We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$98
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
US$134
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Williamsburg)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MainStay Suites(Williamsburg)
US$105
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$447
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
395
142
27
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
395
142
27
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe brick house tavernduke of gloucester streetcanopy bedewing housethomas jeffersoncolonial williamsburgmodern conveniencesjones kitchenhistoric areadog streetcolonial experiencepalace greenmarket squaretwin bedspackage that included breakfastsitting roomfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
509 - 514 of 589 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed two nights at the Peter Hay Kitchen recently and found it to be utterly perfect. The Colonial Houses are part of the Williamsburg Inn and reflect the Inn's Five Star rating as well. Rarely have we encountered such superior service. It was personal, seamless, but not intrusive. The house is charming. It has a living room, small kitchen area with a Keurig coffee maker, and upstairs a slope ceiling bedroom with a canopy bed. The bathroom is small, funny, and charming....you can tell it fitted into a structure that was not made to have a bathroom, but it was clean and functional. Our only regret was that it was too warm to have a fire lit in the fireplace.

We had a package that included tickets to Colonial Williamsburg,breakfast at the Inn, and 25% off total purchase at one of the CW shops. Breakfast was delicious with wonderful service, we recommend the sweet potato pancakes.

This has long been on our bucket list, but now we just can't think we won't stay at one of these houses again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SusiefromCrucible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Staying at a Colonial House (The Robert Carter Kitchen) was something we knew we wanted to do for this first family trip to Colonial Williamsburg, and we're glad we did, but, even though you're paying 4- or 5-star hotel prices, don't expect a luxury hotel experience. You're paying for the total immersion in the historic environment that Williamsburg provides so well. We chose to stay at a private, not shared house, which was cozy and very cute, but not plush.

After checking in at the Williamsburg Inn, you are led by a bellman (following in your car or riding in his van) to the parking spot nearby your house. We walked through a lovely and very private garden which led up to our house. It was perfect for our family of 2 adults and 2 children, and really made us feel like we were a part of the historic area. Coming home to one of these houses feels residential, homey, and not like returning to a hotel room.

This house seems to have had its kitchenette and 1 bathroom built in the 1940's or 50's, and both were not in optimal condition. The flush lever on the toilet wasn't working properly and the toilet made a lot of noise. A remodel of the bathroom and kitchenette are way past overdue, albeit one sensitive and appropriate to the historic style of the house (with modern conveniences such as indoor plumbing, of course). For the price of these houses, most guests would expect a nicer and more functional bathroom. The air conditioning unit was also loud and hard to control (too hot or too cold, never just right).

Would these problems keep me from staying at a Colonial House again? Absolutely not, as long as I'm in the historic spirit, and, after all, isn't that what you go to Colonial Williamsburg for, anyway? Let's just hope that bathroom renovations are properly done soon.

If you want a period feel but need more luxury, by all means go to The Williamsburg Inn.

Room Tip: Make sure you realize that some Colonial Houses are shared and some are just for your party. Talk to the advisor on the phone and get all the details about each house to help you decide.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank born2travel555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

There were good and not so good things about our stay here but the staff made it right! When I booked a colonial home on the phone we were not told that we would need to go out in the shared hall to go to our restroom. This would not have been a problem had we been told before coming, as we would have brought robes as they are not provided ( I mentioned this upon check out and they gave me a discount on my bill which made up for it and showed me they care). The room was small but addequate with two small twin beds. The bathroom although across the hall was nice and spacious and had a bathtub) Being in walking distance to everything made life easy. We made dinner reservations when we booked the room and they booked us at the wrong restaurant (I wanted Shields Tavern because they are the only ones that make a Pimms Cup and I love them) we caught it and they were able to get us into shields. Another thing we like to do is take a carriage ride the great thing about staying at the Colonial Houses is they will book it for you so no getting up early and racing down to try and book one. So while there were glitches the staff smoothed them over for us to have a great stay :-) We will be staying in the houses in the future instead of the hotels as done in the past.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed for a second year in a row at the Brick House Shop. Its a cute little house and you are right around the corner to the main street. We had some issues with the room a door knob came off and the sink was missing a stopper. Our maid Dale made sure everything was done. She let the right people know and they had it fixed right away. It is nice to have be in a house on vacation and right in the middle of all the history.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank cmollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

There were two couples in our party and had made reservations for Dec 8-11. One of our party belonged to the foundation and was able to secure the rooms at a discounted rate. The house itself was charming, our rooms were spacious and we didn't mind the smaller bathrooms as we knew that this was expected. (Also, very minimal space for toiletries, so glad that I have a toiletry kit that can hang on the back of a door.) The location is just behind Duke of Gloucester Street and Kings Arm Tavern. We walked to the Williamsburg Inn and started each day from the lobby where we enjoyed complimentary coffee while sitting in front a fireplace. The only complaint was that the first night in the room, there was a banging sound all night from the furnace but this was quickly fixed as we did not hear this again. We would stay here again and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and you might want to check into a room with a fireplace.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wc1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews