We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order Sides (not meals)”

Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que
Ranked #32 of 430 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Since 1971, people have enjoyed coming to Pierce's Pitt for delicious, hickory-smoked, Tennessee-style Bar-B-Que made with "Doc" Pierce's Original Bar-B-Que Sauce. It all started when Julius C. (Doc) Pierce set out from Flat Creek, Tennessee for Virginia with his family and their prized bar-b-que sauce recipe. Once there, he settled in Williamsburg and opened Pierce's Pitt. The rest, as they say, is history. Now, wherever there's good times, good laughs and good eatin', Pierce's is often part of it. Whether it's in our restaurant, at a party or event we've catered, or when someone has bar-b-qued at home using "Doc" Pierce's Original Bar-B-Que Sauce. It's more than great food ... it's a great tradition ... one that all our customers enjoy. In fact, we like to think it's made Virginia a better place to live and visit.
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Really tasty BBQ. This is an old school order at the counter, get a number, no liquor license kind of place. Everything comes in a to go clamshell or paper bag. You eat with plastic forks, etc. Great pulled pork, great ribs, slaw and Mac and cheese all highly recommended.

After we ordered a pile of food the table next to us came in, got the whole chicken, and a couple big sides. Do this and divide it up and you've got a great meal for short money. We ended up doing this for a great take out meal later in our trip.

Basically no ambiance but food is great and service was super quick.

Thank Darrow M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, Manager at Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2016

Thank you for leaving us a 5 star review. We are happy that you enjoyed your meals and hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 343 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

It's casual dining with delicious BBQ. Reasonably priced. Be prepared to stand in line or wait for a table, but it's worth it! Popular with locals and tourists. A Williamsburg standard.

Thank LovedMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, Manager at Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2016

We appreciate you leaving us a review. We always try to keep that wait for food and tables moving just as fast as we can! Glad you enjoyed your meals!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Good southern BBQ Carolina style. Pierce's is an institution in town and people come from far and wide to eat there. The place is usually very busy, but excellently managed so the food comes out quickly. My standby is JC's special (BBQ sandwich with slaw, fries and drink). If you like Onion Rings, this is the place to get them and they can be substituted for fries.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, Manager at Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2016

Thank you for recognizing us as an institution! We as you stated have just started our 46 year in business and its our customers like you that have made us successful. Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

This was our first visit to Pierce's Pitt BBQ. We wanted to try it because the reviews were so good. We were not disappointed. Everything we ordered was tasty and hot. I would definitely recommend this place and I would definitely come back. I wish we had something like this in California!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ca1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, Manager at Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy that you found everything to your satisfaction!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

This was the second time we stopped here and was not disappointed. My bride and I shared our meals to take advantage of trying different things. The meals were fine and the staff very accommodating by answering any questions about the menu. The family atmosphere is part of the appeal. In short, great place and great food.

Thank bangorpaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, Manager at Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2016

We are happy that you made a return visit and that we did not disappoint! We appreciate you leaving us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que also viewed

 
Williamsburg, VA
Williamsburg, VA
 

Been to Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing