We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$109
Expedia.comUS$109
TravelocityUS$109
CheapTicketsUS$109
Agoda.comUS$109
Orbitz.comUS$109
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
101
7
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
101
7
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit boutique hotel trail system sw virginia local brewery coffee shop across the street coal mining reclaimed wood beautiful hotel apartment building onsite restaurant fall colors enjoyed our stay game room walk in shower stayed for nights within walking distance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2021

The staff was friendly and the room was spacious and clean with king bed. Great location in town. Restaurants in walking distance. Refrigerator in room. Check in and check out was easy. Would stay again.

Date of stay: December 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank angela18122021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie Jackson, General Manager at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2021

Angela,


Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review for us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff was friendly and accommodating. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2020

I booked our stay on their website. It said a one night stay with a $50 meal voucher to the hotels restaurant. Upon arrival, we noticed the restuarant was closed. We got there at 5, so I knew something wasn't right. The staff upfront began to tell us that the restaurant hadn't been open since September of this year.. should have updated their website then. They only gave us 10% off and a horrible bottle of wine we couldn't even drink. The rooms, however, are absolutely gorgeous.. awesome shower in bathroom.. but the walls are paper thin and celebrating an anniversary.. you want privacy.. didn't happen. Will never stay again

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F4258BDtaylorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie Jackson, General Manager at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2021

Thank you for taking the time to compete an online review for us. I apologize for the misunderstanding upon check in. Our restaurant Milton's has been closed for sometime and was taken over by Chef T and was Ina + Forbes. Ina's unfortunately closed in September due to COVID. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations, I would love to speak to you more on this matter if you would like to reach out to me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2020

This hotel has it all - hospitality, comfort, cool spaces and amenities. We love the original hardwood floors and unique furnishings they incorporated into this newly renovated historical building. Our room was very comfortable and sparkling clean. We spent one evening in The Roost, a common space for guests to use, where we ate take out, shot pool and played darts. We also rented one of their Razor ATV's and had a blast on the trails. Another evening's meal was enjoyed on one of the rooftop spaces in comfortable wicker furniture. Our only wish was that the hotel's restaurant was open for dining, (it was closed do to covid) but the other 3 local places were all good. To top it all off, everyone on the staff was super friendly and genuinely seemed to enjoy their jobs.

Date of stay: November 2020
Thank Janece C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie Jackson, General Manager at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Janece,


Thank you so much for taking the time to complete an online review for us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am thrilled that you got to enjoy the trails and what our town has to offer. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2020 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Western Front ! Staff was amazing and the hotel was very impressive. Clean room, comfy beds, and all the amenities that were needed for our trip! We would d finally stay here in the future !

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank colyer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie Jackson, General Manager at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Colyer,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass the kind words along to the staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020

What a great hotel! The Western Front is an awesome boutique hotel in the mountains of Virginia. A great location for hiking, boating, and ATVing. Also, an hour from Bristol, Kingsport and several state parks. The staff is pleasant and very helpful. The hotel is VERY dog friendly and we saw several families with dogs during our stay. The rooms are big but also comfortable.

A few tips - our room was very bright after sunrise - so if you are light sensitive, you may want to bring a sleep mask. The hotel is also an old building so the walls and floors are thin - so you do hear noises from other rooms but the nights we were there, it was quiet.

The rooms do have large refrigerators but NO microwave or coffee machines. I do understand you can request a Keurig for your room.

When we were there (November 2020), the onsite restaurant was closed due to COVID-19 - which is a shame since it received great reviews. The hotel owned bakery (across the street) is also closed. Within walking distance is a BBQ spot, pizza spot, and a microbrewery.

Overall, we highly recommend.

Room tip: Rooms facing 4th street are bright in the mornings - you may want to ask for a parking lot facing room.
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SteveFLNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie Jackson, General Manager at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review for us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. OUr staff takes pride in everything we do here, and we are so glad that it shows!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews