed, sofa, chairs, kitchen fully equipped for 6. Hard to believe, but the basic 2 double beds cost quite a bit more money than the other better room which could also easily sleep four.
The person in the office was unfriendly & gruff, we all felt as though we were a problem, an inconvenience, in the way & disturbing her. She did not seem to like people at all, and about the worst personality for such a job.
In the morning, one of the 6 of us had the first shower which was lukewarm, this was at about 7.45 a.m. by the end the water turned icy cold. We went to the office to ask why and how or where we could get hot water for the rest of us to shower, We were told, by the surly person behind the desk that too many people were showering and the tank had run out!! This is a motel!! One that has been there years! People pay to stay there AND expect to shower, particularly when we'd paid over $100 for the 'privilege' of staying in a less than average room!! We were told to wait for the water to warm up, which would 'probably be sometime this morning' Obviously this was unacceptable as we wanted to get going. As it was of the 6 of us, only one got a cool shower, the rest of us couldn't stand the icy cold water, and I mean icy! When we asked it at the very least we could get a partial refund for the real inconvenience we were told absolutely not.
The Idle-a-while has no ice machine, we had to ask for ice at the office, & were told there may not be any, we actually had to ask her to check as she obviously had no intention of getting up. It was given grudgingly, and we had a hard time getting a second small container full. We were made to feel like naughty children asking for something we really shouldn't have or expect. It was ICE people!! We'd paid a great deal to stay there, more than our rooms were worth and ice, especially in hot weather is an expectation. We didn't need much, we weren't filling a cooler.
Our entire experience staying here was marred, we'd been in over 100 degree heat, we not only wanted a shower for ourselves, but for anyone we were going to come in contact with!! The expression 'you get what you pay for' did not apply at the Idle-a-while, had we paid half of what we did we'd have still felt the same, everything about the place had us feeling far from Idling-any-time-at-all. We will not be returning and of course, will not recommend it to anyone. There are plenty of places to stay that are far nicer for far less money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This is right on the Cascade loop in Twisp, WA and is popular with motorcyclists. The buildings are older but clean and quiet. Beds are comfy and the rates are reasonable. The location is walking distance to the "downtown" with a great restaurant right across the bridge.

Room Tip: They give discounts to AAA members.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This place is a great place to stay in the budget category. AAA and AARP rates, plenty of ice, an outdoor BBQ for your use and an indoor pool. Clean, quiet (even though the highway is very close), located a ten minute walk from a nice pub. What's not to like?

I have no complaints at all and was surprised to read other reviews complaining of the rudeness of the staff. I've stayed here many times (at least five) and have never had anything but a nice interaction with the staff.

Oh, yeah, they like dogs and allow them in the room. I'm not sure if they charge extra or not, but your doggie will love all of the grass in front of the motel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tominseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This was a last minute booking on Labor Day Weekend. The check in staff were friendly and efficient. The cabin wasn't luxurious but was very cute and charming. There were two beds, a double and a twin, which were reasonably comfortable if a little tight for two people around 6 feet tall. The bathroom was adequate with just a shower stall but there was plenty of hot water. The little kitchen was charming even though the refrigerator was in the living room. The air conditioner worked fine. There was a nice parking space out front and it was very quiet.

Not a four star hotel by any stretch of the imagination, but it was a nice place to stop for the night for the right price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews