We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheney
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Helpful, friendly staff”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We booked arrived late hoping to find a room. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room clean and large. I agree with other reviewers beds and pillows not particulary comfortable - but this is just personal taste. Nice and quiet. Breakfast good - as per Holiday Inn Express. Would definately stay there again if we were passing through

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgefromtamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    45
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
60
21
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Basically, this is the only place to stay in Cheney as the other motel is right next to the train tracks and extremely noisy day and night ..
The hotel itself is fairly new and clean.As stated before it can be pricey for a Holiday Inn.
Internet connection is very poor - keeps cutting out continually.
Breakfast is included in price of stay and is pretty standard fare.
We will stay there again but as earlier stated their really is no competition.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oppem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Recently my mother and I stayed in the Holiday Inn Express in Cheney, Washington. During that stay they put us next to a family that had a baby who cried all night and then woke us up at 6:30 am crying again. Now I know some of you are saying...so, call the front desk! change rooms or something! --Well that would be great, but they already told us they did not have any other rooms when we checked in. The next morning I said something to the clerk at the front desk. Her response was “oh yeah, that family stayed an extra night because their kid is sick.” I asked if she knew the room had an adjoining door? She said, “Oh yeah we know where all the adjoining doors are.” I asked her why if she knew that there was a sick child and an adjoining door they would put us in there? She said she would let the Manager know and they would call us.

Well she called and told my mom that she only lived 7 minutes away from the hotel, and that she would have come up there herself to tell the people to make the baby be quiet. She would not do anything to fix this and said have a good day.

Short of clubbing the baby in the head, I have no idea how the General Manager was going to fix the crying. She could have given my mother something as compensation, but she just chose to be a crab about it. Thanks for nothing Cheney General Manager of the Holiday Inn Express, $112.00 not spent well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NeverAgainHolidayInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

After a trip to Silverwood and Coeur D'Alene, we did Spokane for a day. Wanting to get a bit of a jump on the trip back home, we chose to stay here in Cheney at the HIE&S for 1 night. Traveling with kids 12 and under, we were looking for a hotel that had "suites"... a separate living and sleeping area. At other hotels, this generally means that there is a separate room for sleeping. At HIE&S hotels, the areas are separate, but there is not an actual door.

We found the hotel staff to be extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. We were warmly greeted with a smile at the front desk at check-in. Our suite was spacious and comfortable with two large queen beds, a comfortable living area with sofa/hideaway bed and big leather chair. Nice! The beds were really comfy and we all slept great.

The pool and hot tub were easily accessible, clean and well lit. The kids had a blast! The fitness room had a nice selection of equipment that were well maintained.

Breakfast was the usual hotel fare, but it certainly hit the spot. What is it about having a bowl of Fruit Loops on vacation? Just have to do it. Coffee, milk, juices, muffins, cinnamon rolls, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, dry cereal, oatmeal, pancake machine, etc. We didn't leave hungry.

This hotel is located near convenient shopping and local restaurants. For example, there was a Safeway and Subway in view from the hotel. Staff at the front desk directed us to Immix Fusion Restaurant in downtown Cheney (122 College Ave), which did not disappoint.

Overall, it was a really nice stay. The rate was what I expected for Cheney. We would recommend this hotel to friends and would stay here again ourselves if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GK360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Okay call me spoiled but I wouldn't want to spend another night here simply because I enjoy comfy beds and down pillows and for some reason this hotel doesn't have either! Very nice staff. Pool is so cloudy I wouldn't get near it if I were you. Nice exercise room though... Can't wait to go home!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheney
15.8 km away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#3 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
13.3 km away
Best Western Plus Peppertree Airport Inn
13.6 km away
Ramada at Spokane Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Spokane Airport
13.7 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Spokane Airport
15.2 km away
Stratford Suites
Stratford Suites
#2 of 3 in Airway Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area
Address: 111 Betz Road, Cheney, WA 99004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Cheney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at Our Cheney HotelYou'll find the comfort and convenience you need at our Holiday Inn Express® Cheney, WA hotel, one of the leading hotels near the Spokane International Airport. Our hotel's located at the corner of Betz Rd and Hwy 904, minutes from the Eastern Washington University and near many businesses and attractions. We have reasonable rates and a name you can trust. You can "Stay Smart." with us.Thoughtfully designed for the most distinguished business traveler, our hotel has free Wi-Fi access, a 24-hour Business Center, a Great Room for receptions & a 288-sq ft boardroom. With a location near Fairchild Air Force Base, Triumph Composite Systems and BF Goodrich, the Holiday Inn Express® Cheney, WA is the best place to stay near the Spokane International Airport.Our hotel's perfect for families as we are close to many area attractions including the Turnbull Wildlife Refuge & the John A. Finch Arboretum. Spend a day golfing at Fairways Golf Course or cheering on the Eagles at an Eastern Washington University football game. We offer and array of complimentary amenities to guarantee a good stay, including a complimentary shuttle within a 7 mile radius. Our hotel's other free amenities include a hot breakfast bar, 24-hour Fitness Center and indoor heated pool. You'll find quality, contemporary accommodations when staying with us, so make your reservation today at our Holiday Inn Express® Cheney, WA hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cheney - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Cheney - University Area
Holiday Inn Cheney
Cheney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cheney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing