We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,374)
Filter reviews
1,374 results
Traveller rating
612
414
208
80
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
612
414
208
80
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking garage the breakfast area indoor pool free breakfast breakfast staff south end ocean view hot breakfast yogurt off season virginia beach oceanfront clean hotel each morning hotel staff early check nice stay family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
1,106 - 1,111 of 1,374 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

What a great Hampton Inn! Very friendly kind staff at the front desk, especially Kristen!! I was really impressed with the breakfast staff as well, way to go Debbie....All the employee's were terrific. The hotel was super clean even the indoor pool and I can't imagine how with all the families and sand!!! This staff really deserves recognition for a job well done. If your planning a trip to the Va beach you should really stay here. You can't beat the location. They have a parking garage for convinence and security at the entrance who was fanastic as well!
Thanks for a great stay

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopperce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Imagine a family of 20 traveling together and everyone having something pleasant to say regardng this immaculate hotel. This was truly the case at the S.Hampton INN. The staff and management Ms; Michelle was extremely accomodating. We were well informed of activities and sights to entertain children under the age of 10. There was nothing less of many smiles as you turned each and every corner. This place will truly be included in everyone of our stays at Virginia Beach. See you soon!

Room tip: all ocean front rooms have a wonderful view the balcony was an excellent place for some mommy time.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is a beach front hotel on the south end of the boardwalk. We arrived around 1 pm and was told that the room wouldn't be ready until nearly 4 pm. The front desk asked for our cell phone number so they can call when the room is ready. We had lunch and then changed (in the first floor bathroom) and went to the beach.

The room was very clean. The bathroom had all the shampoo, conditioner, lotion..etc. The beds were very comfortable. And it was nice to know they wash everything, including the coverlet. The view from the Balcony was very nice. We liked the convenience of being so close to the beach. The breakfast was typical of Hampton Inn. Freshly made wallet is always a plus.

We were very happy with our stay.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ReviewDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The staff at the Hampton Inn South made it a great long weekend. We were here visiting relatives, and seeing the beach for the only time this year. Kristen and Lashandra at the front desk were wonderful, and the dining staff were super attentive. Very clean, and wonderful location! Thanks for a great third visit to your hotel in the last few years~

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopher s, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and staff. Kristen and Lashanda are two of our prized employees, I am glad to hear that you received superior service from them both.

See you next year!
Christopher Snyder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the start of July with my good lady and 2 teenage daughters.

The hotel is situated in a long line (and I mean a long line) of hotels on the beach front in Virginia Beach.

Check in was quick and the reception staff (as well as all other staff) were friendly throughout the stay.

The room and bathroom were a standard size. All rooms face the beach and have balconies, it was nice to sit out and enjoy the world going by (even though the temperatures were at record highs).

The breakfast was adequate, with both hot and cold choices on offer. It was busy every morning, but the staff opened up a conference room for more seating. It would have been an absolute nightmare if they hadn’t (well done for this).

There is a business centre situated behind reception with free internet access, which is handy for quick internet browsing.

The hotel is situated at the south end of Atlantic Avenue, there are plenty of shops and places to eat nearby, all within walking distance.

The beach is right in front of the hotel (see hotel photos), the beach/water is well patrolled by life guards during the day. The beach itself is nice and the water is quite shallow.

When we stayed at this hotel it was pretty much fully booked, as were most of the other hotels on the beach front, as it was 4th July celebrations. All street and beach areas were crowded and there was plenty hustle and bustle about the place.

I read reviews about the parking garage, yes it is quite tight, but take your time and you’ll be fine. As we went at a busy time, I was just happy to get a parking place every time we returned to the hotel. I did find it a bit odd that the car park stairwell was not a secure entry, only the doors from the stairwell into the hotel corridors were secure entry. This didn’t really bother me and there was usually security at the car park entrance anyway.

A good hotel, but I probably wouldn’t return (it’s more the location than the hotel and it was a bit too touristy for me). All said, I wouldn’t put potential guests off booking this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank On1ythetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopher s, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

I appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel. I happy that our staff met your needs and that you were comfrotable during your stay. Virginia Beach is a vacation hot spot during the summer season and is packed full of people from Memorial Day to Labor Day each year. A less "touristy" time to visit would be during the Spring or Fall. Check out our website for great packages for your next stay.


Thank you again, and hope to see you again soon,

Christopher Snyder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews