We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
106
107
32
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
107
32
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking garage glass museum breakfast selection free breakfast great pillows would stay here again pacific ave industrial area nice hotel within walking distance king suite the wi fi yogurt breakfast room great room convenient location front desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Excellent sized suites where our family had loads of room. breakfast was good, swimming pool was clean, easy access to city museums. There is a parking charge though hence the 4 star. was not aware that you had to pay for parking. Excellent staff and clean rooms. other surprise is that they don't make the 3 rd. bed for you like they do in the UK. excellent laundry.

Room Tip: Alot of noise from Police and emergancy vehicles all night long.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zarugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you for your review. We apologize the couple of hiccups you came across your time with us. We do appreciate you as our guest and always feel welcome to call our front desk to have your bed made and we will be happy to do so. We wish you safe travels in your future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Overall good stay! Staff and customer service of this hotel was great and very cooperative. There are two examples which clearly show that the staff at this hotel really cared for their guests. First, when I bought the ice cream cones from the pantry downstairs. We did not feel like eating it that night and kept it in the freezer. Next day, when I took out the cones, found that the ice cream inside the cone was melted. We found out that the freezer was not working and went downstairs to tell the staff at the reception if we could get the new ice creams. She smiled and said, "You can keep these back and take new ice creams." Second, during breakfast we told our server that we don't eat sausage gravy and sausage as it contains pork. She served turkey sausages especially for us. It was really good to know that they had back up options for guests who had dietary restrictions on pork and beef.

Having said that, there were few issues with the stay. My room did not have a spacious desk and lamp. There was no exhaust in the bathroom. Freezer of my room's refrigerator was not effective and finally, there was no microwave in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Iamtraveler12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

This Holiday Inn Express is at the edge of downtown Tacoma. The near vicinty of the hotel is indeed not extremely attracive and I doubt you will enjoy the view from your room but walk one or two blocks towards the city center and you get a different feeling.
It’s an OK hotel if you’re goal is to visit the different museums. If your main destination is Point Defiance Park (which is the nicest part of Tacoma anyway) , you should probably consider the Silver Cloud Inn at the waterfront.

The HIE has a large car park which is convenient but it comes at a cost.
Our room was clean, big enough and … that’s it. No complaints but also nothing to be excited of.
Keep in mind that the railway is also close by and you probably will wake up early by the sound of trains which are constantly honk their horns.

Breakfast is included in the rate but (being European) it was strange to notice that in 2018, cutlery, dishes, cups, bowls,… were still made from disposable materials and thrown in the garbage bin. From a global hotel chain, I simply expect a better job. Especially as they claim to be sustainable and concerned by the environment

Being a Holiday Inn Express, there’s no bar in the hotel but if you’re looking for a great place to eat and drink something during the evening, I could recommend The Swiss at the corner of Jefferson Ave & S 19 Street, or the Steel Creek bar and restaurant at Broadway. Both are at walking distance from the hotel.

Overall, OK-ish experience but looking back to our 2 day visit of Tacoma, a hotel closer to Point Defiance would have suited us better.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Christof V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you for taking time to leave us feedback. We use feedback such as yours to continuously making changes and improve our hotel for all our guests. We appreciate your visit with us and we do wish you safe travels in your future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel for the night after a long haul flight as it is not too far away from the airport but still not really next to it. The immediate surroundings of the hotel are a bit shabby. Negative points compared to other hotels of this brand are the payed parking garage and the shower with only one setting. But apart from that the rooms are fine, they have extremely comfortable beds and a nice breakfast.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank muhkuh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Thank you for your review. I apologize for your experience for us being not too close to the airport. We do appreciate you as our guest and we hope you have safe travels in your future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

My family of 4 recently stayed here 7 nights. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. I especially appreciated the 2 “breakfast ladies” as my 6-year old referred to them. They were cheerful and kept everything well-stocked even during the busiest rush. They were kind to my kids and even made excellent suggestions on fun places for the kids to visit.

Our room was clean and beds were comfortable!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sarahbear8301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews