We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with ocean view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #48 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

This is a modern hotel, and we had a great view of the ocean. There is an outdoor restaurant/bar attached to the hotel; seemed a little rowdy for us. Room didn't have a hair dryer, and it took staff a half hour to get us one. Overall it was nice, but we'll probably stay someplace else on our next visit to VB.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BmoreGal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy B, General Manager at Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We do apologize about the issue with the noise and blow dryer. We will defiantly address both issues. We do hope when you are in the Virginia Beach area you will try us again.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and absolutely enjoyed every minute. The room was clean and comfy. The front desk staff was awesome. My main man Trey was there to answer all my questions and went out of his way to make me feel welcomed. Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy B, General Manager at Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for telling us about your experience during your stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will defiantly share your kind words with Trey and the rest of our team. We do hope when you are in the Virginia Beach area you chose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The staff were very pleasant and made us feel very welcome. They helped in every way possible. Definitely would recommend!!! We were there for our delayed honeymoon and a wedding. Easy access to local place to eat and shop.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Markley-and S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy B, General Manager at Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy we were able to provide a getaway for your Honeymoon.
We will share your comments and do hope to see you again if your in Virginia Beach.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Upon our arrival at noon time, they allowed us to check in early. The room on the second floor had an awesome view of the ocean and you could hear the waves with the balcony door open. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The restaurant next door was quite popular and extremely crowded on the weekend. We didn't eat there, but were told it was delicious. This hotel did not have complimentary breakfast, but the staff was extremely nice and helpful. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our view on 2nd floor was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy B, General Manager at Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your exoperiance with our hotel. I di hope to see you agin next year.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Stayed here because it was inexpensive, but it turned out to be real nice. The room was huge and had ocean and pool view. We were on the first floor and the sliding glass door opened onto the pool deck. The parking is a block away, which was a little inconvenient. There was also no breakfast, but the had excellent coffee in the lobby all the time. We would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Starr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy B, General Manager at Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay!!
We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
4.9 km away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#50 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3,041 reviews
1.9 km away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,557 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
511 reviews
0.5 km away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
310 reviews
0.6 km away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#31 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3503 (Formerly Grand Ocean Hotel)
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: €67 - €249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focus on the destination in a whole new way at the non-smoking Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) Member in Virginia Beach, VA located on the famed Virginia Beach Boardwalk. Our boutique oceanfront Virginia Beach hotel makes it easy to find the true local flavor you crave by offering proximity to attractions like: Virginia Aquarium Virginia Beach Convention Center Ocean Breeze Waterpark First Landing State Park Sandbridge Beach After exploring the hidden treasures off the beaten path that make this area so special, head back to our Virginia Beach hotel and treat yourself to a delicious meal at our Calypso restaurant. Amenities include: Free WiFi Business center Meeting rooms Seasonal outdoor pool Guest laundry services Enjoy blissful relaxation and enjoyment in your guest room, which offers amenities like a microwave, refrigerator, flat-screen TV, coffee maker, hair dryer and desk. Ask about our rooms with ocean views! Let the destination reach you at Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member. Virginia Beach hotels like ours connect you to the places, moments and experiences that make each destination special. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Atlantic Sands Oceanfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing