We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average only because of the price”
Review of Motel 6 Clarkston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 Clarkston
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clarkston
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Motel 6 is what Motel 6 is - less amenities (including cleanliness) for less for money. If you want a quality motel in Lewiston it will cost you at least twice as much and for many of us who just want a place to sleep for a night... that is extravagant.

This is an older hotel and the rooms show it. There was a strong odor when we first entered the room - a combination of age, smoke, and chemicals. Undoubtedly, all the rooms have been smoked in at one time - non-smoking rooms a recent innovation. Only renovation and strict protection of the non-smoking designation will solve this problem.

The room was large and had both a microwave and refrigerator in it. The heater/AC was in good working order, but unfortunately, did not have a fan-only setting, which is a feature I like to combat noise. There was a table with two chairs plus a desktop with chair. Unfortunately, the microwave was situated on the desktop directly under the mirror and in front of the chair. Not the most convenient arrangement. It could probably have been moved if you wanted to move furniture and possibly reroute electrical cords.

Despite the low price of the room and some pluses, there were cons. Being old, the room had some ground-in dirt. The carpet needed a shampoo and stretching to get wrinkles out. Better yet, replacement. There were stains on the ceiling in the bathroom and the kind of dirt that gets set with age in cracks. The bathtub, sink and toilet had been scrubbed so many times that the enamel and painted finishes were worn off in places. The floor creaked loudly. The toilet seat was sized for children...

The TV was an old tube-type and quite small by modern standards. Sound and picture not very good. Linen and blankets were clean but nearly threadbare. Blankets had complete holes in them.

There is a policy of replacing soiled sheets and towels only once in three days. The policy card said to hang up towels that you did not need replaced. We had a towel that got wet, so left it on the side of the tub rather than throwing it on the floor, expecting it to be replaced. It wasn't. When we asked the Manager about it, we were told that Staff were told absolutely not to replace towels that were not on the floor. So much for written policy.

There is coffee in the lobby at any time, but it was not good coffee. There are are some vending machines for snacks and drinks. There is a good Wi-Fi connection at least on the North end.

There is some road noise and considerable room to room noise and running water noise. For an hour or so one afternoon, a barking dog in one of the rooms was an annoyance. Sleeping on the ground floor, expect a lot of walking around noise from upstairs.

The lawn had not been mowed for weeks!

Pleasant Staff who try to solve your problems if you ask. But of course, it would be better if there weren't problems. I give this hotel a 3 rating at the price I paid which was $44.36 including tax. Basically, the place should be renovated. Do that while maintaining the current price and that rating would go up.

Room Tip: The North end is probably quietest and you may be better on the second floor because the old constru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tuars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Reserved our room online even after reading some pretty negative reviews. We were given a nice room(actually an apartment) with two separate bedrooms, kitchenette, washer, dryer, garbage disposal, dishwasher, sofa, big flat screen TV in the living area, old fat TV in the bedroom. There were definitely some things in the room that needed repair. A kitchen cabinet door was missing. Counter needed work in one area. But our biggest concern always is whether or not the room is clean. It was very clean. We enjoyed our stay at Motel 6. There is a restaurant on one side of the motel and a McDonalds on the other side. Albertsons with a pharmacy is a very short walk. All the staff we met were very nice.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank asialover24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I booked the Motel 6 online because it was one of only a few places that had rooms for Mother's Day weekend available to book online. I checked the TA reviews before booking and decided that it would be a decent place to stay the night based on the reviews I had read.

BIG MISTAKE. We checked in early, which wasn't a problem. The staff checked us in with speed and off we were off to our room. On the way to our upper floor non-smoking room we passed a room with a couple of men inside - they had a smoking room and had the door open. There were bed sheets strewn about and prescription medication bottles littered the windowsill. We passed them quickly and continued on our way up the stairs. We had to squeeze by the maids cleaning cart to get to our room. She didn't even offer to move out of the way. We slid our key into the door and entered the room to a HORRIBLE MUSTY/MOLDY/SMOKY smell. I couldn't even breath without coughing because the smell was so horrendous. We checked for bedbugs (there weren't any, which is always a plus) and sat our things on the bed. The room was small, to say the least. The TV was the old tube-style, the dresser was distressed, and the bedding was VERY outdated. The bathroom had hairs on the hand towels, the door was scratched up, the tub was dirty. We had an adjoining room (not by request) and the lock on the adjoining room's door was all scratched up like someone had tried (and maybe succeeded) in picking the lock.

My husband and I immediately got on the phone to try to find another hotel to stay at, as we did not feel clean or safe staying that this dump. Especially not for the rate we paid. If the rate were $29/night I would have expected old and dirty and trashy. But not for over $90/night. We didn't have much luck on the phone due to the weekend being EXTREMELY busy with a few college graduations + a couple of concerts in town. We decided that we'd rather drive the hour and a half home at 11:00 pm than stay in that motel another second.

We gathered our things and headed straight for the front desk. I half expected the staff to give us a hard time when we asked for a refund. But surprisingly she took back the card I paid with and issued a refund without any hassle. It was like she had done it time and time before...which I am sure she has. We had our refund receipt and were on our way.

Never again will we stay at this Motel 6. I understand if you're not expecting much that's what you'll get...but for over $90/night we expected more than what that motel has to offer. We went down the street into Lewiston and took a chance at the Guest House Inn - we thought we'd see if they had anymore rooms available and they did - for LESS than the Motel 6 rate! We were upgraded to a King Room for FREE and we were on the third floor. The room was updated and the bed was super comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiteOne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Motel 6 Clarkston provided a reasonable sleep, and the price was certainly right. The staff was very friendly and efficient. And the location is nice; there’s a huge Albertson’s right next door and it’s easy walking distance (at least in fair weather) across the bridge to the historic part of downtown Lewiston. But the property was noisy; most of the other guests seemed to be longer-term guests who knew one another and partied together at night. The walls were thin. And the bed linens felt worn and unpleasant, though they appeared perfectly clean. I got what I paid for, but wished I had spent the money for one step up in quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The good: The price is better than some of the other local alternatives. We reserved early and arrived between 11 PM and midnight, and that was no problem. Although they don't give you breakfast, there are some muffins and other things for sale at the front desk, and the prices were not bad. There is also a supermarket and coffee shop across the street on the other side of a parking lot. There is a beautiful park along the Snake river, great for walking and jogging, and that is only a few hundred feet from the font desk. Our kids did enjoy the pool a lot during out two-day stay.
The bad: They are a bit understaffed, if you need anything during the daytime you might be waiting a while. You are likely to encounter cigarette smoke, especially at the entry ways to second-floor rooms (due to rising smoke from first-floor smokers). Noise from other guests will vary, but that is true anywhere. Our experience was quiet. Cleanliness: Adequate, but not great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarkston
0.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
1.2 km away
Best Western Rivertree Inn
2.2 km away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Lewiston
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 13 in Lewiston
120 reviews
3.2 km away
Red Lion Hotel Lewiston
Red Lion Hotel Lewiston
#5 of 13 in Lewiston
363 reviews
4.4 km away
Hampton Inn Lewiston
Hampton Inn Lewiston
#1 of 13 in Lewiston
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Clarkston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Clarkston

Address: 222 Bridge St, Clarkston, WA 99403-1927
Region: United States > Washington > Clarkston
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clarkston
Price Range: €43 - €52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Motel 6 Clarkston 1*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Clarkston WA is located off US 12 / Bridge Street. Restaurants are within walking distance and shops are nearby. Canyon and river tours are within 1.5 miles. Enjoy our indoor heated pool. We offer free Wi-Fi and have newly renovated modern rooms! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Six Clarkston
Clarkston Motel Six
Clarkston Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing