We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,215)
Filter reviews
1,215 results
Traveller rating
235
442
304
137
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
442
304
137
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstreaty groundsshuttle busbuffet dinnerpool areasea viewbeautiful locationbit datedtennis courtsthe ground floorbaypaihiadeckwaterfront
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 1,215 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

A comfortable hotel in a great location. We had a superb view of the bay from our room and a small balcony with two chairs. It's in a quiet location and is only a 20 min walk into the town. It's also literally next door to the Treaty Grounds and the Museum. The hotel restaurant was reasonably priced and all of the staff were friendly.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank DGK1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Good Morning. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Fabulous location with some rooms right on the waterfront for great sea views. We decided to have both evening meal and breakfast at the hotel. Dinner was "ok", but not "excellent" breakfast was run of the mill buffet, plenty to choose from but just average. Rooms were clean, but for the price, quite basic. the units we were in in the sea side were being renovated so there was work going on around us.. the balcony was so small you could only just get two people sitting with a squeeze!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to have a front sea view room with small balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Good Morning. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I shall pass on the specific points mentioned in your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here along with 50-odd family and friends. We were thrilled with the winter special price that included a dinner and 2 breakfasts, it was very good value for money. We had a function on Saturday night and the buffet dinner was outstanding. We were impressed with the selection for breakfast. Our room was spacious (room 123) and we walked straight out on to beachfront. Some of the room and hotel amenities could do with a refurbish - our kitchenette bench was lifting in places and the spa lining was flaking off in chunks. The spa could do with some lighting or reflective paint on the rocks around it, I tripped a couple of times. These were minor issues though, and didn't impact on our stay. Overall we were very impressed and would stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank mmhaylock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Good Morning. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I shall pass on the specific points mentioned in your review. The hotel is having the Spa taken offline in the last week of August to have the lining replaced. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

“Had a brilliant stay here ,unfortunately just for one night as we were touring round the island, but would definitely come back and stay for longer. Room was lovely on the ground floor and had a nice separate seating area overlooking the tennis court. Bed was comfy and clean . Had a delicious meal in the restaurant and some lovely cocktails. Staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast next morning had everything you could possibly want. Can't recommend this place enough , we will be back.”

Room Tip: Sea view is amazing , but they all have a great view.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We spent 2 nights here with our AAT Kings tour. Breakfast and dinner meals were excellent. Staff was always very helpful. Our room was large, clean, and comfortable. The Hotel has large grounds, great for an evening stroll on the beach. There is lots to see and do in the area while based here.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Good Morning. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews