We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
210
123
45
19
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
210
123
45
19
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews window seat train noise bellingham bay view room bay window soaking tub provide ear plugs gas fireplace hear trains beautiful view of the bay happy hour water view beautiful hotel third floor san juan islands fairhaven area underground parking
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

The hotel has very friendly helpful staff. Room had a view to the ocean with a lovely window bench for 2, clean, well supplied, spacious. Soaker tub for 2, gas fireplace. Walk along 2+ mile Boardwalk/treed trails. Had dinner and breakfast at Keenan's attached to hotel, one word delicious ok 2 words affordable. Now off to the spa which I'm confident will be just as great as the rest of our stay.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank audreyp214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim1357, General Manager at The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

HI,

Thanks so much for your stay and your great comments. We appreciate them and you. We hope to see you again soon.

Take Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

We spent Easter weekend at the inn and took advantage of the connected spa with our son and daughter-in-law. The Chrysalis is just what we had hoped it would be -- quaint and comfortable. The in-room fireplaces were a sweet and unexpected touch. The spacious rooms with the large window seat overlooked the side yard and water even though we were not expecting a water-front view. There are train tracks that run between the hotel and the water, but this only added to the overall quaint experiece for us; we did not find the train distracting or disruptive. The location of this hotel is wonderful -- a short walk down a path to the little town of Fairhaven and to connecting trails throughout the city of Bellingham proper. We enjoyed every bit of our stay here, and the friendly, accommodating staff (especially on a holiday weekend) and dog-friendly accommodations made it extra-special. We will be back!

Room Tip: If you think the train might bother you, ask for a room toward the front of the hotel/away from the water.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim1357, General Manager at The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Hi,

Thanks so much for all of your nice comments regarding our hotel. We are happy that you had a great time with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Take Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

You have it all under one roof! Welcoming employees, tranquil ambience with views of Bellingham bay from every room, happy hour, spa specials, cozy guest room with fireplace, window seat, large bathroom, robes and the nature walkway along the waterfront. The lovely community of Fairhaven is just a few blocks away, has fun shopping and cafes.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Freddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim1357, General Manager at The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Hi,

Thank you for staying with us and for all of your nice comments. I am especially happy you found our employees welcoming. I hope you are able to stay with us again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Nice hotel with stunning view of Bellingham Bay. Nice Spa too
This hotel is close to a railway track, so will hear trains passing by, from time to time.
Very close to the historic Fairhaven district, with plenty of nice restaurants and shops.
To go to the Fairhaven district by bus, go to the Bennett bus stop on State Street , a block from the hotel. Catch a WTA bus # 401 - Red Line toward Fairhaven. The fare is only $1 and a Day Pass good for 24 hours cost only $ 3. The bus leaves every 15 mins. during the day
The bus goes all the way to the Alaska Ferry Terminal and Amtrak Station, where you can catch the train to Seattle or Vancouver, BC. If you catch the train to Vancouver, you will by pass the hotel

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbyK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim1357, General Manager at The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Hello,

Thank you for visiting. We are happy that you were able to enjoy our hotel and spa and appreciate you sharing your thoughts regarding Fairhaven. Hopefully you will be able to visit again soon.

Take Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

The Chrysalis is well kept and right on the water. We were on the third floor and the trains others complain about are a non issue. Be sure to visit the bar around sunset for some great views from the spacious Windows . They advertise a happy hour but it's only happy if you get excited about a dollar discount, better deals on app.Be sure to walk the waterfront Boardwalk. The room is nicely designed with fireplace and deep open soaking tub

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Delta_Travelin_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim1357, General Manager at The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Hi,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your thoughts on our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your visit. Take care and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews