We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
222
121
34
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
222
121
34
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast king suite breakfast delivered picnic basket microwave popcorn no elevator complimentary breakfast basket gas fireplace second floor steep stairs small kitchenette bagels each morning old building within walking distance shops and restaurants fitness center
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed staying here. The staff were very friendly and entering the main part of the hotel was like stepping back in time. There was a continental breakfast delivered to the room which was basic, but very nice. The beds were very comfy. I would definitely return.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank sdrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, Owner at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for your 4-star review and we are pleased that you enjoyed our amenities and decor.

We hope to welcome you back on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This hotel has character. And it has amenities. They obviously upgraded and older location. It has plenty of outlets, a kitchenette, etc. It kept the Victorian, European theme, however. It is in a good location and was able to walk around town to the shops and restaurants. It also has close parking, which made for easy in and out.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avianacres3rjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, Owner at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Avian Acres,
Thank you for your kind 5-star review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our amenities and our location within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants.

We hope that you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Love this hotel. Its over 100 years old. Rooms are larger than expected and have full kitchens. 1 block off of Water St. so pretty quiet. Has its own parking lot. They will provide breakfast if you notify the night before.

Beware: if you have bad knees, there is no elevator and the stairs are fairly steep.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has the best views but the stairs are steep.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, Owner at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear James,
Thank you for your kind 5-star review. We do have two rooms on the lobby level or try to stay on the 2nd rather than the 3rd floor

Thank you again for staying at the Bishop and we hope to see you on a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

This is a very nice hotel. Be aware that there is no elevator and the 3rd floor is a bit steep. Room was very nice and roomy, newer TV, great kitchen setup with a small fridge a working stove with oven. Small but functional bathroom. Bedroom is small and would benefit from some rearranging. The mattress was VERY soft, needs to be replaced. We both had aching backs after 2 nights sleeping on the bed. The breakfast - touted as delivered to your door in a basket turns out to be instant oatmeal, a tiny container of orange juice and either a muffin or bagel. For the prices at this hotel, they could do a whole lot better without a lot of effort. Front desk folks were efficient but not terribly friendly. Will probably see what other hotels have to offer in the area on our next trip.

Room Tip: Top floor is pretty quiet but be prepared to hike up 3 flights of stairs. Pack light!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, Owner at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Anansi,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the mattress not being to your expectations.
We do not have a kitchen at the Bishop so we bring in the best products we can find to fill our baskets and to offer a selection to our guests.

We hope that you will visit us again and give us a second chance. Try the granola or pumpkin cream cheese muffins on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Port Townsend is one of the best preserved Victorian Era port towns in America. If you like that time period, you will love the town and especially love this hotel. The building dates back to the 1800s and in fact the East side of the building still has the name of the cigar company that owned it back then. The inside is just as Victorian as the outside and the decor is awesome. Lots of photographs and furniture in the hallways from that Era. The only problem is that there were no elevators in the 1800 so this hotel doesn't have one either!

Decor in your room is just as good, yet the room functions just like a modern hotel. Microwave (with free microwave popcorn on the 1st floor), coffee maker, refrigerator, cable TV, WiFi, nice bathroom, etc. Our room had a modern heater, but the East side may have a fireplace (our room was on the west side but the receptionist said something about a fireplace when we came in and I saw some chimneys on the East side of the roof). So the atmosphere of the place is incredible.

Even better is the beautiful private garden in the back. There is a secluded gazebo that is surrounded by trees and plants, but it has LED lights that can make it brightly lit at night should you want to go out on a cool summer night.

Tip - ask for the 1st floor (No elevators) as there are only 2 rooms at that level. We stayed in #25, but I would imagine that #26 would be just as good - it may even have a fireplace.

Room Tip: 1st floor is easiest to go in/out as well as to go out to the garden
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nidan196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, Owner at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for your 5-star review. We are pleased that you enjoyed all of our amenities, except for the stairs of course. Yes suite 26 on the ground floor does have a fireplace and is very cozy as are our other suites on the upper floors.

The gazebo in the back gardens has become a welcoming place for guests to relax and chat with other guests and our doggie guests also enjoy the gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews