We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$1,262
TripadvisorUS$1,262
Travelocity
Expedia.comUS$1,262
FindHotelUS$1,438
ZenHotels.comUS$1,474
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
55
1
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
1
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pink sand dressing room private jet golf cart beachfront suite beach staff the ground floor pool bar four seasons tobago cays entire family connecting flight minute flight luxurious resort amazing property sun loungers heaven on earth
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2019

This boutique, super luxurious resort has a real South of France vibe to it. The rooms are all gorgeous suites magnificently furnished and appointed, consisting of entry hall, very large dressing room lined with mirrors and luxurious bathroom with amazing shower and double sinks.The bedroom opens onto a nice sized living room which in turn opens to a glass and screen enclosed sunroom. We enjoyed hearing the ocean through our screen door at night. The fact that the ocean, and our beach chairs and umbrella were a few steps outside the room was divine. The hotel sits on the Atlantic side (as opposed to the Caribbean side) so the water is choppy, but swimmable. There are no large waves. There is a nice trade wind at the beach that was helpful in countering the heat. The level of service at the beach is amazing. The staff was incredibly conscientious about making sure we were comfortable, getting us towels, water, moving our chairs in and out of the sun as needed, and just in general totally friendly and delightful. Every request was
responded to promptly and with a smile. This is true for the entire staff throughout the whole property. The hotel also has a more sheltered beach with calm water that you get to with a 3 minute dinghy ride. Named Shell Beach, even though it has no shells on it,
there is staff and also chairs and plenty of atmosphere and shade to it. We preferred the main beach though as the water was clearer. On the estate side of the island there is another gorgeous beach at L'ance Guyout with a very Caribbean vibe and no people on it. The hotel car is happy to take you there and bring you back but only on the days when the restaurant on the site is open, because otherwise there is no staff there.
The pool at the hotel is probably the prettiest setting for a Caribbean pool we have seen as it is set up a flight of stairs and the infinity pool overlooks the ocean--just magnificent-- with very comfortable beach loungers around it.
The food was delicious and plentiful but expensive. There are a few restaurants and the hotel decides the schedule for the opening of the restaurants--there are usually 2 to choose from on any given night.
We were pampered and in the lap of luxury for our 11 night stay. Yes, this is an all day proposition to get to from the East Coast of the U.S. but it is really worth it. (We met many other guests who arrived by private jets). As others have said this resort sets the bar high for everyone else to try to imitate. Thanks to everyone from Michelle in reservations down to the maids in housekeeping for making our vacation so special. We dream about returning.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank discerningNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2019 via mobile

Check out these luxury resort and hotel room and spa treatment to see the beauty gym and golf tennis movies swimming pool sea breakfast lunch dinner and supper to see the taste and customer service and the activities that is on board boat trip as well how good is everything that is listed let brown know thanks

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 179racquelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2018 via mobile

This place is amazing! Very scenic. If you like to sit on a beautiful beach and look at amazing blue waters, read a book, chill and eat well this place is for you. I can’t recommend it enough. It takes a bit to get to it but it‘s well worth it. I won’t sugar coat this but It’s quite pricey as well. We had room 106 which was an oceanfront walkout directly to the beach. The staff was incredible! Our butler was Denika and we became friends. She was outstanding. We were sad to say goodbye. Shout out to Maxwell and Albert as well. The hotel is beautiful as are all the grounds. Rooms are amazing. High tech with sliding glass doors that contain TVs and everything runs off iPads in your rooms. Ginormous closets and bathrooms with multi jet showers. Very quiet hotel also. Everyone calls you by your name wherever you go. Suggestions for things to do: take a tour of the property with your butler and see the island. Ask for a tour of the Private Villas as well. They have a golf course here but we didn’t play. Get massages up in the spa - they have a funicular that takes you up the hill to your spa treatment. Arrange a day sail on Canouan Yacht Charter Services catamaran the Splendid Adventurer. We sailed to Union Island and ate at Sparrows - Delish!. We also swam with sea turtles and fed fish out of our hands while snorkeling over a beautiful reef. Arrange to have cocktails on the 13th tee to watch the sun set. Hike to Mt Royal to get a 360 degree view of the island. We arranged to have a private dinner on Shell beach....amazing. Our favorite restaurant there was l’anse Guyac. Right by the beach. This hotel aims to please. Any request we had was answered including olives stuffed with blue cheese for our vodka martinis. If you’re feeling adventurous go into town on Wed night to Casa Del Mar. It’s a local house that has a DJ and is a fun experience. Friday Night is something called “Balance” where everyone dances in the street as well. We made some great friends while here and can’t wait to go back. Thank you to everyone and all the staff at the hotel. Truly an amazing way to celebrate our 25th! Thanks all!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank deanerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2018

If you are looking for a breath of fresh air in the Carribean, you have found it. All of the previous glowing reviews are accurate. It's just that special. The staff, the food, the location, the amenities, the rooms, the experience are what you imagine the perfect, luxury, experience in the Carribean to be.

If you are like my wife and me, you've been to very nice hotels and resorts around the world and have very high standards. You don't mind paying but expect quality in return. The Mandarin Oriental delivers. You'll never find yourself looking at the bill, wondering if you're getting the best service or if you're missing something. This resort delivers.

I recommend you stay in the Penthouse suite. The view is amazing and it has more than enough room for an entire family. The finish and interior decorating are top notch. Make sure to spend a day at Shell beach and get the jerk chicken. Delicious. As others have noted, make sure to catch the sunset on the 13th hole. The bar staff at Turtles was always on point. Management was always around, available and happy to chat and make sure the clientele was enjoying their stay. Our butler was amazing - around just when we needed her but never overbearing.

What else is there to say? Five stars.

Date of stay: November 2018
3  Thank JasonM751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2018 via mobile

Just finished a nice little 5 day stay at the Mandarin Oriental and after staying at some of the finest properties in the world I think this one is the nicest resort I have ever stayed at. The facility is massive and impeccably maintained but the true standout of the stay was the uniformly excellent service. The staff have an optimism, enthusiasm, and precision that I’ve never seen before in the Caribbean or anywhere else for that matter - exceeding the service you get in a luxury hotel in a major international city. The changeover to Mandarin Oriental has brought some top management from other properties to ensure everything is top notch but I can tell they were working from a great, enthusiastic team already on Canouan. Everyone seems very eager to impress and show off the new property. I spoke at length to all of the team and they can’t wait for upcoming new and better things coming to Canouan as well. Our butler for the stay, Christal, was eager to help and anticipate our needs. For example after a boat day excursion we came back to the room to find fresh aloe on a block of ice in case we got burned and a sunglasses cleaning kit. Little gifts and touches were constantly being dropped off and although probably scripted the staff’s interactions one on one all showed they really cared. It seemed every hotel staff member knew our daily itinerary and was eager to follow up on how we liked what we got up to! Everywhere we went it seemed to be all hands on deck.

The food was great, the property was stunningly beautiful, the water was some of the prettiest in the Caribbean and I think no where else in the islands will you get treated like you are really important better than at the Mandarin Oriental Canouan.

Make sure to do the boat excursion to the Tobago Cays to swim with tortoises and sunset cocktails on the 13th hole of the golf course with stunning views of the whole island and the surrounding islands.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank breakfasttacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews