We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joy for palatte and senses”
Review of Food For Thought

Food For Thought
Ranked #5 of 432 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Food For Thought is a family restaurant in Williamsburg, Virginia, that’s as engaging for the mind as it is for the senses. Surrounded by quotes and images of inventors, scientists, and social leaders, our atmosphere aims to inspire families and encourage discussion over wholesome, delicious food. Food For Thought’s menu is as diverse as the great thinkers themselves. Our diner’s choices vary from American classics, ethnic dishes, healthy vegetarian options, or one of our nightly seafood specialties. The foundation of our menu is built upon American staples like our famous Fork Tender Pot Roast, Grandma’s Meatloaf, and “fall off the bones” ribs. America grew up on these meals, and we love paying homage to our country’s past. To complement these favorites, we added some newer, more contemporary flavors and ideas like Pad Thai, Jamaican jerk chicken, flavored butters, and original vegetarian dishes. To ensure everyone finds something they love, we also provide a gluten-free menu, a kid’s menu (with healthy options!) and our “Magic 55” senior’s menu. Our food is prepared with love and served with pride. A truly wonderful meal is a combination of good food and good conversation -- so talk about the special people featured here. Talk about the contributions that these people have made to the world! Have a meaningful conversation about how everyone can be great in his or her own way.
Reviewed 16 November 2018

Beautifully decorated, attentive and gracious staff compliment a delicious and varied menu. Highly recommend Food for Thought. Will definitely go back--again and again.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hehohop, Owner at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2018

Thank you for the support, Joyce! So happy to hear you enjoyed stopping by. Can't wait till the next time you make it our way.

All the best,
Howard, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 5,064 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2018 via mobile

Loved the ambiance and creative menu. Everything we tried was fantastic. We were there for lunch. I recommend highly

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ASAPNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hehohop, Owner at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2018

I'm thrilled to see your review! So glad you were pleased with your visit. Can't wait till the next time you make it our way!

Best,
Howard, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2018

So the food was amazing and I love the menu options as well. our service was not impeccable at all. The adult drink selections were nice as well. Hopeful next time the service improves.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hehohop, Owner at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2018

It's great to hear you enjoyed the food, Dave, but we wish the service had been more impressive. We don't often see reviews like this, so I apologize if we missed the mark this time. Here's to hoping we'll make it up to you next time!

Best wishes,
Howard, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2018 via mobile

THIS is what brunch is all about! Fun, quirky theme and decor makes it fun. Service makes it feel welcoming. Food makes it worth the trip. Loved the little conversation starters and trivia on the tables, as well as the complimentary beignets!!! My husband loved the Newton omelet and I loved the granola pancakes. Wish we could brunch here every weekend.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank emilymototr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hehohop, Owner at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2018

I'm so happy you enjoyed stopping by for breakfast! From the service to the granola pancakes, I'm thrilled you enjoyed everything. Hoping you'll be back to see us again sometime!

All the best,
Howard, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2018 via mobile

We went to this restaurant based on the high TripAdvisor rating. I'm not sure why it has such great ratings. The service was good, but the food was nothing special. It was not bad, but over priced for the quality. Definitely don't plan on returning.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Beachrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hehohop, Owner at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2018

It's disappointing to see you weren't impressed with your meal. We always do what we can to prepare our food to every guest's liking but apologize if it didn't hit the spot this time. We have a lot to offer on our menu, so we hope you'll change your mind and give us another chance to find something else from our menu you'll enjoy.

All the best,
Howard, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Food For Thought also viewed

 

Been to Food For Thought? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing