We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Thornburg)
US$70
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Southpoint(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
US$83
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$98
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$88
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
35
39
17
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
39
17
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsusual hiehi expressgreat stoptwo queen bedsspacious roomyogurtdesk clerkbreakfast staffair conditionercoffee makerinterstatescmicrowavehousekeepingcouch
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 103 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We used a coupon from a rest stop booklet and were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, no funky odors, mattress comfortable. Bathroom a little tired but clean.
Breakfast buffet was varied and delicious and the room, tables etc were clean .
Manager came around and asked how everything was.
We were enroute to NC from CT, so did not use the pool, etc, but recommend this hotel for its convenience and a pleasant stay.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Thank you so much for staying with us and posting your comments....we appreciate your business and hope you have a great 2017. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

We chose this hotel because it was the closest to Dominion Speedway and we had to spend nearly a week, it was nice to have a hotel with a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker in the room, the free breakfast every morning was an added plus.

The suite was nice, spacious and clean. The free wifi was fast and easy to connect to, there were plenty of channels on TV. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and efficient. We unfortunately had an issue with the key card and the lock on our door. The hotel staff was on it immediately and ultimately they ended up having to replace the entire lock. Through it all the staff remained on top of things. The only complaint about the room is the lighting in the kitchenette area, it was very dim.

The breakfast in the morning had bacon, sausage, omelets, biscuits, gravy, cinnamon rolls along with the usual bagels, muffins, cereal, etc. All was good as long as you didn't get there too late, the biscuits were a bit dry from the heat lamp and the omelets didn't look too good either. If you chose to dine there, they had a nice big TV to watch while you ate or you could go back to your room.

I can't remember which day it was but in the afternoon they brought out a big popcorn machine into the lobby, it was a nice treat.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiabloDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Dear DiabloDeb,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We greatly appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and your positive feedback regarding your stay. We hope you will consider us again on your next travel.

Again, thank you for your feedback and have a wonderful day.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Bottom Line: I would stay here again.

Our party attended an event at nearby Dominion Raceway and chose the Holiday Inn Express for their pet-friendly policy (and had no issues at all). The rooms were clean and well-appointed, with king beds, refrigerators, plenty of towels and even Kurig-style coffee makers!

Like most such hotels, they offer a complimentary breakfast that was decent but typical. Scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes and various baked goods; fairly limited on the fruit and other healthy offerings.

The hotel itself is down a dead-end street that leads one to wonder about the security, but fortunately we had no issues. Lots of trucks parked nearby, in an empty parking lot across the street. Interstate 95 is less than 500 feet from the hotel, but the noise level was acceptable - most of the rooms face north or south, while the highway is to the east.

A few interesting details I found added to the experience: 1) The DirecTV service was complete with numerous pay channels - Many more television options than most chains offer; 2) The beds included several body-length pillows, which I found aided sleep; 3) There's a genuine Ms. Pac Man arcade game available (very rare today); and 4) The air conditioning allowed temperature setpoints down to about 60 degrees! Most hotels limit the low temperature to 65. I found the lower setpoint really aided my sleep.

If you're visiting Dominion Raceway, it's a hotel worth checking out.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Thank you for your comments we appreciate you taking the time and your business. Also on the DirecTV we had the Sunday NFL ticket and carry all the NFL games thru that. Thank you for all the feedback we take all comments to heart to share with the staff. We hope to see you again soon for events at the Raceway and have a great Holiday Season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

We checked into this hotel expecting it to be like all the other Holiday Inn Express' we have stayed at before, wrong. It smells, the carpet is dirty, bathroom has mold in the shower, mold under the sink in the floor and tiles, the elevator slams up and down. The front desk clerk barely greeted us. We drove around and found another hotel in the area that we will be staying at the next time we are here. If I could give a negative 5 I would, we would have been better off staying at some random roadside motel.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

I apologize for your stay...as you can see by the many other comments that is not the normal experience and we feel we are a greater value than a roadside hotel. I will certainly look into these issue as we take every comment seriously. I hope you have safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

staff were helpful and friendly. I stayed on the third floor and wi fi reception was poor as this was business travel I had hoped to be able to work from my room but this was not possible. Poor seal around tub which had mold growing in it.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Thornburg-S. Fredericksburg, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I do take all reviews very seriously and act upon them all. We did replace a router on the third level recently so I do believe that issue is good to go. I will check the rooms to ensure the tubs are acceptable. I am confident this was a one time issue and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews