We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic hotel in Desperate need of an Upgrading.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed 11 June 2017

This hotel has an amazing view. The King bed in my room was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean. OK the positives are done. Now for the disappointments. There were wallpaper chunks larger than my phone peeling off the walls. The rug was ripping up off the floor at the threshold to the bathroom. The television, a tube tv was very small, probably 17 -20" (though I did not measure it), the picture quality was terrible even though it was cable, and the HBO that was advertised clearly did not exist on the TV even though it was shown on the channel listing placard. The light over the sink was very dim making it hard to shave in the morning. The water pressure was very low. The air conditioner was very loud but that was resolved the second night when it stopped working at all. Saturday night I was entertained by the very loud sound of running above me at 12:30am. Lastly, I walked down to the fitness room to discover that while there were three pieces of equipment in the room the door was permanently locked. I gave the room a 2 star rating because the bed and bath are really the two most important things to me but there was so much in need of attention at this hotel it was not a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: One side has a beautiful view across the Roanoke Valley, The other has no view. If you choose to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dwpedrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2017

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 June 2017

After we carried our suitcases into the room we when for dinner after we returned to the room I turned on the TV to just static, when I tried to call the front desk, we realized there was no phone in the room, called the front desk with my cell phone, and they informed me that a lot of the phones were broken and the owner had removed them, she did send a maintenance man to check the TV, after working on the cable and actually bringing in another TV, he switched us to a different room. This room had a phone, the clock and fridge and microwave we gone. Bu the TV worked ok. The mattress has seen better days. The room looked nice and well kept, but the furnishing need updated. And the Breakfast was to include a waffle station, but it was nowhere to be seen, will not be staying here again

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night, got there a little late but the desk clerk was very helpful. He even remembers my mom from previous stays. The room was clean and neat, the only thing was the bathroom is alittle small but it did the trick. The hotel was not far from the interstate and just a few mikes from nearby gas stations and places to eat. The local Walmart is about 3 mikes away. We will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
6.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
0.7 km away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#5 of 14 in Salem
252 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Salem
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
522 reviews
6.4 km away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
6.7 km away
Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem

Address: 1671 Skyview Rd, Ext 137 off I-81, Salem, VA 24153-1571
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: €44 - €61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Salem
Salem Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing