We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Masonic Kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Our family of 3 loved staying in the Masonic Kitchen! The location could not be beat! Located right across the street from the Williamsburg Inn, we only had a short walk for breakfast. The house is 2 stories - the front door opens into a lovely front yard surrounded by a white picket fence, with flowering quince bushes in bloom. The street in front of you is quiet and rarely used. There are benches, a wishing well, and an outdoor oven. The master bedroom is on the 1st floor, and includes a large 4 poster bed with period curtains to close for added privacy. The room has a nice desk, coffee maker, and a small fridge and closet outside the door. The back door opens into the small private parking lot. The bathroom, as well as a second bedroom with 2 twin beds, is located upstairs, and is amply stocked with towels and toiletries. It would be nice if they added bathrobes. Our daughter loved the television set in the armoire in her room - a rare treat for her! The nice sized living room has a couch and chairs, as well as a television set hidden in another armoire, and a working wood burning fire place for chilly nights. We loved feeling a part of history, and being so close to all of the sites.

Room Tip: Great for a small family of 3-4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CarsonsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 361 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed two nights at the Peter Hay Kitchen recently and found it to be utterly perfect. The Colonial Houses are part of the Williamsburg Inn and reflect the Inn's Five Star rating as well. Rarely have we encountered such superior service. It was personal, seamless, but not intrusive. The house is charming. It has a living room, small kitchen area with a Keurig coffee maker, and upstairs a slope ceiling bedroom with a canopy bed. The bathroom is small, funny, and charming....you can tell it fitted into a structure that was not made to have a bathroom, but it was clean and functional. Our only regret was that it was too warm to have a fire lit in the fireplace.

We had a package that included tickets to Colonial Williamsburg,breakfast at the Inn, and 25% off total purchase at one of the CW shops. Breakfast was delicious with wonderful service, we recommend the sweet potato pancakes.

This has long been on our bucket list, but now we just can't think we won't stay at one of these houses again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SusiefromCrucible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Staying at a Colonial House (The Robert Carter Kitchen) was something we knew we wanted to do for this first family trip to Colonial Williamsburg, and we're glad we did, but, even though you're paying 4- or 5-star hotel prices, don't expect a luxury hotel experience. You're paying for the total immersion in the historic environment that Williamsburg provides so well. We chose to stay at a private, not shared house, which was cozy and very cute, but not plush.

After checking in at the Williamsburg Inn, you are led by a bellman (following in your car or riding in his van) to the parking spot nearby your house. We walked through a lovely and very private garden which led up to our house. It was perfect for our family of 2 adults and 2 children, and really made us feel like we were a part of the historic area. Coming home to one of these houses feels residential, homey, and not like returning to a hotel room.

This house seems to have had its kitchenette and 1 bathroom built in the 1940's or 50's, and both were not in optimal condition. The flush lever on the toilet wasn't working properly and the toilet made a lot of noise. A remodel of the bathroom and kitchenette are way past overdue, albeit one sensitive and appropriate to the historic style of the house (with modern conveniences such as indoor plumbing, of course). For the price of these houses, most guests would expect a nicer and more functional bathroom. The air conditioning unit was also loud and hard to control (too hot or too cold, never just right).

Would these problems keep me from staying at a Colonial House again? Absolutely not, as long as I'm in the historic spirit, and, after all, isn't that what you go to Colonial Williamsburg for, anyway? Let's just hope that bathroom renovations are properly done soon.

If you want a period feel but need more luxury, by all means go to The Williamsburg Inn.

Room Tip: Make sure you realize that some Colonial Houses are shared and some are just for your party. Talk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank born2travel555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

There were good and not so good things about our stay here but the staff made it right! When I booked a colonial home on the phone we were not told that we would need to go out in the shared hall to go to our restroom. This would not have been a problem had we been told before coming, as we would have brought robes as they are not provided ( I mentioned this upon check out and they gave me a discount on my bill which made up for it and showed me they care). The room was small but addequate with two small twin beds. The bathroom although across the hall was nice and spacious and had a bathtub) Being in walking distance to everything made life easy. We made dinner reservations when we booked the room and they booked us at the wrong restaurant (I wanted Shields Tavern because they are the only ones that make a Pimms Cup and I love them) we caught it and they were able to get us into shields. Another thing we like to do is take a carriage ride the great thing about staying at the Colonial Houses is they will book it for you so no getting up early and racing down to try and book one. So while there were glitches the staff smoothed them over for us to have a great stay :-) We will be staying in the houses in the future instead of the hotels as done in the past.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed for a second year in a row at the Brick House Shop. Its a cute little house and you are right around the corner to the main street. We had some issues with the room a door knob came off and the sink was missing a stopper. Our maid Dale made sure everything was done. She let the right people know and they had it fixed right away. It is nice to have be in a house on vacation and right in the middle of all the history.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank cmollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.3 km away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.1 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
635 reviews
0 km away
The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
8.2 km away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 136 E Francis St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4271
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range: €168 - €236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into a cozy canopy bed and warm up next to a crackling fire in homes meticulously reproduced to be true to the time period of Colonial America. In the heart of the Historic Area our Colonial Homes will transport you to this historic era, while offering all the expected amenities of the modern age. Enjoy access to recreation, dining, and spa amenities, and receive ticket discounts and guest-only offers around Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and TravelClick so you can book your Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing