We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Mandarin Oriental
US$1,261
View deal
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Hotels.comUS$1,262
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$1,262
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
55
1
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
1
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pink sand dressing room private jet golf cart beachfront suite beach staff the ground floor pool bar four seasons tobago cays entire family connecting flight minute flight luxurious resort amazing property sun loungers heaven on earth
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2019

I will write my review both in French and English.
We stayed 5 nights in March 2019 at the Mandarin Oriental Canouan and its was a great experience I would like to share. This hotel is the first resort from Mandarin Oriental in the Carribean islands. It used to be called " Pink Sand". The MO has decided to keep the pink color as one of the decoration touch.
The hotel is located in a private part of the island composed of villas managed by Canouan estate and nature.
The hotel is located in a white sand beach facing an amazing lagoon protected by a reef on the Atlantic side. There is another beach accessible by boat and the option to go to beaches located on the Carribean side. If you like discretion and feeling alone, you will love it. The place is just perfect to rest and enjoy the beautiful landscape and sea.
The rooms are beautiful, very well fursnished and equipped facing the ocean (prefer the upper floor of the building). The only part that shall be renovated totally to be much more friendly, luxury and nicer is the pool. I guess they will do it.
There are several options for dinner. 3 restaurants in the resort and the option to have dinner in restaurants located in the Canouan estate domain, including at Anse Guyac, which is a wonderful place on the Carribean side.
The island is likely to become a trendy place to welcome travellers looking for a luxury and exclusive escape in this part of the Carribean. Two new hotels will open in the island.
The island is located not far from Union Island, Mayreau and Tobago cays where you can enjoy a great snorkelling experience.

L'hôtel appartient à la chaîne Mandarin Oriental depuis peu, il s'appelait jusqu'à présent Pink Sand. Il est situé face à un lagon magnifique protégé par une barrière de corail. L'eau est d'un bleu incroyable et la plage est superbe. Il y a la possibilité d'aller depuis l'hôtel dans d'autres plages tout aussi exclusives et discrètes (il y a très peu de monde et on apprécie ce luxe ). Les chambres sont magnifiques, très bien décorées et spacieuses. Les restaurants sont variés car il est possible de diner non seulement à l'hôtel mais également dans des restaurants du domaine de Canouan estate où se situe l'hôtel. L’île est située proche des îles de Union Island, Mayreau et des Tobago cays ce qui permet des excursions très agréables. Les seuls aspects négatifs sont : la piscine qui devrait être refaite (c'est vieux et plutôt moche), il peut y avoir des algues (sargasses) et les prix sont élevés mais c'est le prix de l'exclusivité.

Room tip: chambre au niveau supérieur ou nouvelle villa
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Nicolas_Paris067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineT1707, Exec Assistant to General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Canouan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2019

Dear Nicolas,
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed our little slice of Paradise!

Thank you for your lovely comments and such a wonderful description of Mandarin Oriental, Canouan. We are very fortunate to have a beautifully constructed building, designed to take full advantage of the stunning vistas and tranquility of the sea. As you’ve mentioned, we recognize that the Pool could benefit from a mini facelift and we have plans to focus on those areas in the near future.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope you will think of Mandarin Oriental, Canouan for your next Caribbean getaway!

With our warmest regards,
Jacquie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2019

This place is great to escape everyday life as you really are away from it. 25 mins by private jet from Barbados to Canouan, landing at the airport and being greeted as the only passengers in the "airport" was a great experience, followed by a quick 10 min car ride up to the resort. We had a one bed penthouse which was the nicest room we've ever stayed in. Only downside is we had our 6 year old daughter with us and there were no curtains/drapes in the lounge where her bed was. As we paid so much extra when we booked this, I would have expected to be better-informed. The first two nights sleep were disturbed until housekeeping put a foldaway bed in the dressing room. This worked ok, but suggest if you are a family you look at the two bed suite (if you have 2 kids) or a normal suite if you have 1 child. Both these rooms are much cheaper than what we had and would have worked better for us.

Service throughout the resort is generally exceptional as you are often the only ones in a bar/restaurant. Food quality is also extremely good but choice is limited daily to two restaurants.

Upsides - everything about this place is first class
Downsides - possibly too quiet at times

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sjf2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineT1707, Exec Asst. to General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Canouan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2019

Dear sjf,
Greetings from Mandarin Oriental, Canouan! Thank you for your lovely comments, we are thrilled to know how well you enjoyed your stay.

While the lack of curtains in the penthouse sitting room take full advantage of the stunning views, we overlooked the possibility that someone on the sleeper sofa may be awaken by the early rising Caribbean sun. Please accept my apologies that your daughter’s sleep was disturbed. Going forward, our team will be sure to mention the potential sunlight disturbance and offer alternate accommodations that may be better suited to a small family.

Thank you once again for staying with us, we hope to welcome you and family back very soon!

With best regards,
Jacquie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2019

Wow no expense has been spared on this most shinny and marble filled palace, from the ample walk in wardrobe to the high tech flat screen tvs and ipad control system every possible high tech luxury is at hand it's has the feel more of an Italian Villa than a Caribeen beach side place to chill, its formal and polished the service is beyond 5 star.

Date of stay: February 2019
2  Thank soulsincere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineT1707, Exec Asst. to General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Canouan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2019

Dear Soulsincere,

Warmest greetings from Mandarin Oriental, Canouan!

We hope the blend of the natural beauty of the Caribbean plus the high tech bells and whistles provided the ultimate enjoyment during your stay.

Wishing you all the very best and looking forward to welcoming you once again.

With best regards,
Jacquie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2019

On January 21, 2019, our trip to Heaven to celebrated my wife's birthday started in Barbados where we were greeted be a VIP concierge - a very pleasant individual who greeted us and escorted away from from the mass arriving passengers, onto our connecting flight to Canouan Is. Upon arriving at the Mandarin Htl. we were personally greeted by the Duty Mgr, GM, our Butler and other staff members.
Our stay was met and exceeded our expatiation. Prior to arriving I contacted Mr. Rohan -Mgr. and requested some roses. He searched the Island and finally had 2 dozen roses flown from Barbados. On the day of the birthday my Butler together with staff planed a most memorable day of my wife's life. Started from the cabana to the 13 hole golf course aprox. 850 FL, drinking champagne and view almost all of the Grenadines Island. Amazing views !
Our daughter loves going to the Kids Club. However, due to the season, she was the only one there. The staff was caring and kept her busy with various activities. One morning as we were having breakfast I ran into the GM, he asked me how my daughter was enjoying the Kids Club, I told him that she was the only child there. He told my daughter that he will arrange for some local kids to have a kiddy party. Sure enough, after I dropped her off at 10 am, there were a classroom full with kids from the local school. UNBELIEVABLE !
Sadly, our 8 days of pampering came to an end.
The resort's new moto should be...WE DON'T SAY NO !

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank PILOTMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2019

The hotel is magnificent. The beach is beautiful and the rooms, restaurants and facilities available were fantastic. The staff give the hotel real character and life and make a great hotel even better -- in particular THANK YOU to our butler Lennie and to Delisha at the Front of House.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benedictvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineT1707, Exec Asst. to General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Canouan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2019

Dear benedictvs,

Warmest greetings from Canouan! We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed our beautiful property. Lennie and Delisha are delighted that they made your stay more special.

Please come back to see us soon!

With best regards,
Jacquie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews