We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous, Beautiful, Wonderful!”
other travellers have booked this property
River and Mountain View from the screened in porch!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River and Mountain View from the screened in porch!
Screened In Porch Jacuzzi Tub for 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
River and Mountain View from the screened in porch!
Screened In Porch
Jacuzzi Tub for 2
Bathroom with Jacuzzi Tub, Standing Shower and Sink.
Comfortable Tastefully Decorated Living room and Breakfast Area
Tv, and Stereo!
Loft Bedroom with Queen Size Bed, Great views from window looking at river and mountains!
Front View of Cottage
Living room and Spiral Staircase to Loft Bedroom. Sliding glass doors to Screened in Porch.
1st floor bedroom with Full Size Bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rileyville, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carol N
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Beautiful, Wonderful!”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Bittersweet Retreat for 3 nights and it was absolutely wonderful! The view is breathtaking! Char is absolutely wonderful! I suggest you definitely splurge on Char's amazing breakfasts! Delicious! I've already told my parents and brother and sister in law they need to take a vacation there! I will definitely be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you Carol for that wonderful review I really appreciate it! I must tell you that You Both were wonderful people to have stay in the cottage you took Really Good care of it, & I truly appreciate it. I am also looking forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Shar Mayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slatoct
Alexandria, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect setting for a perfectly peaceful weekend”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I and spent a long weekend in November at A Bittersweet Retreat and absolutely loved it. The owner, Shar, was most welcoming and was great about making sure we had everything we needed. The place was spotless when we arrived, though she was apologetic over a small area rug not being vacuumed before we got there. For the life of me I couldn't find a speck of anything on it! Working with her through the booking and payment process was a breeze.

There's so much to do in the Shenandoah Valley and this property was a perfect base of operations for our weekend. Easy drive from the DC area, yet it felt like a true getaway from our day-to-day world. Tucked away on a quiet road overlooking the river, from the house we were still only a short drive away from Luray when we required provisions (pie and other pastries from a terrific coffee shop/restaurant in town).

Can't wait to find time for another trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
“GREAT GET AWAY”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This cottage is ABSOLUTELY the best, spotless clean!
Shar the owner was a joy to work with., she goes out of her way to make sure you have everything you need, very helpful kind and generous host
baked goodies were delicious ! :)
It was very relaxing to sit by the fire pit and listen to the geese down by the river
cottage is great location and only few miles from town of Luray and skyline drive
I will surely be back !

Susan :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Thank you Susan for the lovely review I really appreciate it, & Thank You for taking such good care of the cottage, you are a delight to have & I am so looking forward to you & Tucker coming back!
My Very Best To You,
Shar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nlopez72
Greenbelt, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place to stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was one of the best getaways I have ever had! The place is just awesome. The view of the mountains and the river are priceless. At night, you can hear the river sounds, and it is so relaxing.

Also, the owner Shar, is fantastic. She is devoted and committed to you from check in to check out making sure you have everything you need. She is great at restaurants and activities recommendations.

We are absolutely coming back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and location
Liked least: I liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22Kenmore...
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Beautiful Getaway Cottage!”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a wonderful few days at this lovely river and mountain view cabin. It was very relaxing and had all the amenities and supplies you needed! Just have to show up! Shar the owner is so sweet she goes out of her way to make you know things to see in the area, and recommendations of all your questions and needs. We didn't want to leave this really beautiful cottage! We hope to return again and you won't be disappointed with anything. The use of the Weber Grill, the screened in porch overlooking the river and view of the mountains were our favorites as was the wonderful relaxing Jacuzzi tub! Thank You Shar for the wonderful hospitality! We will definitely tell others of this getaway cottage!
Regina & Chris

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jacuzzi & views of the mountains and river
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing