We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
27
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
5
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

With full disclosure, I've worked on projects for Dave Page, the proprietor of the Lodge. But I will tell you the King suite is every bit as nice as the best hotels on Orcas island, if not nicer. The room is brand new. Hardwood floors with supple asian rugs around the huge king size bed. Down feather bed and loads of pillows made it firm, but very comfortable. I tend to move around while I sleep and Wendy said she never woke up once.

The slade tile bathroom is huge. And a nice touch is the high, wide sliding glass window that you can peek out of while showering. The view is into a nice green space, surrounded by Doug firs, and Backen ferns.

The room has plenty of storage for our hiking gear and backpacks. And unlike some hotel rooms, there isn't a tight hall or crowded area anywhere.

There's a six foot + length leather couch, again feather/down filled, that's warm and so large I could stretch out and relax on it. The chair is similarly comfortable. The room was so comfortable we decided to return to the Lodge to make our plans with a bottle of wine and kicking back on the couch.

Its a short walk to the corner market, and they've got just about everything.

Overall outstanding room, one of the finest. The fact that the lodge has bunk rooms downstairs made me consider a longer vacation on the Island and bringing kids along, where they could stay in the bunk rooms. Can't beat the price $35 for bunk and a deal for the King Suite.

Definitely recommend the king suite for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for the King suite, if its available. But any room is clean, and the location, just a 15 minute walk from Eastsound, or 5 minutes from Crescent beach is perfect for us.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllIslandTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Had a great three week stay at Bracken Fern, while transitioning to a new home on the island! The place is comfy, clean, accessible & relaxing! I would have had a tough time moving to this island without this place. Dave the proprietor, is a super friendly guy & much beloved by the island locals.

They have private rooms & 2/4 bunk hostel style rooms, communal restrooms/showers & decent sized equipped kitchen. Also a couple cozy communal living room spaces with a tv & tranquil fish tank. It's conveniently located mid-island between the town of Eastsound & Moran State Park. Near decent cycling & kayaking options.

If you're short term, backpacking or looking for a affordable get away, this place can't be beat!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wizard1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

For newcomers to the San Juans, or residents seeking a spare bedroom for friends and relatives, I heartily recommend this centrally located Orcas Island property. The Eastsound community welcomes you with great restaurants featuring locally grown cuisine and ingredients. Unique shopping opportunities showcase local artisans. The picturesque, seaside atmosphere invites leisurely walks and sightseeing within a tribal preserve (Madrona Point), and natural environments include Moran State Park and Mt. Constitution. For all age groups, you can't go wrong at this friendly, affordable accommodation. Whether you charter a plane or boat, or book a commercial flight, the seasonal offerings are a traveler's dream. Eastsound Airport welcomes small craft. Served by the famous Washington State Ferry System which serves the islands. Seasonal shuttles or a cab service may be arranged to the Anacortes Ferry Boat landing from Sea-Tac Airport, as well as on Orcas Island to Eastsound Village.

Room Tip: Basic and comfortable accommodations throughout property
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merrill44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I have stayed at the Bracken Fern Lodge on two different occasions - one long term, the other short term. Both times I found the place clean and comfortable. The rooms are nice and the shared kitchen and bathroom(s) are all clean. I would definitely stay here again. Also, the owner/manager is very nice and helpful!!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank Orcas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle kamer zijn mooi en netjes. Prijzen zijn afhankelijk van grootte en locatie, maar ze zijn allemaal erg goed.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews