We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO...JUST...NO.”
Review of Ans Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ans Inn & Suites
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Reviewed 14 October 2014

After checking a couple other hotels on a somewhat busy Saturday night, we found they had no available rooms and "America's Best Value Inn" had a room available so we decided to go there. Check-in went fine. We were given room 227. Upon opening the door and turning on the light switch(no light turned on, they had to be turned on by each fixture switch) I noticed the soiled light shades, one that was ripped from the metal that holds it in place. The carpet had several stains, the pillows were stained, and the chairs for the table were stained on the cushions. The drawers for the end tables had spills in them. The inside of the microwave was rusty. The roof had leaked at some point and the ceiling was sagging in that spot and the texture was hanging from an attempted repair. I could go on with a few more things I noticed but all of them paled in comparison to what I found while sitting on the bed. I pulled back the top blanket after a few minutes to find a damp sheet. I pulled that back to find a big circular wet spot on what appeared to be a pee pad. Beyond disgusting. I went to the office and told of what I had found. I was offered a refund since apparently there was no other available room. Since we knew there wasn't really anything else available, I just asked for clean sheets and a discount. I was informed that some people had a lengthy stay there which, to me, would be all the more reason to make sure the room was cleaned properly. I have read through all the reviews and they all seem to pretty much consistently say the same thing. Also quite consistent is the response of management to the reviews, going back years and still nothing has changed. I've stayed at some hotels/motels in my time, but nothing has come close to the conditions found here. Spend the extra $10 or $20 to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scratching2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2014

If you are looking for resort accommodations, this place won't fit the bill. But if you have been driving 10 hrs and aren't a diva about a room your eyes will be mostly closed in, pull on in. Found the place with a hotel coupon guide, they honored the coupon, no questions asked, and didn't ask for a deposit on a cash payment. Good AC and no noise. Just a place to sleep and move on with ease.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are smoking rooms. Duh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We got there after traveling all day . The room was nasty it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in 10 yrs! I called her and she showed us another room that was a little better but I still wouldn't let my grandson go in. We got our money back except for $10 charge because we washed our hands upon entering and just looking around. This place needs shut down ASAP. I am calling the board of health or somewhere tomorrow!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodigirl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinABVI, Manager at Ans Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Dear jodigirl1965,


Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I deeply regret that you had such a bad experience with us in August. Please know that we are taking corrective measures, including hiring and training new housekeepers. There is never an excuse for not being able to provide clean and comfortable rooms. We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future.


Regards,
Vic-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Winchester, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Looks nice and clean from the outside and as soon as you open door to your room that is where the nice and clean STOP.
This place was nasty. Towels were dirty, looked as if they were picked up off the floor and hung on rack. Pubic hair stuck to wash rags. Beds were nasty aswell. Pillows are yellow and dirty, sheets even worst. We slept in our clothes on top off the bed, used our coats as pillows. TV was ready to fall off stand, lamps missing light bulbs, light switches hanging out of wall. Not to mention a crack house 4 doors down, I never saw so many people (animals ) go in and out of a room before in 1 night. Sunrise we got out of there. Clearly the worst place I have ever stayed. Another visitor had money stolen from his room.

Turn around and run as fast as you can away from here

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinABVI, Manager at Ans Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Dear chad b,

I want to personally thank you for taking the time to share a review with us. We have recently purchased new pillows and linen. We are also making improvements by hiring new housekeeping staff and providing additional training. We hope that these changes will enhance the overall experience for our future travelers.


Regards,
Vic-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Winchester, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I rented a room here for the weekend. It was the nasty room I have ever stayed in. There was BLOOD STAINS on the carpet, blood on the headboard also there was blood on the picture that was hanging in the room. When asked to change rooms the attendant was rude and nasty and toldnusbif we complained about anything else we would have to leave. Very poor customer service. Also there were cockroaches in the drawers and rotten food left in the refrigerator and microwave so must not be any cleaning service either. I agree this place should not be allowed to operate under these conditions. I feel that a health inspector should make a visit to this place. I will NEVER be back

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOLPHINGIRL2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinABVI, Manager at Ans Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Dear DolphinGirl2007,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay. I am concerned about the issues you had mentioned in your review. We typically do not have the extreme issues you spoke about in your review. We inspect each room after each cleaning and am quite surprised to hear of this. Rest assured I will make every effort to prevent this from happening to other guests in the future.



Regards,
Vic-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Winchester, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winchester
4.2 km away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Winchester, VA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.7 km away
Clarion Inn & Conference Center
2.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 25 in Winchester
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ans Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ans Inn & Suites

Address: 2649 Valley Ave, Winchester, VA 22601-2625 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Winchester)
Region: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range: €32 - €58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ans Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ANS Inn & Suites of Winchester, VA is the secret of Shenandoah Valley. We offer four tastefully decorated landscaped acres, a 1,500 sq. ft. entertainment and apple-terrace dining deck and meeting room for corporate clients.. The property is conveniently located to all historic sites including George Washington's boyhood home. The home of Patsy Cline is 12 miles, Luray Caverns are 20 miles, and Summit Point Auto Racetrack is 12 miles away. We offer complimentary continental breakfast each morning and have a fabulous restaurant on premise. The downtown area is one mile from the hotel and we are centrally located only two miles from the interstate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ans Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing