We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and friendly”
Review of Capt E's Hurricane

Capt E's Hurricane
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Saxis
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 September 2017

What a gorgeous place to relax outside. Everybody was very friendly and the place had a real laid back vibe. The crab cake was okay, but I did think it was going to be a bit better based on other reviews. Either way, I can't wait to go back!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

While visiting our daughter in Greenbackville, we decided to find out what Saxis was about and try Capt E's on a recommendation from our daughter. Nice ride in, with lots to look at! Arrived at Capt E's for lunch, ordered a beer and looked over the menu....I ordered the crab cake sandwich and my husband ordered the soft shell crab sandwich, had fries and cole slaw too..plus started with a bowl of the cream of crab soup! Everything was great, LUMP crab in the crab cake with very little filler, the soft shell crab was excellent too! Our waitress was a real sweetie and we chatted with her about the area..and asked about where to buy soft shell crabs....she walked us right over to where Capt E was "working" and we had an enjoyable time chatting with him and his helpers! Loved hearing the stories and the history of the area. Bought a bakers dozen of the soft shell crabs....great size.....had soft shells for dinner and they were great! Can't wait to return to Capt E's and the Island!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This restaurant is isolated in a small seafood village. Crabbing, fishing and oyster dredging are the livelihood of this village. The restaurant is small and eclectically decorated. The food is prepared so that it tastes homemade even when its not. Seafood, chicken, meatloaf, soft crabs etc. have that eastern shore touch. The sides are good and the staff is very friendly. No frills i.e. paper towel napkins but they get the job done and you don't leave hungry.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Such a clean, cute place. A hidden gem down a winding road that eventually leads to the water. I have never had better crab cakes. They were broiled to perfection and the lump meat was held together by a baked sauce (no filler). They were picture perfect. I also have to mention the delicious hot rolls with cinnamon butter and the oyster fritters. Such a refreshing change to eat at a restaurant that is run by family. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. Give it a try - you will love it!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DeeFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

I spend a lot of time at the eastern shores of Virginia on the Island of Chincoteague but on occasion, I venture out to small towns no one has heard of other than people of the Eastern Shores. One of these town is called Saxis. The town has about 240 residents and is a size of a very small development with about 160 houses. Some of these houses have family burial plot in front or back of the houses as the olden days gone by. Saxis is a town with numerous crab farmers, oystermen and crabs men making a living on the Chesapeake surrounded by a wild life refuge. Because of these circumstances the area has a natural beauty and the town has a nostalgic feel to it. The town’s residents are incredibly friendly and wave to you as you drive by as well as pose for photos if you ask politely. If you visit you should stop in at the local restaurant called Capt E's Hurricane Grill and Tiki Bar. Their specialty is crab cakes with giant lumps of crab meat in it. Their crab soup is just as appetizing with mixture of spices that tantalizes the senses. If anyone is visiting the Eastern Shores of Virginia take a stroll through Saxis Island and have lunch or dinner at the local restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traveling_advisor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capt E's Hurricane also viewed

Been to Capt E's Hurricane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing