We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,993)
Filter reviews
2,993 results
Traveller rating
1,601
837
324
132
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,601
837
324
132
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fishing pier front desk kiddie pool amusement park convenience store parking garage free breakfast ocean view exercise room wonderful stay hot tub family vacation beds were comfortable cleaning staff oceanfront room off season the breakfast area
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 2,993 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Super friendly staff - welcoming and accommodating. Accommodations have been updated at some point, but it is apparent that not everything has been updated (elevator for example). Not super clean, but not dirty. You can tell the hallways, rooms, pool area gets used. It is exactly what we expected when it comes to staying on the beach. Summer rates were doable and I do not feel that I overpaid for what I got.

Location is ideal! Free parking and breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you so much for your candid review. We basically run 100% occupancy during the summer time so there's a lot of folks bringing in sand, ocean water, you name it. We try very hard to to keep up with the cleaning of all our amenities. We are very lucky to have the perfect location at the oceanfront and a wonderful free full hot breakfast buffet. I thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope that you will be returning in the near future.

Have a great day.

Jason C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Our experience with Best Western Sandcastle was absolutely wonderful. The rooms were clean, the staff was excellent and the restaurant food at Ocean's 14 was absolutely wonderful. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a pleasurable stay at Virginia Beach. We never moved the vehicle from arrival to departure. Everything we wanted to do and see was within walking distance. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms had a private balcony which was extremely nice.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vickieanddickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Hello and thank you so much for this fantastic review. I was so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. Our leased restaurant "Oceans 14" has some of the best food at the beach and I was glad to hear that you enjoyed it. And you are absolutely right about our location, we are in walking distance to everything that the beach offers including the fishing pier, great live entertainment,etc. We look forward to having you back in the very near future.

Yours In Hospitality,

Jason C.
General Manager
Best Western Plus Sandcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

We love our Sand Castle/Best Western now --been coming here for years --about 15 as our grand kids have grown up with this as their summer spot for 9 days each year. They love to fish from the pier and we love the board walk view from our balcony. The hotel has changed over the years , but a lot of the staff have remained the same and remember us. Newly met staff member , Sharia, went above and beyond to assist our check in and make sure we had the best rate even though we were booked for months. We have had great service and the micro kitchenette works wonderful for our family. They allowed us to have the grandkids parents join in the room mid week for minimal breakfast and parking fees and no hassle. We also have my wife's mother join us mid week in her own room and they make every effort to see that she has a first floor room as she doesn't do heights. New breakfast set up on second floor is nice and the omelet bar really adds to your choices.

Room Tip: Higher floors and ocean view micro kitchenette !!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank robertakeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you so much for making our hotel your home away from home, that is truly awesome. Commitment to service and guest satisfaction is our main focus and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. The pride and dedication our hotel team takes in providing exceptional customer service to our valued guests speaks strongly to our company’s core values. We hope to see you again in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Jason C.
General Manager Best Western Plus Sandcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

I made a reservation earlier In the week for my family and I to have vacation and the end of the month and everyone I spoke with in helping me make this reservation we’re extremely nice and helpful! My family and I stayed at this hotel a few years ago and it was perfect! Nice and clean and everyone was super nice! This hotel will be my go to hotel whenever we visit Virginia beach! Keep up the great work!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Candace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you for choosing The Best Western Plus Sandcastle for your recent travels to Virginia Beach, Virginia. Commitment to service and guest satisfaction is our main focus and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. The pride and dedication our hotel team takes in providing exceptional customer service to our valued guests speaks strongly to our company’s core values.

Have a great day.

Jason C.
General Manager Best Western Plus Sandcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful time at this hotel. The staff was excellent especially Sharia she went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of. The breakfast was great a lot more selection than most places. We would definitely stay here again.
Guillermo

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank jarevalo926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Hello and thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share your thoughts with us about your trip to The Best Western Plus Sandcastle. We were all so very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and found our Sharia to be a big help. The next time your plans bring you our way please don't hesitate to contact directly so that I might have the opportunity to personally assist you.

Yours In Hospitality,

Jason C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews