We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
112
35
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
35
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the managers short walk great apartments overlooking park nature reserve restaurants and bars quiet location apartment was spacious great hosts mon repos top floor well equipped kitchen barbecue area very comfortable stay undercover secure parking within walking distance large balcony
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed 2 nights with my pensioner dad. We had a top floor end apartment. 2 bedrooms, huge bathroom, well appointed kitchen (every utensil was supplied), dishwasher, microwave, full size fridge and oven, all stainless. Also a glass cooktop. 42" tv with DVD player. Good size lounge, nice and airy. Undercover secure parking, pool and spa. This place is spotless, quite, and has great hosts.

Thanks
Gary & Dennis

Room Tip: High floor, end rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Gary & Dennis, we are flattered that such a seasoned traveller/reviewer has rated our complex so highly.......thank you, we really appreciate the feedback, and hopefully other intending travellers will also find your comments reassuring. With only 21 apartments to manage we are able to use just 1 cleaner, which helps with maintaining a consistent standard.....and she is absolutely wonderful. Also, Chris & I are able to personally interact with our guests on a daily basis, which we enjoy and hopefully they find helpful. Being "small" we think translates to being "personal" and "responsive" .
We hope you may return to Bargara on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

As seniors of reasonably advanced age and with the girth that often comes with that condition, we found the apartment to be very small. The bedroom wife and I occupied, was so small that the bed (2 singles joined) was almost wall to wall only allowing for one night table on one side. Nowhere to place clothes after undressing for bed....not even a peg or two on the door or walls! Had to resort to using the floor!

Our friend's room had a 4 section concertina Louvre screen, which we all thought was a bit odd for a bedroom adjoining the lounge area! A little bit larger than ours but not by much.

The sitting area was strangely set up and we were moved to bring in two balcony chairs so that all four could view the TV in comfort.

The kitchen was well set up and although we had taken the usual supplies of tea coffee etc, there was enough to start off with. The frig was a good size and actually had ice already in the freezer!!

The bathroom was enormous in size as it also contained the laundry facilities. If some of that space as well as the huge entry lobby space had been apportioned to the bedrooms then we could have been less picky on size! One flaw in the bathroom was the floor in the shower cubicle. The same tiles as the apartment floors had been used and as we all know.....high gloss tiles become VERY slippy when wet and soapy. The lack of grab handles made showering an exercise in dexterity which is something that seniors are not particularly good at. I do hope that insurance coverage is adequate to cover the possible legal challenges that could result from a fall.

Cleanliness was 100%.....no fault there.....although I did notice a bit of a smell from the shower drain on one occasion. Even our own showers at home can need a good dose of deodorant from time to time!

Quiet?.....oh yes. The position set back a bit from the sea-front is a real advantage for those who like a quiet night's sleep. It is only a short walk across some lovely parkland to reach the beach. Driving further along the Esplanade we thought that the "front" area was well designed and attractive. Nice area to walk or sit and survey the scene.

Our hosts at Koola Beach Apartments were most attentive. We had a problem with the DVD player which was replaced in short order. Advice as to local restaurants was freely given.
Apart from those couple of minor annoyances, we enjoyed a 3 night stay with perfect weather and good company.

Room Tip: Rooms with a corner balcony have good balcony space. The higher floors will give sea "glimpses"
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aqueenslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you "aqueenslander" for your comprehensive comments. The aspect of size of the apartments is an interesting point - the larger the apartments the higher the construction cost, and therfore the higher the eventual rental cost. This complex was purpose built as a holiday resort, with a view to keeping tariffs within reach of most people and providing the essentials for a comfortable stay (comfortable bed,good bathroom,well equipped kitchen, aircon, laundry). Both bedrooms have a large built-in wardrobe with hanging space and shelving, so we have not seen a need to have ugly hooks or suchlike on the walls or door to hang clothing
We are pleased to see that notwithstanding the observations you have made , you had an enjoyable visit to our beautiful and peaceful village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed at Koola Beach Apartments recently and had a very nice time. The apartment was very nicely appointed with big TV and comfy lounge setting. The bedrooms were stylish and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped with everything, including a slow cooker. It was a pleasure to use. While we were there the weather was terribly wet, but the wonderful shower and dryer were welcome treats. Bargara Beach is a beautiful spot and well worth spending time at. Shops are within walking distance and supermarket 5 minutes away. The unit itself is set back from the beach but not too far away if you like a short walk. I would like to go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Thank you DebbieF for your comments. It is unfortunate that you did not experience Bargara at it's sunny sparkling best - the last month or so has been unseasonally wet, but this area not as bad as some of the southern coastal areas. We are pleased that you found the apartment was comfortable, well equipped and met all your needs. Although we are 400m back from the beachfront, we are in fact the closest Resort to the patrolled surf beach at Nielson Park - the Esplanade is on the oceanfront, but there is no swimming there as the foreshore is covered by volcanic rock. We hope you will visit again to see the real Bargara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed a Koola Beach Apartments over the May long weekend. Allan and Chris were extremely welcoming and even though I had arrived well ahead of schedule, my room was ready to go. I had a two bedroom apartment that was absolutely spotless. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom immaculate and the view pretty good too! Although I wasn't staying there for the beach access, it was only a short walk away.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justcallmecupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you "justcallmecupcake" for taking the time to let us, and other intending guests, know what you thought of our complex. Naturally, we are delighted that you found everything lived up to the high standard we strive to achieve. The "spotless" comment crops up in many of our guest reviews, which gives us and our only cleaner a great deal of satisfaction. We always pass these comments on to her - she is such an asset to us as Managers. Guests are entitled to expect spotless accomodation whenever they travel - there is no excuse for anything less!!
We hope you might stay with us agin on another visit to Bargara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We had a very warm welcome on arrival and throughout our stay the managers made us feel at home. The apartment was spacious, very comfortable and very well-equipped. Koola Beach is in a quiet and peaceful part of Bargara and only a 5 minute stroll away from the sandy beach. Grocery shopping is easy - Bargara Central is a couple of minutes in the car and there are a number of good places to eat out. All the ingredients for a very relaxing holiday. Mon Repos Turtle Rookery is nearby (booking arranged for us by the hotel) - a magical experience, seeing hatchlings scurrying down the beach into the sea and a sky filled with stars. Unforgettable. Well worth the 10,000 miles of travel to get there :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

We appreciate your feedback "MaryR18" - it was a pleasure having you stay with us and are pleased that Bargara was able to add the Mon Repos turtle experience to your Australian visit. Thanks for your favourable comments about the quality of the accommodation.......as you say,our location, tucked-away just behind the beachside parkland, is only minutes away from everything but is such a quiet little pocket of Bargara. It is a comment that crops up time and time again. We love living here and enjoy the fact that our guests also find it relaxing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews