We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some really good food but....”

China Garden Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 25 Restaurants in Wise
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 February 2019 via mobile

This place has amazing food. It is a little pricey though but worth it. Has large portions so you usually end up with enough to take home for another meal. The house special shrimp(spicy is best), happy family, veggie lo mien, honey beef and their egg rolls are amazing!!! Do yourself a favor and order it to go. The cleanliness here is questionable. General cleanliness (tables & floors) is ok but the ceiling, decorations, walls and corners are gross.
They have a small buffet on Sunday til 3 I think.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank ascrappinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2019

I have enjoyed China Garden for years. It gets some bad reviews at times but I have never had an issue. I have tried many dishes there and have never been disappointed. The egg rolls are the best! I have been to many different Chinese restaurants in many states and not one could match the egg rolls at China Garden. You can make a meal out of them.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CrusierJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2018 via mobile

It seemed a bit strange to me seeing only caucasians working in a chinese restaurant. Only a blonde woman and a brown-headed lady were taking and delivering orders, no chinese in sight, unless they were in the back kitchen preparing the food.

The $5.25 lunch special is a joke. I ordered a sweet-n-sour chicken from the menu and the nothing comes with the chicken at all. The options are a choice of brown rice (no pork or chicken fried rice) or soup. There is not even an eggroll included. Plus, they're very stingy with the soy sauce. They only give you 2 packs of it and they pour the sweet-n-sour sauce all over the chicken for you instead of putting it on the side. The food tastes very good though but the portion size is small for the price you pay. They need to do better.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Hot_Toez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

My favorite is Cheng tu beef, this is only Chinese restaurant that has it that I have been to. Also, they have the very best egg rolls, I have been told that they make them fresh at least once per week. The egg drop soup is delicious.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Bernadine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

There is a good variety of Chinese food which is quite good. The food on the buffet is abundant and tasty. They have a pick yourself from sea food and they will prepare it for you. The time in line can be lengthy. They also prepare steaks the same way.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank packer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Garden Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to China Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.