We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most perfect and relaxing stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Alfresco dining over the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alfresco dining over the sea
Dining over the ocean
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Alfresco dining over the sea
Dining over the ocean
Huge deck for lounging and dining
Sea views from kitchen
Lounge view
Comfortable furnishings
Open plan living
Views right down the bay!
Western's Rest with council reserve beside it.
Plenty of room to relax
Awaken to superb sea views
Second bedroom
New well appointed kitchen
New bathroom
Bunk room
Alfresco dining over the sea!
Penneshaw Bay
Penneshaw beach
Penneshaw Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NinaKrohn
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The most perfect and relaxing stay!”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We originally booked the Western's View, but there was a double-booking, so that we were offered to stay at the Western's Rest. We did stay for 4 nights and enjoyed it to the fullest!

Our kids are 4 and 6 years old and had a lot of fun playing on the green in front of the deck and on the bunk beds.

The house is equipped with everything one might need, is modernly and nicely furnished and has huge windows, going all down to the ground, for you to enjoy the gorgeous view.
We had Wallabies at the deck at night, viewed parrots flying around and viewed the ferry coming in and going out every day. The walk to the beach is about 3 Minutes downhill and the water is just perfect.
We could have stayed so much longer!

Also, especially important if travelling with small kids, the house is equipped with a very good front-loader washing machine and a dryer! You can also either hang your clothes outside or inside to dry.

We loved our time at the Western's Rest and will definitely return if we travel to this part of the world again! Strongly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Liked least: There was nothing not to like!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thank you Nina for your wonderful review. We are so happy that your stay was both relaxing and perfect! Yes, the adjoining reserve and front lawn make an ideal spot for kids (and adults) to play. We do try to ensure guests have everything they need so we are glad you found it well equipped. It's lovely having wildlife and amazing views at our
doorstep and it's pleasing that could appreciate them. It was great that the weather was perfect for you. Western's Rest is equally perfect in winter, snuggling up in front of the slow combustion heater and taking in the expansive ocean views. We hope to hear from you and your friends in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan T
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place - Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 20 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Beaitiful place, both stylish and fully equipped. Great views over the beach from the wooden deck. Definitely my recommendation for a stay on Kangaroo Island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: stylish interior
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2015
Thank you for your review Stefan. We are so pleased you found the house stylish and that it was well equipped for your needs. Yes, the views are wonderful from the deck and inside the house. Thank you also for your recommendation to to others.
Jan and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanne A
2 reviews
“A definate place to stay”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This was a lovely place to stay. Very stylish, clean and comfortable with a beautiful view over the sea. We only wished we could have stayed longer. We would recommend this lovely place to everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased you found Western's Rest stylish and comfortable. Kangaroo Island is bigger than people think with so many attractions, so 3 nights is just the minimum guests should consider staying. We hope next time you can stay longer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janett c
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stay here and use it as base for National Parks and local area.”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A wonderfully clean and beautifully decorated property. We loved sitting on the deck - for both sunrises and sunsets. Enjoyed the Penneshaw locality with gentle walks and would suggest staying here and driving to the other southern side attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, presentation and cleanliness
Liked least: not being able to stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
Many thanks for your review. Yes, Penneshaw is an ideal base for exploring the island. We're so glad you enjoyed the house and beautiful views from the deck.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikewilma...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

What a great place to stay, the views are incredible just overlooking the bay and the house is absolutely gorgeous .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2015
Thank you for your review. We're very happy you enjoyed our beach house and the commanding bay and sea views. We hope to hear from you again!
Jan and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing