We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
210
123
45
19
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
210
123
45
19
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews window seat train noise bellingham bay view room bay window soaking tub provide ear plugs gas fireplace hear trains beautiful view of the bay happy hour water view beautiful hotel third floor san juan islands fairhaven area underground parking
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Nice location, great view of the water with close proximity to the pier for walking. The restaurant was good and the beds comfortable. Bring ear plugs, a sound machine or be a heavy sleeper because it is Right by the train tracks and they run all night.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim1357, General Manager at The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Hello,

Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our hotel and restaurant. I am glad you were able to enjoy them. I hope we see you again.

Take Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We celebrated our 31st Anniversay at The Chrysalis Inn recently. We had a king room with a beautiful view of Bellingham Bay. The room was very well appointed. Highlights included the window seat which was a great place to sit at read, the two person soaking tub which also had a view of the bay, Keenan's restaurant which has a great Happy Hour and serves substantial breakfasts, and being able to walk to Fairhaven. The only drawback for us was the noise. The train noise is to be expected, but we were on the first floor next to the lobby and the outdoor patio so we had that noise as well. We booked last minute so didn't have a choice in rooms but my suggestion is to ask for a room away from the restaurant and on a higher floor. Our trip, though, was fantastic. We felt that we were gone much longer than our two nights.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank blovitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim1357, General Manager at The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Hello,

Happy Anniversary and thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the restaurant and your room. Please know that whenever possible we are happy to accommodate any room request. I hope we see you again.

Take Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We stayed here for my cousin's wedding - it's a very beautiful hotel with an excellent view of the water. However, it is a bit pricy.

Parking is very safe here however, which I appreciated. They also have a very nice restaurant with a fantastic view of the bay.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaezing_grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim1357, General Manager at The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Hello,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us and hope to see you again.

Take Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I stayed with some friends for a girls night in a double room. We only stayed for a night, and enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant below. Great location, friendly staff.

Pros:
+Rooms are generous size, gorgeous views of the bay. Lovely window seats
+Patio is great outside. We brought our own drinks and enjoyed

Cons:
-Hotel looks a little dated and beat up. You can tell too many suitcases have dinged the walls!
-A bit nickel and dime - they actually tried to charge you $2 for face wipes (the kind that usually is complimentary in a property at this price point)
-Train noise. As others point out, the trains are loud

Room Tip: Try to avoid train noise!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim1357, General Manager at The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Hello,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your visit with us. We appreciate it and will use this to improve our hotel.

Take Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

The rooms are wonderful and great views of the bay. Window seat for reading, watching the passing boats or just a nap. Wonderful Spa, happy hour on the back patio was very refreshing. Close to Fairhaven and some great restaurants. The place to stay in Bellingham.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ralph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim1357, General Manager at The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Hello,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I am happy to hear you had a nice time and we hope to see you again in the future.

Take Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews