We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ribs!”

Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que
Ranked #30 of 421 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Since 1971, people have enjoyed coming to Pierce's Pitt for delicious, hickory-smoked, Tennessee-style Bar-B-Que made with "Doc" Pierce's Original Bar-B-Que Sauce. It all started when Julius C. (Doc) Pierce set out from Flat Creek, Tennessee for Virginia with his family and their prized bar-b-que sauce recipe. Once there, he settled in Williamsburg and opened Pierce's Pitt. The rest, as they say, is history. Now, wherever there's good times, good laughs and good eatin', Pierce's is often part of it. Whether it's in our restaurant, at a party or event we've catered, or when someone has bar-b-qued at home using "Doc" Pierce's Original Bar-B-Que Sauce. It's more than great food ... it's a great tradition ... one that all our customers enjoy. In fact, we like to think it's made Virginia a better place to live and visit.
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Great chicken, ribs, fries. The pulled poorly is a little sweet for me, but overall a good value and food BBQ. The highlight of the meal was the ribs.

Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, Manager at Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

We are glad you enjoyed your meal. Our ribs are a labor of love for our pit team and we will gladly share your comments with them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 479 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Food is amazing. We had the brisket. The meat was so moist and tender. My wife tried the pulled pork sandwich and loved it. Father in law had a bacon cheeseburger and couldn't stop raving about it. Will certainly be returning to Virginia if only to revisit this place.

Thank crcmstnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, Manager at Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

Thank you for your review and your kind words about our food. We are glad that you enjoyed your meals and hope to see again you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Pierce's has great barbecue. We visit most every time we are in Williamsburg. Their barbecue is not North Carolina style but has their own sauce which is very tasty. Quite often it is hard to find a seat, but in nice weather, there is outside tables. Pierce's is located adjacent to RT 64 and is convenient for travelers to get to.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eugene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, Manager at Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

We appreciate your comments and your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience here and hope you will come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

The woodsmoke smell tells you this place is authentic and the constant crowd tells you this is the place to get good BBQ.
Only had pulled pork and ribs. Both pretty good. No brisket sandwich combo plate which is disappointing. Decent prices for the good you get.

Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, Manager at Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

Thank your for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your pork and the ribs. We also thank you for the feedback on adding brisket to our combos. We take all feedback seriously and will look into that possibility for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Pierce's is located on the way in to town, so for us it's a great lunch stop as we drive in to town. The staff is friendly, the place is clean, and the BBQ is good. I particularly like that it's not overly smoky, it's just right for my taste. The greens today are not salty - that's good. The ribs were finger locking good, and the kids cleaned up the pulled pork rather quickly! Would visit again.

Thank Ivan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, Manager at Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que also viewed

 
Williamsburg, VA
 

Been to Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing