We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent despite the stairs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Yes, if you're on the third floor you have two sets of steep stairs. But oh so worth it (maybe the rooms on the other floors are as nice, the top was all that was available when we made our reservation). We were surprised when we walked in, it was a suite, with a living area and separate bedroom. Plenty of room. Comfortable living area sofa and chairs, full kitchen with pots and pans and dishes, and a dining table for two set with mats and napkins. And a lovely bed in the bedroom. The place is old Victorian, but has been renovated in a good way, keeping the Victorian feel, but with the addition of nice fixtures in the bathroom, including a good venting fan, and LOTS of outlets for recharging today's phones and computers and other things we carry around with us on our vacations. Be sure to order your breakfast the night before. We felt very decadent having our breakfast delivered to our door and eating in our pajamas; we don't even do that at home. There's a lovely garden out back that we didn't even see until the next day. Close enough that you can walk to everything in town. Don't let the outside looks deceive you, it was not at the top of my list when I started making reservations, but it should have been. They do have off-street parking next door.

Room Tip: If upstairs, just take what you need for overnight in a small bag, leave the rest in the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GrayRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, Owner at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Grayranch,

Thank you for your kind 5-star review. We are so happy that you enjoyed all of our amenities and the location of the Bishop Hotel in the Down Town Historic District where everything is in walking distance.

We look forward to a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed staying here. The staff were very friendly and entering the main part of the hotel was like stepping back in time. There was a continental breakfast delivered to the room which was basic, but very nice. The beds were very comfy. I would definitely return.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank sdrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, Owner at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for your 4-star review and we are pleased that you enjoyed our amenities and decor.

We hope to welcome you back on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This hotel has character. And it has amenities. They obviously upgraded and older location. It has plenty of outlets, a kitchenette, etc. It kept the Victorian, European theme, however. It is in a good location and was able to walk around town to the shops and restaurants. It also has close parking, which made for easy in and out.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avianacres3rjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, Owner at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Avian Acres,
Thank you for your kind 5-star review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our amenities and our location within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants.

We hope that you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Love this hotel. Its over 100 years old. Rooms are larger than expected and have full kitchens. 1 block off of Water St. so pretty quiet. Has its own parking lot. They will provide breakfast if you notify the night before.

Beware: if you have bad knees, there is no elevator and the stairs are fairly steep.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has the best views but the stairs are steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, Owner at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear James,
Thank you for your kind 5-star review. We do have two rooms on the lobby level or try to stay on the 2nd rather than the 3rd floor

Thank you again for staying at the Bishop and we hope to see you on a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

This is a very nice hotel. Be aware that there is no elevator and the 3rd floor is a bit steep. Room was very nice and roomy, newer TV, great kitchen setup with a small fridge a working stove with oven. Small but functional bathroom. Bedroom is small and would benefit from some rearranging. The mattress was VERY soft, needs to be replaced. We both had aching backs after 2 nights sleeping on the bed. The breakfast - touted as delivered to your door in a basket turns out to be instant oatmeal, a tiny container of orange juice and either a muffin or bagel. For the prices at this hotel, they could do a whole lot better without a lot of effort. Front desk folks were efficient but not terribly friendly. Will probably see what other hotels have to offer in the area on our next trip.

Room Tip: Top floor is pretty quiet but be prepared to hike up 3 flights of stairs. Pack light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, Owner at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Anansi,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the mattress not being to your expectations.
We do not have a kitchen at the Bishop so we bring in the best products we can find to fill our baskets and to offer a selection to our guests.

We hope that you will visit us again and give us a second chance. Try the granola or pumpkin cream cheese muffins on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.3 km away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
274 reviews
2.8 km away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
328 reviews
0.3 km away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
2.2 km away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
181 reviews
0.9 km away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Address: 714 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5718
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: €119 - €164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bishop Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing