We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Reviewed 6 March 2016

We stayed here on. Tour and hotel was very good. Our room overlooked the pool area. It is in a good location. The service was good it we had a buffet meal with the tour and sadly that didn't come up to expectation the food was just about warm which was a shame . Would go back but not eat there as plenty of restaurants nearby. Lovely place to stay though.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 10Missy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am sorry that the experience that you had in our food and beverage outlets was not up to our normal standards. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 362 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2016

The hotel is very nice , grounds are well kept, swimming pools and spa , great for families too, the staff are both friendly and helpful, food fresh ,lovely views.it is next door to the Waitang Treaty trust. Beautiful.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the bay and also the pool area,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2016

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

The hotel sits in nice grounds facing the bay great location shame about the shambolic dining room service.overall the hotel has good comfortable rooms again only wifi for 30 minutes in the lobby,when will they wake up,if I had booked independently ,this would not have figured .Breakfast and dinner shambolic if a dining room opens at 630 am would you expect to wait almost 30 minutes to get either fried or scrambled eggs?
Staff need direction and no one seems to be able to do that,tables left uncleared

Room Tip: All rooms from 100 to 111 or 700 to 711 are overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bigglesStrathaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are currently reviewing our wifi plan to enable us to provide more data and time with our complimentary plan. I am sorry that the experience that you had in our food and beverage outlets was not up to our normal standards. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

Just checked in to find booking stuffed up. No queen size bed for my wife and I. Instead a tiny double bed pushed up against the wall and set of bunk beds and absolutely no space to move. Oh yay :-(
Been travelling 2 weeks solid so a decent sleep would have been nice. No resolution or compensation. We did get the full range of blame & excuses.

Not just our room but my brothers and his wife's.

Worst experience I have had. Will never be back here.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Anotherkiwitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. Our DOUBLE ROOMS have either a double bed, queen bed or king bed. Some of our rooms also have bunks which you can use for storage of suit cases. These rooms with bunks still have similar space to those with a queen or king bed. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

After reading the reports on trip advisor I was very worried what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised firstly by our room which was on the first floor, we found it to be acceptable, very clean and had every thing that we needed. Most of the complains referred to lack of air conditioning but I do think that the hotel would have been spoilt by air conditioning units all along the outside of the buildings and the fans did supply a change of air. I did ask to see our room before we booked in to make sure it was OK.
We found every member of staff to be so helpful especially the reception staff and they made our stay enjoyable. The breakfast was not up to the standard of other Copthorne hotels we have stayed in but it was acceptable. The setting of the hotel is wonderful and this made the stay memorable.

Room Tip: Check before you book in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2016

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitangi
1.4 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.1 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.3 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
3.7 km away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
2.1 km away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands

Address: Tau Henare Drive | PO Box 150, Waitangi 0293, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Waitangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waitangi
Price Range: €71 - €153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands commands a superb waterfront location in the heart of the Bay of Islands, offering uninterrupted bay views surrounded by subtropical gardens, adjacent to the historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds. The hotel’s 180 guest rooms have individual patios or balconies from which to enjoy the water or garden views. The Copthorne Hotel & Resort, Bay of Islands is a 4 Star Qualmark rated, Enviro Gold hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Bay Of Islands
Copthorne Hotel Paihia
Copthorne Hotel Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing