We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$120
Hotels.comUS$120
Expedia.comUS$120
TravelocityUS$120
Orbitz.comUS$120
CheapTicketsUS$120
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
105
7
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
105
7
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit boutique hotel trail system sw virginia local brewery coffee shop across the street coal mining reclaimed wood unique place to stay apartment building small town charm beautiful hotel onsite restaurant fall colors we loved our stay game room walk in shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2020

What a great hotel! The Western Front is an awesome boutique hotel in the mountains of Virginia. A great location for hiking, boating, and ATVing. Also, an hour from Bristol, Kingsport and several state parks. The staff is pleasant and very helpful. The hotel is VERY dog friendly and we saw several families with dogs during our stay. The rooms are big but also comfortable.

A few tips - our room was very bright after sunrise - so if you are light sensitive, you may want to bring a sleep mask. The hotel is also an old building so the walls and floors are thin - so you do hear noises from other rooms but the nights we were there, it was quiet.

The rooms do have large refrigerators but NO microwave or coffee machines. I do understand you can request a Keurig for your room.

When we were there (November 2020), the onsite restaurant was closed due to COVID-19 - which is a shame since it received great reviews. The hotel owned bakery (across the street) is also closed. Within walking distance is a BBQ spot, pizza spot, and a microbrewery.

Overall, we highly recommend.

Room tip: Rooms facing 4th street are bright in the mornings - you may want to ask for a parking lot facing room.
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SteveFLNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie Jackson, General Manager at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review for us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. OUr staff takes pride in everything we do here, and we are so glad that it shows!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2020

I stayed here with my three sons in a king suite to spend the weekend in Saint Paul and ATV on the Spearhead Trail. The hotel is in a historic building and is charming. Everything is decorated with thought and creativity. The king suite was plenty big for the four of us. Two in the king bed. Two in the pull-out couch. We had two large screen TVs for the boys to watch football in the morning before we headed out. We rented our Razor from the hotel and the staff had everything we needed, including throwing in a sheet to keep our bag from getting muddy. The Spearhead trail is a blast, and we spent all day sliding through mud and climbing rocky hills. We ate dinner at the brewery across the street and it was delicious. We spent the evening in our cozy hotel room watching scary Halloween movies. I can’t recommend this place enough for a family fun adventure!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GoldilocksAnd4Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie Jackson, General Manager at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you and your family had quite an adventure! I am so pleased to hear that you got to enjoy all the perks that our charming little town has to offer. We can't wait to see you and your family again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020

We traveled to Saint Paul to see the fall colors. Thoroughly impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel, the friendliness of the staff and the size of the rooms. We were very comfortable there. While there is not a whole lot to do in Saint Paul itself, it was well situated to explore the area. There are not many food choices right in town. We ate at the Sugar Hill Brewery for dinner the first night and liked it so much we we ate there for the entire stay. Unfortunately, they don't serve breakfast. The hotel provides yogurt, fruit and granola bars etc which was enough for us. Would definitely stay again!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RunnerGirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie Jackson, General Manager at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Fall is my absolute favorite time of year, I hope you got to enjoy all the beautiful colors that Virginia has to offer. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2020

We stayed here on the first night of a long motorcycle trip. The staff was super friendly and helpful and the room was HUGE. 2 queen beds and a set of bunk beds in another room. The hotel is in an old apartment building and they have done an excellent job on the renovation.

The outdoor area has a fire pit, stage for music and plenty of room to just be outside. There are also patios on the second floor with tables for another place to relax. The game room has a pool table and dartboard, and gives you an indoor place to hang out if needed.

The front desk has off-road maps for the area available, and the hotel also rents 4-passenger side-by-sides. SW Virginia is a great place to ride motorcycles both on and offroad!

COVID has had some effect on the business as well as the town - the onsite restaurant has closed, but they are working on getting another restaurant to move in to the space. The coffee shop across the street has closed as well, but there is a brewery/restaurant just around the corner and a BBQ place right across the street.

I will definitely be back, and am planning a group gathering at the hotel sometime in the future.

Date of stay: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Radoaktiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie Jackson, General Manager at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

WOW! Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you will be panning a group gathering, we would love to help you in anyway plan your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020

The hotel is built around the "refurbished" items theme, and for the most part its pretty nice, head board of the bed was an old door, that kind of stuff... now, saying that... the mattress must have been too because it was very uncomfortable and lumpy, like someone slept on both sides for years and left it sagging with a lump down the middle and the mattress did not fit the box string it was on.. the bathroom door would not close unless you put your shoulder or foot into it.. only one of the windows was able to open the curtains, using a chain the you had to pull down to roll up the shade, felt like it was going to break with the amount of pulling you had to do to get it to work.. there was an alarm clock that would not keep time if you payed it.. there was suppose to be a breakfast in a bucket of bag or whatever since COVID eliminated real breakfasts.. was informed once we checked in that there was no breakfast at all now.. they rented UTV's for an arm and a leg that we opted out once we found out the prices, 10 minutes down the road we got them for half that price..
And the worst of it all?? The floors creaked so bad that you would think someone was in the room walking around your bed, you heard every person in the hotel walking around there rooms, the hallways, too and from there bathrooms.. horrible night time noise.. so, all in all it was a horrible stay.

Room tip: Unless you can sleep while hearing every single person in the hotel walking on the creaking floors, your out of luck.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdvRider69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie Jackson, General Manager at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Thank you for taking the time to compete an online review for us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make each and every guest enjoy their time at the property. COVID has changed many things as we all now, however we do offer a grab and go breakfast at the front desk each day. Our ATVs are leased from POLARIS and they set the pricing and supply us with new machines each year. We hope that you will come stay with us again in the future, and give us another opportunity to WOW you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews