We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$109
PricelineUS$109
Expedia.comUS$109
TripadvisorUS$109
ZenHotels.com
CheapTicketsUS$109
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
112
8
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
112
8
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit boutique hotel trail system sw virginia local brewery coffee shop across the street coal mining reclaimed wood unique place to stay apartment building small town charm beautiful hotel onsite restaurant fall colors we loved our stay game room walk in shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2020

The hotel is built around the "refurbished" items theme, and for the most part its pretty nice, head board of the bed was an old door, that kind of stuff... now, saying that... the mattress must have been too because it was very uncomfortable and lumpy, like someone slept on both sides for years and left it sagging with a lump down the middle and the mattress did not fit the box string it was on.. the bathroom door would not close unless you put your shoulder or foot into it.. only one of the windows was able to open the curtains, using a chain the you had to pull down to roll up the shade, felt like it was going to break with the amount of pulling you had to do to get it to work.. there was an alarm clock that would not keep time if you payed it.. there was suppose to be a breakfast in a bucket of bag or whatever since COVID eliminated real breakfasts.. was informed once we checked in that there was no breakfast at all now.. they rented UTV's for an arm and a leg that we opted out once we found out the prices, 10 minutes down the road we got them for half that price..
And the worst of it all?? The floors creaked so bad that you would think someone was in the room walking around your bed, you heard every person in the hotel walking around there rooms, the hallways, too and from there bathrooms.. horrible night time noise.. so, all in all it was a horrible stay.

Room tip: Unless you can sleep while hearing every single person in the hotel walking on the creaking floors, your out of luck.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdvRider69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie Jackson, General Manager at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Thank you for taking the time to compete an online review for us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make each and every guest enjoy their time at the property. COVID has changed many things as we all now, however we do offer a grab and go breakfast at the front desk each day. Our ATVs are leased from POLARIS and they set the pricing and supply us with new machines each year. We hope that you will come stay with us again in the future, and give us another opportunity to WOW you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

We enjoyed our 3 night stay during fall colors. Great spot to drive in any direction and enjoy the region
Dog friendly $50 service charge
Stay on 3rd floor, we were on 2nd and heard footsteps all hours, rustic charm of place, but still. Nicely renovated and clean.
The couple food options in town all within a block of hotel.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 622AlisonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie Jackson, General Manager at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Alison,
Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review for us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed not only our property but the town and surrounding areas. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2020

We can’t say enough great things. First, the staff is great. 5star to all of them. The room was great. Stayed in suite 303 and it was perfect. The off road excursion is wonderful and very safe. Plan on 2 or 2.5 hour Trip to Coeburn. Must eat at Frosty Bossie at Coeburn. Giordanos pizza is next to the hotel and is great.

I recommend this place for any family looking to get away for a while.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LoveTravel581840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly Christner, Owner at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2020

Thank you so much for giving us your personal thumbs up!We're so glad you enjoyed your trip and hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020 via mobile

We loved the hotel. Super cute gem. The staff is wonderful. Our room was large and spacious. Had a sitting room. Very large bathroom. Huge shower with nice hot water. Nice fluffy towels. Great bed, very comfortable. Everything you need down to a really adorable mini retro fridge. There’s a billiard room downstairs and multiple outdoor fire-pits, both upstairs and down. First night was happy hour and trivia night. Will be back. Cute little town. Hotel offered UTV ride rentals to tour in beautiful Virginia.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly Christner, Owner at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2020

Thank you so much for a fabulous review! We're so glad you enjoyed your trip! Come back soon!⛰

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2020

The good:
Beautiful rooms and bathrooms with upgraded bath products (Soap / hair products, etc)
Backdrop of mountains and outdoor fire pit is nice touch
Rent a ATV for outdoor adventures right at the hotel
Friendly and accommodating staff

However, the town itself reminds me of like an old steel mill/railroad town. Not much to do outside other than hiking and ATV. Also, you are deep in Trump/Pence country so just be aware if that matters (it did to me).

Also, I thought this hotel would be more resort like in that it would be up in the mountains surrounded by nature and green everywhere the eye can see.

The hotel is literally situated on Main Street or downtown St. Paul so it is a urban setting and not the country scenery I was expecting. I took my dog and so she didn't have much places to run around in that urban setting which was disappointing.

I did leave early because it was not my vibe outside the hotel, but the hotel itself and staff..I highly recommend. Just wish I could pick it up and put it elsewhere. LOL

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DMills115401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie Jackson, General Manager at Western Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2020

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review for us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews