We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge but wonderful - better to go in the winter when its not so busy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We spent an idyllic four nights at the Copthorne Paihia, Bay of Islands, NZ last week. We are from the south of NZ where winter is COLD. The North of NZ where Paihia is, is almost tropical and lovely to visit in our winter as its insanely busy in summer. The whole of the Bay of Islands is the most beautiful place in the whole of our very beautiful country. The Copthorne is a huge resort hotel complex which harks from the days when the state owned such places and money was not spared. It has long sine been privately owned but it still has the solidity and comfort associated with the govt. ownership years. The staff are very international these days, very tourist orientated and very professionally friendly and obliging. The rooms are big and well appointed and the facilities are all there. We chose a bay view room which is more expensive but well worth it. Simply beautiful with the bay right outside the bayside window and there is a door that side to which means you can take the 10 or so steps down to the beach straight from your room. The restaurant menu is a bit restricted.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janie983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

A comfortable hotel in a great location. We had a superb view of the bay from our room and a small balcony with two chairs. It's in a quiet location and is only a 20 min walk into the town. It's also literally next door to the Treaty Grounds and the Museum. The hotel restaurant was reasonably priced and all of the staff were friendly.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank DGK1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Good Morning. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Fabulous location with some rooms right on the waterfront for great sea views. We decided to have both evening meal and breakfast at the hotel. Dinner was "ok", but not "excellent" breakfast was run of the mill buffet, plenty to choose from but just average. Rooms were clean, but for the price, quite basic. the units we were in in the sea side were being renovated so there was work going on around us.. the balcony was so small you could only just get two people sitting with a squeeze!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to have a front sea view room with small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Good Morning. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I shall pass on the specific points mentioned in your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here along with 50-odd family and friends. We were thrilled with the winter special price that included a dinner and 2 breakfasts, it was very good value for money. We had a function on Saturday night and the buffet dinner was outstanding. We were impressed with the selection for breakfast. Our room was spacious (room 123) and we walked straight out on to beachfront. Some of the room and hotel amenities could do with a refurbish - our kitchenette bench was lifting in places and the spa lining was flaking off in chunks. The spa could do with some lighting or reflective paint on the rocks around it, I tripped a couple of times. These were minor issues though, and didn't impact on our stay. Overall we were very impressed and would stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank mmhaylock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Good Morning. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I shall pass on the specific points mentioned in your review. The hotel is having the Spa taken offline in the last week of August to have the lining replaced. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

“Had a brilliant stay here ,unfortunately just for one night as we were touring round the island, but would definitely come back and stay for longer. Room was lovely on the ground floor and had a nice separate seating area overlooking the tennis court. Bed was comfy and clean . Had a delicious meal in the restaurant and some lovely cocktails. Staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast next morning had everything you could possibly want. Can't recommend this place enough , we will be back.”

Room Tip: Sea view is amazing , but they all have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
1.4 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.1 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.3 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
3.7 km away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
2.1 km away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150, Waitangi 0293, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range: €69 - €152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands commands a superb waterfront location in the heart of the Bay of Islands, offering uninterrupted bay views surrounded by subtropical gardens, adjacent to the historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds. The hotel’s 180 guest rooms have individual patios or balconies from which to enjoy the water or garden views. The Copthorne Hotel & Resort, Bay of Islands is a 4 Star Qualmark rated, Enviro Gold hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing