We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven awaits at the Iris Inn”
Review of Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven awaits at the Iris Inn”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We chose Iris Inn for its close proximity to the best hiking and touring spots in Virginia and for its pet friendly policy (and, of course, the other reviews on tripadvisor). All were were spot on. The inn's location at the southern end of Skyline Drive and the most northern point of the Blue Ridge Parkway is best described as "close to heaven". We drove from northern Virginia and cut over from route 29 to Skyline drive, about 40 miles from the Inn. Once off Skyline Drive, it is about ten minutes to Iris Inn. The drive was delightful with very little traffic, fantastic views and it took about an hour more (with numerous stops) than it would have had we traveled the heavy trucking route of Interstate 81. It is easily accesible no matter which way you are traveling!

Once there, we found a couple we could easily describe as 'best friends'. Dave and Heidi are about the two nicest and most engaging people we have encountered - full of life, good humor and the sensibilty to point you toward the very best offerings of their small piece of heaven. Heidi's breakfasts are first rate and we never once had lunch in the three days we spent at the Inn!

Our lodging offered everything that is important and then some - we were more than impressed and we will be back. If you are in the area, you will definitely want to check out Iris Inn.

Thanks for a great getaway Heidi and Dave (and Katie)!

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the interstae (64) are quieter but they all look out over the beautiful valle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovettsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisInn, Owner at Iris Inn, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thanks! Katie has been looking for your dog every day since you left. They played so well together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    43
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
593
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My husband & I and another couple with whom we frequently travel recently stayed at the Iris Inn and were extremely impressed with the whole package. Dave & Heidi Lanford were wonderful hosts. Their beautiful home was decorated for Christmas and it felt like we were visiting friends. The conversation was friendly and informative, the rooms exquisitely clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. We've stayed in bed and breakfasts from Arizona to Austria and, Dave & Heidi, you've really raised the level of expectation for us! Thanks for a great experience.

Room Tip: The cleaning lady showed us every room that was not occupied. You can't go wrong in choosing an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorticiansWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisInn, Owner at Iris Inn, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thanks so much for the kind words. We so enjoyed getting to know you at the Iris Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Loved our anniversary weekend at the Iris Inn! We stayed in the Hawks Nest which sits apart from the main house. We chose it for the privacy and hot tub. Good choice! Our times in the inn with Heidi and Dave Lanford, and "Katie", their sweet border collie, were comfortable and so enjoyable that we booked again and will enjoy a room inside the house. Heidi and Dave were very knowledgable about the local restaurants, wineries, history and answered any and every question we had--even making our reservation at a wonderful restaurant that we would not have found on our own. The Iris Inn is just the right balance of privacy and that homey, cared for feeling that you are looking for. We recommend it highly! BTW, the breakfasts were amazing!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keysville, va
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We went to the Iris Inn to celebrate New Years eve/day and had a blast! The suite we stayed in was fantastic, clean, comfy and super spacious! Dave & Heidi, the innkeepers, were the most friendly, caring and down to earth people you will ever meet! It was almost like being in a nicer version of your own home with family! haha - I can say that we will most definitly be coming again! (and just wait until you try the daily prepared breakfasts!) loved it!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the Hawks Nest suite which also has a private deck with hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time in this beautifully kept and natural setting! The Innkeepers were very welcoming and accomodating. They allowed us to check in early, had a charger for our camera that died early in our trip, and also invited us for pizza and to spend time with their family that was visiting on NYE! We felt right at home, but had our own escape in a lovely room. The breakfast was very tasty and overall the stay was a complete joy. We highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
3.8 km away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
36.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
907 reviews
8.5 km away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.4 km away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
31.9 km away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
918 reviews
2.7 km away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Inn

Property: Iris Inn
Address: 191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980-5692
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Iris Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1991 as a bed and breakfast, the Iris Inn has all the modern convenience of a new facility combined with traditional charm. With 9 different rooms and 6 cabins on over 11 wooded acres the Iris Inn has room for all your needs. WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Waynesboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing