We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The simple things”
Review of Hotel Ruby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ruby
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2017

What's with the all the bad reviews on this place? My wife and I came to Spokane to see a concert at the Knitting factory. It is for that reason I chose this hotel; The concert venue and the Ruby are quite literally across the street from one another. It is indeed a simple place to lounge and slumber, but really what more does one need? To reserve a room at this establishment the attraction undoubtedly lies in the location. It is central to the entertainment district of the city, it is nestled deep in the heart of spokane and I must say it is not an ugly heart, but a heart abound with life and food and shops to name a few. To stay here at the Ruby you must know why you are staying here. Is it because it is cheap? that's viable but there are other cheap places to stay. Is it because you simply stumbled upon it thinking nothing else of it, expecting things that are not to be expected when trying to find solitude or enchantment, or extravagance, or luxury and so on? Hotel Ruby is just what it needs to be and where it needs to be. It's simple and that is sometimes just what we need.
Looking for a place to stay because you wish to walk or stumble your way to bed after a concert or performance of sorts? Then this is your place. The staff is friendly, and the rooms are clean. You will have no trouble finding nourishment, the eateries are bountiful in the area. Shopping is less than a stone's throw and not at any time did we feel unsafe or unwelcome, when strolling the streets late at night.
Heed this Review trip advisors and advisees, it's the simple things that we need to appreciate, and I appreciate Hotel Ruby. You should too!

Room Tip: Being the type of Hotel/motel this is, I chose a room on the top floor as to the possibility of foot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anny G, Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Wow, spot on! That's exactly what we are trying to be - simple, clean and friendly! Thank you for summing it all up so well. We are really grateful for this kind review and hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, the Hotel Ruby Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2017

My family had the suite here and we enjoyed our stay. Close to many bars, restaurants and the shopping mall. They even have bikes you can rent! Parking is tight, so be prepared to park at Ruby 2 which is about a 2 block walk from this hotel. We would come back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ryanfabro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anny G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Ryanfabro,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Ruby. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warmest Regards,
Hotel Ruby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

One of the few good things about this hotel is the bar. I was feeling under the weather and was able to get a hot toddy to help me feel better before bed. The elevator is a death trap I utilized since I was feeling too ill for stairs.

My room was decorated with a veneer of filth that extended from the walls to the dirty baseboards. The toilet resembled a fixture from an elementary school bathroom and the 1990s clock radio and cheap bedside lamps need USB ports. The first night I was in bed, I thought the pillows smelled dirty. I dismissed the stink pillows since I knew I didn't feel well. I slept with my socks on because I didn't want my bare feet touching the floor.

Night two, I did not return early enough to get a parking spot and had to park across the street. Parking at Hotel Ruby's "overflow parking" at their other location was not an option; I was NOT walking back two blocks alone after dark. Around midnight, my neighbors were so loud I complained to the front desk, but since my room was located near the building's front the street and bar noises were unavoidable. I confirmed the pillows stank like greasy hair. Ironically, "Hotel California" blared from an outdoor speaker somewhere nearby.

The only redeeming experience of night three at Hotel Ruby was realizing it was the final night of my stay. The Friday night street noise was unbearable. For some reason the front desk allowed two drunk women, Amber and Tiffany, to argue in on the sidewalk in front of the bar until well after 1 am. Amber was upset because Tiffany wasn't as attentive to their friendship as she should be-- I know this because I heard the whole thing as clearly as if the duo were in my room. Amber and Tiffany's relationship was as malodorous as the pillows on the bed.

If another trip to Spokane is in my future, I will not stay at Hotel Ruby. However, I am confident wherever I do stay, I will still smell Hotel Ruby's pillows from miles away.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anny G, Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

We are sorry to hear that you were feeling under the weather during your stay. We are glad the Sapphire Lounge helped you before bed with a comforting hot toddy. The bathrooms in our rooms are recently remodeled and we continue to remodel our rooms. Cleanliness is our highest priority, and we are very proud of our housekeeping team. Our custom beds and clean linens help our guests feel comfortable during their stay. We wish you the best Holly B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

I gave two stars because the room is clean and the location is good. I would have never picked a room here had I known the doors were on the outside of the building. There's no safe in the room. The walls are so thin that I got woken up every night by the person snoring so loud in the next room over. I would not stay here again. I'm shocked that they dressed up and old motel and put the name hotel on it.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Normajn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anny G, Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

We love our location and are very proud of our cleanliness. Providing personal service and fulfilling the needs of our guests is our top priority. Hotel Ruby offers a mini fridge and microwave in each room; complimentary WiFi is also provided. We offer the best parking price in the downtown area, and a complimentary continental breakfast in the morning for our guests. To end your night, the Sapphire Lounge is another great amenity we have that offers light dinner fare and great drinks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Stayed for one night. Excellent downtown location. Cool retro motor-court vibe. Nice artwork throughout. Clean, comfortable rooms with unique décor and a great TV. Easy walking to restaurants. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Iyamapirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anny G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ruby, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Iyamapirate,

Thank you for taking the time to write a few kinds about your stay! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything. We look forward to hosting you again!

Warmest Regards,
Hotel Ruby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.2 km away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#14 of 46 in Spokane
469 reviews
0.1 km away
The Montvale Hotel
The Montvale Hotel
#11 of 46 in Spokane
147 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
0.2 km away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
0.2 km away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby

Address: 901 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Spokane
#11 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#18 Business Hotel in Spokane
Price Range: €59 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District, directly across the street from the historic Bing Crosby Theater, Knitting Factory Concert House and Fox Theater. A few blocks from the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. 3 Blocks from Riverfront Park and Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Steps away from downtown's finest restaurants and shopping. Short drive to area hospitals including Shriner's Children's Hospital, Deaconess and Sacred Heart. This downtown Spokane hotel offers continental breakfast, free wireless internet, bicycles and on-site laundry. Dogs are welcome for an additional fee, on-site parking $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spokane
Spokane Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing