We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay of Islands Gateway Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Sands Seafront Studios(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Breakwater Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,202)
Filter reviews
1,202 results
Traveller rating
230
436
303
136
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
436
303
136
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstreaty groundsshuttle busbuffet dinnerpool areasea viewbeautiful locationbit datedtennis courtsthe ground floorbaypaihiadeckwaterfront
Filter
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 1,202 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2016

The hotel is very nice , grounds are well kept, swimming pools and spa , great for families too, the staff are both friendly and helpful, food fresh ,lovely views.it is next door to the Waitang Treaty trust. Beautiful.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the bay and also the pool area,
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2016

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

The hotel sits in nice grounds facing the bay great location shame about the shambolic dining room service.overall the hotel has good comfortable rooms again only wifi for 30 minutes in the lobby,when will they wake up,if I had booked independently ,this would not have figured .Breakfast and dinner shambolic if a dining room opens at 630 am would you expect to wait almost 30 minutes to get either fried or scrambled eggs?
Staff need direction and no one seems to be able to do that,tables left uncleared

Room Tip: All rooms from 100 to 111 or 700 to 711 are overlooking the bay
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bigglesStrathaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are currently reviewing our wifi plan to enable us to provide more data and time with our complimentary plan. I am sorry that the experience that you had in our food and beverage outlets was not up to our normal standards. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

Just checked in to find booking stuffed up. No queen size bed for my wife and I. Instead a tiny double bed pushed up against the wall and set of bunk beds and absolutely no space to move. Oh yay :-(
Been travelling 2 weeks solid so a decent sleep would have been nice. No resolution or compensation. We did get the full range of blame & excuses.

Not just our room but my brothers and his wife's.

Worst experience I have had. Will never be back here.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Anotherkiwitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. Our DOUBLE ROOMS have either a double bed, queen bed or king bed. Some of our rooms also have bunks which you can use for storage of suit cases. These rooms with bunks still have similar space to those with a queen or king bed. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

After reading the reports on trip advisor I was very worried what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised firstly by our room which was on the first floor, we found it to be acceptable, very clean and had every thing that we needed. Most of the complains referred to lack of air conditioning but I do think that the hotel would have been spoilt by air conditioning units all along the outside of the buildings and the fans did supply a change of air. I did ask to see our room before we booked in to make sure it was OK.
We found every member of staff to be so helpful especially the reception staff and they made our stay enjoyable. The breakfast was not up to the standard of other Copthorne hotels we have stayed in but it was acceptable. The setting of the hotel is wonderful and this made the stay memorable.

Room Tip: Check before you book in
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2016

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

Arrived, check in took a while, room fabulous and worth the cost of a sea view. Fridge and safe - useful.
Signage for parking a bit unclear, one evening we arrived back and could not find anywhere to park although the hotel was not busy so suspect some of the parking close by belonged to the hotel but we weren't certain. Fabulous pools. Great location next to the Treaty Grounds. Ate in the hotel on the first evening - not impressed. Had a weird chicken Caesar salad with a cold soft, runny poached egg, smoked slimy chicken and masses and masses of pancetta.
Staff friendly and room clean and very comfortable.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Good Evening. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am sorry that the experience that you had in our food and beverage outlets was not up to our normal standards. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews