We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$109
Expedia.comUS$109
Hotels.comUS$109
TravelocityUS$109
CheapTicketsUS$109
Orbitz.comUS$109
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
105
7
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
105
7
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit boutique hotel trail system sw virginia local brewery coffee shop across the street coal mining reclaimed wood unique place to stay apartment building small town charm beautiful hotel onsite restaurant fall colors we loved our stay game room walk in shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2020

This hotel has it all - hospitality, comfort, cool spaces and amenities. We love the original hardwood floors and unique furnishings they incorporated into this newly renovated historical building. Our room was very comfortable and sparkling clean. We spent one evening in The Roost, a common space for guests to use, where we ate take out, shot pool and played darts. We also rented one of their Razor ATV's and had a blast on the trails. Another evening's meal was enjoyed on one of the rooftop spaces in comfortable wicker furniture. Our only wish was that the hotel's restaurant was open for dining, (it was closed do to covid) but the other 3 local places were all good. To top it all off, everyone on the staff was super friendly and genuinely seemed to enjoy their jobs.

Date of stay: November 2020
Thank Janece C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie Jackson, General Manager at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Janece,


Thank you so much for taking the time to complete an online review for us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am thrilled that you got to enjoy the trails and what our town has to offer. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2020 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Western Front ! Staff was amazing and the hotel was very impressive. Clean room, comfy beds, and all the amenities that were needed for our trip! We would d finally stay here in the future !

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank colyer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie Jackson, General Manager at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Colyer,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass the kind words along to the staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020

What a great hotel! The Western Front is an awesome boutique hotel in the mountains of Virginia. A great location for hiking, boating, and ATVing. Also, an hour from Bristol, Kingsport and several state parks. The staff is pleasant and very helpful. The hotel is VERY dog friendly and we saw several families with dogs during our stay. The rooms are big but also comfortable.

A few tips - our room was very bright after sunrise - so if you are light sensitive, you may want to bring a sleep mask. The hotel is also an old building so the walls and floors are thin - so you do hear noises from other rooms but the nights we were there, it was quiet.

The rooms do have large refrigerators but NO microwave or coffee machines. I do understand you can request a Keurig for your room.

When we were there (November 2020), the onsite restaurant was closed due to COVID-19 - which is a shame since it received great reviews. The hotel owned bakery (across the street) is also closed. Within walking distance is a BBQ spot, pizza spot, and a microbrewery.

Overall, we highly recommend.

Room tip: Rooms facing 4th street are bright in the mornings - you may want to ask for a parking lot facing room.
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SteveFLNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie Jackson, General Manager at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review for us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. OUr staff takes pride in everything we do here, and we are so glad that it shows!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2020

I stayed here with my three sons in a king suite to spend the weekend in Saint Paul and ATV on the Spearhead Trail. The hotel is in a historic building and is charming. Everything is decorated with thought and creativity. The king suite was plenty big for the four of us. Two in the king bed. Two in the pull-out couch. We had two large screen TVs for the boys to watch football in the morning before we headed out. We rented our Razor from the hotel and the staff had everything we needed, including throwing in a sheet to keep our bag from getting muddy. The Spearhead trail is a blast, and we spent all day sliding through mud and climbing rocky hills. We ate dinner at the brewery across the street and it was delicious. We spent the evening in our cozy hotel room watching scary Halloween movies. I can’t recommend this place enough for a family fun adventure!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GoldilocksAnd4Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie Jackson, General Manager at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you and your family had quite an adventure! I am so pleased to hear that you got to enjoy all the perks that our charming little town has to offer. We can't wait to see you and your family again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020

We traveled to Saint Paul to see the fall colors. Thoroughly impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel, the friendliness of the staff and the size of the rooms. We were very comfortable there. While there is not a whole lot to do in Saint Paul itself, it was well situated to explore the area. There are not many food choices right in town. We ate at the Sugar Hill Brewery for dinner the first night and liked it so much we we ate there for the entire stay. Unfortunately, they don't serve breakfast. The hotel provides yogurt, fruit and granola bars etc which was enough for us. Would definitely stay again!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RunnerGirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie Jackson, General Manager at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Fall is my absolute favorite time of year, I hope you got to enjoy all the beautiful colors that Virginia has to offer. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews